We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

These cabins are new this year so we expected them to be clean. The only complaint we had was that the towels were thin and very scratchy. We would stay here again because they are so close to Soak City and Cedar Point.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 07700204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for the helpful feedback regarding your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (879)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

590 - 596 of 879 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

As a roller coaster fanatic, once I heard about Cedar Point many years ago (8? maybe more!) this has been on my must-do list, but I never did get around to it. This year, my friends & brother decided this would be the ultimate bachelor party destination for a roller-coaster geek like myself. We could "glamp" in a nice cabin, grill, and ride the 'coasters during the day. What more could 5 guys ask for?
We stayed in the new-for-2014 deluxe cabin and the accommodations were more than fine. Exactly as described - a not quite rustic but still not hotel-ish stay at the park. Our problems came about during the epic water main break of June 2014.
We came in late-ish Friday night so we just made dinner and hit the sack. Saturday morning we got up early and grabbed some breakfast and then hit the park. That's when things went downhill.
Like everyone else, we were told we had to leave the park by 10:30am. Very few answers were forthcoming and the best we could get out of anyone was "talk to guest services". Nobody could tell us if the park was re-opening or if it was closed for the day. By the time we got back to the cabins it was becoming increasingly obvious that Saturday was going to be a total loss, mostly because my fiancee managed to find answers on the website that nobody in the park could give us. We were all extremely disappointed, but since we weren't flying home until Monday we decided to make the best of a bad situation. We relaxed for a bit, and then decided we should go run to a proper grocery store (not the sundries shop they have on site) to pick up some stuff to grill for lunch and dinner. The lines at guest services and at the "front desk" / checkin for lighthouse point were a mile long. We figured we'd wait and deal with them later.
We got back on site around 2:30pm Saturday and began cooking lunch. There was a forklift in the parking lot unloading port-a-potties, so we figured that was the contingency plan for our bathrooms since there was no running water. The campsites/cabins did seem more desolate than before. After some grilling and eating, we were sitting around the table when my friend found a news article from his phone - apparently a press release stating that Cedar Point was shutting down not just the park but the resort and campsites until at least Monday. Wait. What?
Nobody told us anything - and we just came back with a car full of $175 of groceries. I said to my friend it seemed like an appropriate time to get to guest services and try and get some answers. We walked over there at approximately 3:30 and spoke with the kids they have running most things at the park (college kids mainly). We were told that yes - what we heard was true - the resort was being shut down and we were to leave by 4pm, security was going to start coming around to help "coax" stragglers out. I explained that we flew in from New York and asked what we were supposed to do for accommodations? We were told there was no plan and no alternate arrangements could be made, we'd simply be entitled to a full refund for everything and if we had more questions I was handed a slip of paper with the main "guest services" phone number and told to call them. A couple of phone calls and an escalation to a supervisor later - Jordan advised us that they should be able to accommodate us at the breakers express hotel up the road. Upon arrival at the breakers express, we were offered a single room with 2 queen beds - for 5 grown, adult men - and we were told the groceries we just purchased (steaks, burgers, etc) wouldn't be reimbursed. I normally wouldn't expect such a thing - but nobody told us the resort was closing and we certainly wouldn't have gone food shopping 3 hours before our "eviction time" if we knew that was coming. This was a complete and utter communications failure.
When we bristled at the idea of 5 men sharing 2 queen beds, no other offer was made to find another room elsewhere or anything else. It was essentially a take it or leave it offer. At this point - I'd had enough and told the guys to just forget it and we should drive back to Cleveland (the airport we came into) and try and get on a flight back home ASAP. We told Jordan we'd take the refund and we were leaving. He then tried to tell us that we should pay for Friday night in the cabin, contrary to what we were told at the checkin desk of lighthouse point. He did eventually agree to refund 100% of the resort fees and park tickets. By the time we got back to Cleveland, the park had formally announced Sunday was a closure as well - thus busting my entire bachelor party/our trip. We all took time off and paid to fly to Cleveland for essentially nothing. To add insult to injury, the park is offering discounted tickets this week for people affected by the break but can't seem to reimburse us for food we had to throw or give away. We can't use discounted admission to the park, not without buying a new round of flights and taking time off of work.

All in all - I'd love to come back here and have the trip work like it's supposed to, but I'm so put off by management at Cedar Point and their lack of communication with guests and lack of contingency plans to take care of people who come to stay at their "resort". Their entire policy (refund 100%) is fine for an amusement park, but running a "resort" requires some more commitment and dedication to taking care of guests. You can't have people fly in from far away and just say "sorry, something went wrong, here's your money back.. good luck!".

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

I apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced due to the water disruption from the City of Sandusky. We will continue to review our communication plan to ensure that we are providing the best guest service. Thank you for letting us know about your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at deluxe cabins. Here are some plus and minuses

+ checked in early and was able to pick out the cabin we wanted (136)
+ all 10 people in our group had a bed
+ charcoal grill got lots of use
+ brought fire pit and relaxed around the fire in the evening
+ pool was very nice
+ very clean place in general
+ loved being able to walk to the other hotels and use their facilities
+ early entry into park got us 3 rides before park opened to general public

- mayflies were out in full force
- shedding cottonwoods were out in full force
- cabins are very small but space is used very efficiently
- grass has just been planted in the new cabin area
- pretty good walk to get to park
- main water line break the morning we left.

All in all a great stay and would highly recommend it

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Srxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for the summary of your visit, we appreciate hearing from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Really loved the new deluxe cabins. It was my son's 8th birthday and planned a weekend family getaway! It was 13 of us (only 8 stayed at the cabin) the other 5 stayed at the breaker hotel. We loved everything about the trip except the Mosquitos (buy some OFF)the cabin was clean and cozy we grilled out Fri night the kids ran around and enjoyed hearing all the people scream on the near by coaster. Took advantage of the early entry, the two bathrooms was really plus! The kids enjoyed the upstairs loft. Beds were comfy lots of blankets and housekeeping stop pass sat n sun to see if we needed more towel! The kids enjoyed the lil water fountains around da cabins oh and the garbage cans outside the cabins was a big help!!! I will definitely stay here again!!! Tip: go to the near by Walmart and by things to put on da grill, snacks and a foam cooler to fill with ice and keep drinks cold! We saved so much money by grilling out instead of buying food at the park or nearby!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigBoysMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your cabin stay. While we normally don't have many mosquitoes, we do experience a week or two of Muffleheads - friendly bugs from the lake that don't bite but are actually a sign of a healthy ecosystem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the deluxe cabin which was perfect for our family plus some friends. Really clean, homey, and had a gorgeous view near the lakeside. Definitely recommend to anyone who wants to stay in the park or just wants a fun vacation. The pillows and beds are very comfortable and the charcoal grill outside was perfect for grilling after a day in the park!(:

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Natalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you, it's great to hear you loved it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This was our first stay on property but I have been going to Cedar Point for many years. The appeal to stay was not having the early morning 2 hour drive to get there. The only suggestion I have is taking extra cushion for the sofa sleepers! Other than that our stay was wonderful and the cabin was great.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meatball1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for choosing Lighthouse Point. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have been visiting this park for several years and this is one of our favorite places to bring the RV. Concrete pads that are usually level. We have satellite, but here you can hook up to cable as well ! (Of course you don't watch any tv with the amusement park next door) Walking distance to the park, and early entry. Far less expensive than staying at one of the hotels on the property (but more $ than most RV parks) Clean and well maintained. The pool in the campground is a great way to escape from the crowds during the middle of the day. Over the winter of 2014 Cedar Fair invested $ in a new and bigger camp store (with walk in cooler) and the reception area is larger so you won't have to stand outside in the rain waiting to check in ! I was not pleased to see that all of the old, electric only, sites were replaced with cabins. Fewer places for the RV !!!! Eat at the restaurants that are on the property but OUTSIDE the park, unless you don't care about money. We like Famous Dave's.


The shuttle service is usually good, but sometimes a very long wait for that morning pick up when you are trying to take advantage of early entry and ride the Millenium. Wonder if a scheduled shuttle route might help, at least during the hour before opening ? If Cedar Fair really wants to make campers happy - open up a park entrance near the overflow RV parking area (next to check in) that would take you into the park near Frontier Town !!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for the helpful feedback. We always appreciate hearing from our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.0 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
4.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
241 reviews
6.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cedar Point's Hotel Breakers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point

Address: 1 Cedar Point Dr, Cedar Point, Sandusky, OH 44870-5259
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Sandusky
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lighthouse Point - featuring an RV campground with full hook-up sites, standard cabins and cottages and Deluxe Cabins that accommodate up to 10 guests. If you’re looking for accommodations with a summer-cottage feel, you'll be right at home. A cozy waterfront community of 64 cottages and 92 cabins, Lighthouse Point is located close to the fun, on the west bank of the Cedar Point Peninsula. Just look for the historic 1882 Cedar Point Lighthouse, and you’ve found us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Point Hotel Sandusky
Cedar Point's Lighthouse Point Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing