We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick change of plans”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
A Wyndham traveler
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2
Reviewed 11 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank A Wyndham traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The staff was rude. They only have breakfast until 9. My friends and I got down there a few minutes after and the lady rudely told us it was closed. The beds were much smaller than they told us. We had 5 people staying in one room and two of us had to sleep on the floor because the beds weren't big enough. Never again...

Stayed: September 2013
Thank CarolynL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I have to admit that I would not have booked this hotel after reading the reviews of others. I used Priceline, and this is the one I got. That said, having stayed for three nights, I'd book there again.

The staff was friendly upon check in, and the front desk is open 24/7, so late check ins are no problem.

Like most others there in August, we went for the theme park. We would generally go to the park in the morning, return to the hotel for lunch (carry out from area restaurants) and to use the pool for a bit, then return to the park.

There was no smell in the room, as was reported by other travelers. Maybe we were just lucky.

It would have been nice to have a refrigerator in the room, which is something that apparently only their suites have. So, leftovers were not an option, but you'll sometimes have thing when traveling.

The bed was firm - if you love a soft bed, watch out. I enjoy a firm bed, and it fit the bill quite nicely.

Their pool and patio were very nice. It would have been nice if they had some of the umbrellas out at the patio tables, but it wasn't a large issue. Their heated pool seemed hit or miss. One day it was far warmer than the other. I would not call it frigid either day.

The free breakfast was less than impressive. Two types of cereal, one type of milk, bananas, a waffle maker, muffins, doughnuts, and coffee. Obviously not horrible, but a hearty breakfast was not in the cards. In truth, I do not eat gluten, and shy of the bananas, there was nothing there for me. (I actually bought a box of cereal at a grocery store and just took that to breakfast to put it in a bowl and get milk)

One should not expect premium luxury when also looking for good prices in a tourist town. It was nothing fancy, but it was nothing bad either. Days Inn did just fine. I would book there again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Doughboy48185
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for 2 nights while visiting Cedar point. Great location, close to park, restaurants, and shopping. Our room was very clean! I must say this was a very pleasant surprise (I am an extreme clean freak AND work in the hotel industry.) Just a few concerns I'd like to share. Guest safety should be a number one concern and checking locks on a regular basis is extremely important. The latch on our door (Room 122) was missing screws and extremely bent, like someone had attempted to kick it in. Kind of unsettling especially since room had been entered by housekeeping and maintenance should have been notified. No other issues however and we enjoyed our stay here. Kids loved the heated outdoor pool! Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
0.7 mi away
South Shore Inn
South Shore Inn
#13 of 34 in Sandusky
241 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
390 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Sandusky-Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky

Address: 1530 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4302 (Formerly Days Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range: £46 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn And Suites
Days Hotel Sandusky
Sandusky Best Western
Best Western Sandusky
Magnuson Hotel East Sandusky Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing