We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maples Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Melrose Motel(Sandusky)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Sandusky)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
138
65
28
22
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
138
65
28
22
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdonuts and coffeecedar pointthe owner's sonmom and poptrains runtube tvkids loved the pooljoanearplugsgablespark
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I have nothing but good things to say about the people who worked there. I feel awful giving them a bad review but some updates do need to be made. I had made some reservations and unfortunately had to break them ...Checked into my room and there is nothing wrong with small but there are some things wrong with a mattress that feels like a rock. Paper thin windows ...if you know you have a train that passes by every 20min you need to update your insulation and windows or soundproofing. Maybe we are just spoiled being "city folk" and aren't used to it but it was bad. A tub is a necessity (to us at least) and we think needs to be out there in their advertising that they only have a stand-up shower. Nothing like getting back from your day at the park and taking a nice bath to relax and soothe your muscles.

Again, the staff is super awesome but you need to update your place a bit.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvmy2kids0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We saw the other reviews, both positive and negative, for this little motel - and we're so glad we chose it.

1. The trains : barely noticed them.

2. The rooms : Yep, kind of small, but still an OK size. Just the right amount of space, actually. A/C worked fine, nice niche for luggage, bed pretty comfortable.

3. The pool : Really nice. Clean, and has a 9 ft deep end, which is kind of rare.

4. Location : Awesome. Only took us about 10 minutes to get to Cedar Point, including parking and walking up to the entrance.

5. Staff : Very hospitable. They have doughnuts and coffee out at 7am every morning, which is a nice start before heading out for the day.

6. The motel itself : There's a million little motels, cabins, hotels, etc... up and down Rt. 6, but this one was clearly the nicest. Set a bit back off the road, good parking and shade, and quiet except for the occasional train coming through (which we actually liked).

We'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiplingM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

My family and I scheduled a trip to Cedar Point and after much research decided we wanted to give our teenagers a look at bygone times of travel when we were young and chose the Maple's Motel as our place to stay.
Called and talked to Joan,no room available for our dates but were put on a list in case of a cancellation. We were very pleasantly surprised when she called us back,and sure enough someone did cancel and we were able to book. Joan was very very nice through this and was always a pleasure to talk to.
We arrived late afternoon,met Steve at the office and were checked in quickly. Steve is great and runs a very clean place.
The motel was just as we hoped,a bygone place that reminded us of all those road trips of our youth! The pool and rooms were VERY clean and perfect for what we needed. The morning coffee and donuts and fruit were perfect for a quick breakfast.
One of the greatest things about this hotel is it's closeness to CP. Turn left out of drive,go 1/2 mile and the back entrance to CP is right there. No traffic to deal with and this was especially great at night when there was a line of cars going one way we snuck out the back way and were in our room in 5 minutes!
Every review mentions the trains,and yes you will hear them. We slept through them after 2 full days at CP. If you are a light sleeper they will give you ear plugs. The trains should not be a reason for not staying here!!
I highly recomend if going to CP stay here,great people and service from a bygone era!!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank bbref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The owner of Maples Motel is great and the family room we stayed in was clean. It is an older motel so don't expect new paint but the cost and location to cedar point was great. Unfortunately there is an intersection across the street from the motel where trains pass through during the night blaring the horn which is required at all intersections. I can stand a train passing once or twice in the night but it was about every 45 minutes. Needless to say, my family did not get a restful sleep. Also the a/c was very loud and rattled. If you bring earplugs, it's worth the stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justkeepswimming2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

This is a wonderful facility with excellent customer service. Yes the train does go by, however, from someone that lives in Alaska it is a wonderful reminder of times gone by. If you are looking for a laid back, friendly place to stay then this is definetly the place to stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alaskaemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews