We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throwback to a greater time.”
Review of Maples Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Maples Motel
Ranked #15 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Lima, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Throwback to a greater time.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this great little place after a long day at Cedar Point. Reviews are spot on, small, quaint, friendly. Owners go out if their way to make you feel welcome. Are the rooms dated, show wear, small, all yes, but clean and we loved it. Owner offered to keep pool open so our 7y/o could swim but we declined due to sleepiness and hungry. Yes, there is a busy rail road with crossing across the street so the horn is sounded frequently. After reading some of the reviews it made my wife and I giggle early in three morning.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    64
    29
    22
    16
See reviews for
135
58
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Very affordable, clean comfortable motel. The owners are welcoming and good people. We have stayed there three times now, when going to Cedar Point. My older children have stayed there also. It makes a quick family trip easy to agree too. You save a TON of money. My teenagers will sleep anywhere if it means a trip to the point, but i won't. We will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maryln88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This retro-style motel miles from Cedar Point has been owned by the Faber family for over 90 years. A classic car and neon lights adorn the property. Our room is always clean and the staff is always friendly and accommodating. We have stayed twice now and will return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The owner and her son are wonderful hosts. They answered our questions and helped us to get the most out of our stay in Sandusky. The location next to wetland/park area is really quite beautiful too. We enjoyed a walk around the park a couple of times -- seeing quite a bit of wildlife, including a large turtle. The rooms are fine, but remember this is not a Residence Inn with plush pillows and soft linens. This is a slice of Americana, including the train crossing which is just across the street. The first night there had to be a few trains every hour, but the second night there were fewer. Still, we'd cringe in our bed as we heard the "ding ding" of the signal at the crossing and then the train blowing its horn. Our rooms were the closest to the tracks. I imagine the cabins, set back farther on the property, would be less impacted by the sound. If you are a light sleeper like I am, this is something to consider.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a cabin (if available), as they are set back the most from the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skiddered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed at Maples only one night, but we would definitely stay there again if we had the chance. We stayed in one of the cabins. It reminded us of summer camp. Definitely not posh, but clean and comfortable. And we weren't bothered at all by the train. Slept very well. The owner's son checked us in and out. He was super nice and gave us a lot of information about the area and pointed us to the best breakfast place around. Very personable. I would highly recommend this place if you want something that is not a big chain, something unique yet affordable. Support local and family-owned!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Stayed with three friends on a Cedar Point adventure and had a fantastic time. The owners were incredibly hospitable, providing fun conversation and even offering to heat up left over pizza for us in their stove! Service was above and beyond! Absolutely an incredible stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just stayed here again a few weeks ago, still as pleasant as before. We stayed in the large family room this time, quite roomy and was kept cool the whole time, though there was six people in there. I will definitely go back to this hotel. just one place I know will be great.

Room Tip: No tip needed they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank androidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
324 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
2.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
2.5 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#14 of 35 in Sandusky
222 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maples Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maples Motel

Property: Maples Motel
Address: 4409 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4429
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandusky
#3 Romantic Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Maples Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Maples Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maples Hotel Sandusky
Maples Motel Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing