We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Listen to Reviews - Excellent Resort / Waterpark” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't Listen to Reviews - Excellent Resort / Waterpark”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

I went this past weekend with my girlfriend for a romantic getaway weekend to the resort. I would have to say that both of us were impressed with all aspects of the park. I would recommend a package deal; whirlpool suite, breakfast, tickets, and $50 gift certificate to the spa. Bellhop and storage services were a plus, check-in was quick, the waterpark and hotel room was very impressive, and the spa was excellant. The breakfast at the Great Kangeroo Restaurant was very good and high prices throughout the park reflected the quality that we received throughout the weekend. We ended up eating dinner in Sandusty for both evenings and it was the great. Only 5 miles away from all of Sandusty and Cedar Point. Overall, the prices we paid for the massage (spa), the package deal, and the additional drinks we bought in the park (swim-up bar) matched the excellant quality of the waterpark and resort. I wanted to say into Sunday night, but our room was already taken by another reservation. Overall, we had an excellant weekend out at the resort. Don't beleive all the bad reviews, this was a great indoor waterpark and resort for anyone.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amccarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,621
    1,002
    407
    253
    243
See reviews for
2,473
135
5
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (836)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rochester,ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2009

Sunday, October 18th, at arrival my family and I see a young man leaving Kalahari on Crutches, in an ambulance with a splint on his leg. I should have accepted this as a sign that we should not go to Kalahari today. Who knew we would be leaving the resort the same way! My family and I checked out of Great Wolf to enjoy Kalahari for a second trip (we visited in January 2009). We got on 3 rides and decided to try the Victorian Falls. We waited 1hour to get on this ride. There was some malfunctioning going on with the raft-return system. Finally, our turn, coming off the ride we are returned in the water, trying to get out of the raft, unfortunately there are no employees to assist you(the rider) out of the slippery murky water. My husband slipped on the steps, hit his face on the stone steps, and hits his knee on the steps. Kalahari’s EMT staff assists him. While others are still riding the ride, no proactive measures are implemented on behalf of Kalahari water park management to ensure no one else has an accident.
My husband had to leave by ambulance. We spent the rest of our vacation at the ER in Sandusky. Not once, did management call to check on how my husband was doing after our return to the hotel. Customer Service is essential to retention of good customers- I guess Kalahari Management missed that day of class! Sarah Peterson, the heartless manager, who returns my phone call only after me leaving two messages, warns me that their insurance company may or may not pay for the injury-threatening tactics wow! (I'm sure my lawyer will say differently about reimbursement of medical fees). I believe that Kalahari is so accustomed to patrons being hurt so regularly that they brush it off. The response from management was so negative and nonchalant that it was evident that slips and falls, patrons leaving via ambulance are routine for Kalahari!! The floors were so slippery on Sunday they seemed to be glazed as I slid trying to maneuver from one side of the park to the other. SCARY! Management seemed to respond as if this was okay. It’s not okay! I expect safety to be first, obviously not a priority at Kalahari. I’m not sure if there is new management but be careful, you may leave hurt and with a huge medical bill and may need to get a lawyer and losing out on a expense vacation. A friendly warning!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Seanthagoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2009

This was our first trip to Kalahari and we were not disappointed. The place is huge and has anything a kid/family could want. We went on the big ten package which included some meals and was a great deal. We gathered from several staff that now is a great time to go (off season) as it was not crowded. I don't think I'd want to go in the summer. One odd thing was the fact that they serve alcohol in the actual park and it's not limited to just a bar setting. That said, we only saw one person who was intoxicated and his friends were shuffling him to his room and apologizing about his behavior. Our room was nice (Desert Room) and plenty big for 3 people. The hallways are a little loud when people are talking and the doors slam shut every time they close, but again not a big deal. This place is very clean from lobby to rooms. Overall a great stay and we'll surely return.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kramerwv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, VA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

We stayed October 2-5 and had a great time. The hotel and waterpark was not crowded. The hotel staff was pleasant and more than accomodating. We had a standard room on Friday night and were supposed to move to a suite on Saturday and Sunday. They upgraded us the first night so we did not have to move. This is the third year we have stayed at the Kalahari and it keeps getting better and better!! We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerdleague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Ridgeville, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

Stayed in the African Queen Safari Suite, 6 adults for our friends 40th birthday party. Had a great time, the suite was a little smaller than I imagined, but we had a view of the outdoor pool (would of been great for summer time). located not far from the indoor pool. This is a large resort and I imagine some of the rooms are quite far away
Adults only hot tub and swim up bar was awesome. The pool was suprisingly empty.. maybe too many Friday night football games going on? But we loved it, no wait in lines for anything! Tried the 'surfing'.. awsome, everyone should try it, no matter what age.. just don't wear a bikini top and make sure men your swimtrucks are tied on tight, else you might be showing some 'skin'
Never made it to the bar after the pool closed, but it looked like a fun place
I highly recommend and we will definately be going back.

Stayed October 2009
Helpful?
2 Thank funinthesun44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IN
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

Our family had a wonderful time at Kalahari! Great staff, very kid-friendly atmosphere, nice rooms, and a terrific waterpark. I wish they had more mid-sized slides for young kids, but otherwise everything was perfect. We did the one of the family packages and felt like we got a good deal on the included meals, movie, games, etc. The kids enjoyed feeding the animals in the Safari Adventure, though it was an extra expense since it wasn't part of our package. We'll definitely be going back, and taking the cousins along for an extended family vacation next time!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed and thanks to an online special, got a very good price.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoTraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.5 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
4.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Sandusky
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Property: Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Address: 7000 Kalahari Drive, Sandusky, OH 44870-8628
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
#2 Family Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3.5*
Number of rooms: 884
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kalahari Resorts Sandusky provides water parks, Safari Outdoor Adventure Park, indoor/outdoor water park, catering/wedding facilities, spa, salon, fitness training in fitness center, dining options, and more.Over 850 beautifully appointed authentic African-themed guest rooms and suites offer coffeemaker, vacation sized refrigerator, microwave, free high speed Internet access, voice mail, TV, iron/ironing board, in-room safe, pay per view movies, and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Resort
Kalahari Hotel Ohio
Kalahari Waterpark Sandusky
Kalahari Resort Sandusky Oh
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Sandusky
Kalahari Water Park
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing