We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay for Colossal Con” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maples Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maples Motel
Ranked #16 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Northern Virginia, Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good place to stay for Colossal Con”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The manager was really friendly, and helpful for first time traveling on my own. Donuts and coffee were offered for breakfast. We showed up with an extra person and he waved the extra fee. Accommodations were basic, one bed but enough floor space for another two people. Basic shower and hot water enough to cook cup raman.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Falcon1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    63
    29
    22
    15
See reviews for
133
58
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed here the night before going to cedar point. The price is right and its less than a 10min drive to the park. The owner was very nice and very helpful with directions around the city. The room was clean and perfect for what it was needed for - a place to sleep. There are railroad tracks across the street so trains do pass by at all hours of the day and night, so if you're a light sleeper you may want to consider ear plugs. No complaints about the place at all!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We had already made our reservations for Saturday night and it was Thursday evening and we decided to go Friday morning and we called and Steve said he could accomodate us on Friday evening too. We had the family suite room 1. It was great the beds were so comfortable and the hot water in the shower was great. We rose bright and early Saturday morning and headed to the Point for the day. Joan had fresh donuts from Jolly Donuts that were just wonderful with a nice hot cup of coffee. The room was nicely heated (it was only in the low 40's when we got back at night). The Faber's are the most gracious host/hostess you will ever encounter. The room rates are very reasonable and the motel is in a great location. We have stayed here before and will definately stay here again. We really prefer locally owned over chain hotel/motels. The trains do run acrossed the road but after the first 1 or 2 you never even hear them anymore. They have a very nice looking pool which we have used in the past, but it was too cold the weekend that we were there. This motel is one of the greats. There is a mini fridge in the rooms and its just a great place to relax. The location is great for Cedar Point and downtown area museums and ferry boats. If you are looking for somewhere to go and have dinner the owners can give you great suggestions. The other hotels/ motels in Sandusky are so over pricecd it is unbelievable. and they are nothing special. The Maples on the other hand is a very special place once you visit you will not want to go anywhere else.

Room Tip: The family suite has 2 rooms and sleeps 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

My family decided to take a trip to Cedar Point before the kids went back to school. Just as anybody else that wanted to be close to the park without spending too much money, we decided to read reviews of this motel. Upon arrival we noticed the sign and other ancient artifacts like the hammock, cabins and worn down surroundings. I figured the cabins would've been better than the rooms because it was private and all three families could have their own space after spending time at the park. Wow was I wrong! We had cabins #14,15, and 16. Not only were they old as all hell, it was dirty. I tried not to look under the bed as I do with any hotel, motel or holiday inn. Oh my god, there were sauce cups from restaurants under the bed. The carpets were filthy and worn down. The bathrooms were horrible, doors were broken and screens were ripped. I asked for duct tape to put on the screen so the mosquitoes wouldn't eat us alive. The mattresses looked like somebody ran into Freddy Kruger or Michael Myers. As we all know, kids love to walk around without shoes... well mine were terrified to take their shoes and socks off. I don't think coffee and donuts were enough to make up the way these cabins looked. We couldn't wait to take baths. After sleeping in these conditions for three damn days. We were almost positive that whatever was living in the carpet hitched a ride. I wish I had photos but i'll just say if your a risk seeker, go ahead and catch whatever is living in the walls.

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maplesfaber, Owner at Maples Motel, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
We regret that we did not know about these issues while you were here. Had we known, we would have done our best to resolve your concerns. Our cabins were built in 1920 and offer travelers an inexpensive night close to the entrance to Cedar Point. Being a small family-owned motel, we pride ourselves on working hard to provide our guests with a comfortable room, refreshing pool, well maintained grounds and helpful service. We take each review seriously. We hope every family has a pleasant stay at the Maples.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterton, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

As far as a great clean place to sleep that is near Cedar point goes, you can't beat this place. They have complimentary coffee and doughnuts in the morning and a decent outdoor pool. The rooms are clean and the grounds are well kept. If you are excepting 5 star, lux accomodations you probably shouldn't be looking for a $60 motel room in the middle of Ohio. If you want a nice clean, cheap, quaint, basic hotel room that is probably one of the last of it's kind due to it's mid-century feel, this is the place. Also, the owner is a really nice woman and it is good to support local buisnesses rather than shelling out big bucks for less.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

The Maples Motel is nothing special to look at, and the beds are hard as a rock, but the staff is incredibly pleasant, and the price is right. Hotels in Sandusky are ridiculously overpriced for what you get - generally speaking, they all leave a LOT to be desired in the cleanliness department. I think the idea is that they know most everyone isn't checking in until they are dead tired to put up a fuss about a room, so they get away with what they can. Unless you have a couple of hundred of dollars to drop, you can expect mediocrity. The staff at Maples lets us check in PRIOR to going to the park (which is GREAT) at 10am, so we don't have to do anything but fall into bed at the end of the night.
Pros: Staff, Price, Location
Cons: THE TRAIN - OMG!, hard beds, bathroom set up difficult to work with

Room Tip: Use the back entrance to Cedar Point and bypass the traffic. Ask for help with this at the front des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willowcrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

There are family vacations and then there are family vacations. Think back to the days where the kids piled into the back of a station wagon and bunked up together in a hotel room, singing songs, playing games, and driving each other nuts. This is the Maples Motel.

We came across the Maples driving home from Cedar Point one day. The kids thought it looked cute and saved their money to get a room for the night. $70 got us the Family Room (room 1, one queen bed, with a queen and two singles in a separate area) for the night.

We checked in on Saturday afternoon and were greeted by the son of the owners, I believe. Super friendly, so hospitable, made us feel very welcome. Gave all the kids quarters for the gumball machine.

The room was definitely a throwback, but impeccable clean with a layout that was perfect for staying together. There was a TV in each room, but the kids were more interested in running around in the big field behind the property.

Staying with small children in a hotel room, one does not expect to get much sleep. Add in the freight trains that pass every 5 minutes (I timed it) in the middle of the night, blaring their horns and shaking the hotel, and you will likely have a very restless night. Even still, the homey hospitality of the Maples and its proximity to Cedar Point make up for a lost night's sleep. I'll sleep at the Ritz, but I'll bring my family to the Maples for fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaitlinMagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#4 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
2.5 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#15 of 35 in Sandusky
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples Motel

Property: Maples Motel
Address: 4409 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4429
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Maples Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, HRS and Hotels.com so you can book your Maples Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maples Hotel Sandusky
Maples Motel Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing