We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of fun, Lots of walking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #3 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2008

Me my wife and two kids ages 9 and 11 went to kalahari for two nights, we checked in at the lobby called the sands which was behind the park, there was no one in line and check in was quick. Now the only grip i have with the place is the long long walk you have to take to get to your room, and from your room to the indoor water park. So if u go try to get a room close the water park. The room that we had was the standard two queen bed room, but it was nice and the bathroom is huge with the jet tub. There is also a balconey. The waterpark is fun fun fun and the kids and me and my wife enjoyed every moment there. Also as you know at any park, amusement park the food is going to be high. A chessebuger was 6 bucks, a slice of pizza was 4 bucks, so you are going to spend some chedda. But if u dont want to eat at the park u can go up highway 250 to all of the resturants towards cedar point, Mickey Ds, Burger King, Bob evans. From little kids to big kids everyone should have a good time. Now i read the past reviews and was expecting to come into a dirty room or get treated bad by the check in people, but none of that had occured. So go and have a good time..

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank gray_goose007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,390 - 3,396 of 3,729 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2008

I am always hesitant when staying at a new place because there are always mixed reviews no matter what hotel it is!!! We had stayed at the Great Wolf Lodge in Wisconsin Dells and while there we traveled a short distance down the road to the Kalahari to scope it out and compare it to the Great Wolf. It was a lot busier, but also a lot bigger. I figured that the Kalahari in Sandusky had to be at least just as good and I knew it was bigger because they advertise it as the largest water park in America. They weren't lying about the size, for an indoor water park, this place is huge!!! They just added on and that part opened in December of last year, so the reviews that were written before that opened and said that you don't get much for the price may be correct, but that is no longer the case. The indoor wave pool makes it well worth it. Even though they aren't the biggest waves ever, the kids loved it and wanted to be in it all the time. We had to keep talking them into going on other things instead of just staying in the wave pool the whole time. I had two 7 year olds, who are not very big for their age, and they were able to go on everything, which was a plus. There is nothing worse than spending money going somewhere like this and then being told all day that you aren't tall enough to ride the water slides. We also have a 2 1/2 year old and there was a lot of things for her also. She was able to go in the wave pool as long as she had a life jacket on and there was a whole section with tons of slides for younger children. There was also a lazy river that went around the whole park and she loved that also. The outdoor water park was OK, but of course not even close in comparison to the indoor one, but it's Ohio, it only gets used for a few months a year, so I don't blame them for not having as much out there. The nice thing about the Kalahari is how many other things there are to do on top of having the water park. There is an indoor dry play area with tunnels, rope ladders, etc. There is a huge arcade, bigger than any other place around here has and also a big playground outside next to the outdoor water park. Another nice touch was that there are activities planned throughout the day like cookie decorating, movies in the evening (one for younger kids and also one for older ones) with popcorn and many others and those are all included in your room rate. Of course there are things like the pottery painting and things of that sort that are extra, but it's a big resort type hotel, what do you expect. I know it sounds like they only have things for younger children, but of course that is what I had with me and so I only experienced those types of activities, but I did see many teen activities, especially in the evening on the daily list. There are many different places to choose from to eat and shop and the best part is that it's all in one huge area and you are able to get to everything without even stepping foot outdoors or hunting around trying to find things!!! There is enough that you don't ever have to leave the resort, but like any other resort it's more expensive so we went down to the Walmart that is close by and stocked up on pop, snacks, etc.(a 20 oz pop was almost $3 at the resort)! The room we had was very clean and huge. We had a lodge suite and it was well worth paying a little bit more. It had a separate bedroom, full kitchen and big living room with a queen pull out sofa sleeper. It also had a nice balcony with a table and four chairs, the kids really liked sitting out there. We were able to put the kids to bed in the king bedroom and then when we were ready to go to sleep, we pulled out the their bed and moved them out to the living room. It was great being able to stay up later and watch a little TV and relax, which we would not have been able to do it it was just one big room and the kids could see that we were still watching TV!!! I will say that we were in the Sands area and it was almost the farthest that you can get from the indoor water park, shops, dining, etc., but very easy to find our way back and forth. All we had to do was keep following the hallway around and we ran right into everything, so even though you may have a little walk, it's still easy to get to everything and you don't constantly have to ask others how to get to things. We got used to the walk and not once did the kids complain, so it obviously wasn't a big deal or else they would have told us all about it!!! The one and only negative thing that I could say about our stay (and this isn't one that was a huge deal to us), is that they do let the public in during the day and it does get busy. I looked at it as not a big deal because if we would have went to any amusement park or other water parks, most let the public in, with the exception of Great Wolf. They do allow hotel guest to come in an hour earlier than the public and we did this both mornings and did the things that tended to be longer lines later in the day and that worked out well because we got those out of the way and didn't have to worry about the long lines later. We did drive past the Great Wolf because some people on here said that they enjoyed that more because it was less crowded, but I have to say it was tiny compared to the Kalahari and I would rather have it a little more busy and have a lot more to do!!! Overall, we had a great time and we are already talking about when we can go back, it's well worth the money. My son is always ready to come home when we have went to other places like this and we have been to many and this was the first time he actually was upset about leaving and begged us to stay another night. I have to say, if it wasn't for work the next day, I probably would have!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank krahzee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

Took the grandkids for the weekend and had a great time. Something to do for everyone, including Grandma and Mom, lots of sunshine and plenty of adventures for the little ones. All 5 of us agreed we would do this again and again and again. Suggest you give it a try. The rooms were really nice, we stayed in the Nomad room ground floor and there was plenty of room for the 5 of us.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank Irwin_paVacation49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

the water park is great...when the rides are open. the park was at capacity and most of the slides were closed. there are not enough inner tubes for the amount of people, it seemed as though there were only 50 tubes for 500 people! check in is a chaotic nightmare and findiing a 'golden cart' for luggage transport is near impossible, and when we asked an employee for help, he told us to check each floor of the hotel for a cart! Service is seriously lacking and frankly, we will not be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 3dudleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We did not stay at the resort we are simply Sandusky locals who have a 10 yo. child that earned a free pass to the waterpark for perfect attendance in the 07 - 08 school year. When we showed up at the allowed time and allowed day we were turned away with a worthless pass and my credit card at the ready. No reason was given to us, just a sign pushed in front of me..literaly...(No outside admittance until further notice) when I asked what that was about, the young girl simply turned the sign a little more toward me and read what it said with an attitude. My impression was we were not welcome since we were not spending hundreds of dollars a night in the resort, because looking around the park I saw no sign of it being over crowded, no long lines at the slides or over crowded pools.

I will also be contacting the Sandusky schools to tell them and ask they not bother doing buisness with this place. My son was heartbroken needless to say after the preperation and anticipation and a 1 5mile drive round trip for nothing My wife and I were just a little ticked.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
2  Thank tom_rSanduskyOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

We just got back from a two night 3 day trip. Family of 5 (38,35,9,5 and 2.).

Check in - Room was ready at 11:00am when we arrived

Room - Standard two queen beds, fridge and microwave. Room was VERY clean and restocked the next day. Bonus was the balcony over looking the pool (room 6513). Beds were comfortable. Flat screen TV.

Food- We had dinner at the Kahunaville- nice place with good music and entertainment for the kids bill for 5 with tip added in as we had 10 in our party was $65. Food was above average. Staff was fun and friendly.

Aracade- The arcade uses the debit card system and gives no bonuses if you spend more. Average game uses 5 points so the money goes fast!! The prizes while a nice variety require 1000's of tickets for anything other then candy or small stuffed animals. the games were fun just don't expect to get anything of value for the money.

Hotel - Abover average. Majority of employees were friendly and willing to help. Valet parking is pricey at $12/day

Waterpark- HUGE! We were there Wed/Thur and the lines were not bad at all. A little longer for the more popular rides but even at that maybe a 10min wait. I would imagine the lines could grow quite long on the weekends or in the winter months. Lifeguards are your typical teenagers. Some take their job seriously and others...well not so seriously. I would say 8 out of 10 guards were doing there jobs and maybe 6 out of ten were going above and beyond. There were a couple that should look elsewhwere for employment. While there are things to do for the under 48" crowd, the main attractions are for those 48" and above. Towels were abundant. Waterpark food was average and about $7 per meal. BE CAREFUL OF THE SLIPPERY FLOORS, PARTICULARLY IN FRONT OF THE VICTORIA FALLS EXIT!! Restrooms and locker rooms were roomy and clean. Long wait for the flow rider (to be expected)

Total spent including room.meals,arcade,waterpark and pretty much having an open wallet $650

Woulf definetly go back, just maybe leaving the itller ones at home.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thall17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2008

We took some of our family, 2 adults and 3 young grandchildren, to Kalahari for a 3 day stay and had an enjoyable time. We booked a suite with 2 bedrooms and a kitchen which was very nice. The room was very clean and the kitchen fairly well equipped. With really little kids, the kitchen was a life saver. Little ones don't really eat, but graze! We tried to dine out with them, but they were so distracted by the activity in the restaurant that they really never ate.

The little ones loved the water park. There was literally something for every age group there. The park was very clean and seemed quite safe for the kids. There were adequate life vests and towels for everyone. It is noisy, so if you are expecting a quiet time at the park, that probably won't work for you.

We went one of the days to Cedar Point which everyone enjoyed. The little ones got completely worn out and had to be packed out to a very, very large parking lot by equally tired grandparents. Cedar Point is really huge, and a bit overwhelming when you have really young children. Kalahari was more manageable for the kids, and they seemed to enjoy it more.

We will probably go again next year with them. We wouldn't stay there on our own, but with the family, it was a terrific "memory vacation" for the little ones.

The negative of the resort is that check-in is a rodeo! Parking was chaotic. Trying to get your car loaded and unloaded is mass hysteria. You are given a map at check-in and left on your own devices to find your way around. There are a lot of inexperience people working at the resort, and they tend to point in general directions rather than communicate things very well. It took about a day of exploring to figure out the lay of the land. The room had some wear and tear on the window shades. Several slats were missing in our bedroom shade.

Positives is the room layout allowed privacy and the kitchen was great. The play area was really nice for getting the kids out of the water. We found the food pretty good and not exceptionally pricey. The gift shop was reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank av8tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
380 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
3.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
4.7 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range: £111 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing