We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was the nastiest filthiest hotel I have ever been in!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was the nastiest filthiest hotel I have ever been in!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

You need to change the name because there is nothing quality about this hotel, yes it may be in a great location but it is horribly filthy! The bathroom is filthy the floors were dirty, windows were nasty. The outside was uninviting and dirty. The staff was sitting on the stairs smoking, is that quality certainly not. I want my money back!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharriewilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    49
    53
    34
    70
See reviews for
181
21
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

just got back from out of town and we stayed in the quality inn and suites rain water in sandusky ohio , me and my family check inn last night July 5 I reserve 2 rooms, 1 suite And 1 standard 2dbl room, when we walk inn in to are suite the first thing I see was a pile of dirty towels from last guest, I inspected the room all the cushions from couch and sofa bed were in the floor, carpet was not vacuum, there was food in the fridge , the blanket and pillow bag for the sofa bed linen had a hair bowl on it, I went down to the front desk and spoke to the gent desk agent she was going to send housekeeping with in 15 min we check inn around 6pm planty of time for the room to be clean, housekeeping show up an inspected the room she said that the room was clean and they just forgot the dirty towels and a cuple things she pick up the towels and pick up some debri from the dirty carpet and the room was ready, I went down to the desk again and ask for a different room, the move us down the hall the new room , the bathroom was not clean hair in the tub, toilet dirty, hair stock in the wall with yellow stains by the toilet paper holder, we just decide to cleaned are selfs and called a day the kids were tired from being in cedar point all day and the wanted to go swimming, the water park chlorine level was so high that burn my eyes with in. 5 min, the water in the outdoor pool was very cloudy and dirty that we just went back up to the room, I stop by the desk to mention about the pool and water park and I was not the only one complainting I hear other family's complaining is well, I have never experience bad service and never stayed in a dirty hotel like this before, cost me almost. $400 for both rooms will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gdljalmx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Michigan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you are looking for a nice family vacation at Cedar Point/Sandusky or anything even remotely close to luxury, look elsewhere! However, with that being said, if you are simply looking for a place to sleep after a long day at Cedar Point, this place isn't bad at all. We (A group of four 21 year old guys) checked in around 11pm after being at Cedar Point for the day. Pulling in, it felt really "unsafe" as the parking lot was dark and "ghetto" looking, but with this being Sandusky, I wasn't worried. The reception area was run down and the staff member who checked me in was not that friendly. Upon other visits to the front desk, as one previously noted, they seem more concerned to talking to friends than helping guests. The room itself was average, typical old choice hotel. Air conditioner worked great! Beds were actually quite comfortable and I didn't have any problems of cleanliness. The bathroom could use some updating though, the toilet lid didn't fit on properly, and the "heat" light for the shower was a red light, really odd. Breakfast was adequate, I had worse, I had better in my travels. Did not get to use the water park, but don't get your hopes up, It is really small and has one slide (maybe 2 max) Hot tub is nice. Pool is outdoor and small. Thirsty Pony was cool, went there for last call and played some Keno. There is a bowling alley and arcade also, which we did not utilize. Check out was a breeze and staff member much friendlier than check in.
Overall:
1) This is nice for a cheap "bed and breakfast" if you are on a budget.
2) Lots to do under one roof but not of much "Quality" (ironic they call it Quality Inn)
3) If you are going for the water park, go to Kalahari or Great Wolf and get your money worth
4) If you want newer and cleaner, go to a Hampton Inn in town or similar hotel.
Safe travels everyone!

Room Tip: Only stay here if you plan to sleep and get breakfast and/or on a budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganTraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

My family and I have never been in a motel that was so filty. The reception area was dingy with old furniture and poor lighting. The water park left alot to be desired and did not open until 4p.m. The pool was also dirty.The breakfast was only ok, but the eating area was also dirty as were the tables. Do not waste your time and money staying here

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
orwell
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend this hotel. When we got there the receptionist was more concerned about talking to her friend then checking us in. Then we found out the waterpark (2 slides) weren't open till 4 so we went to the pool. Extremely small & dirty. The room was ok.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank meakc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The Quality Inn right on the Cedar Point Amusement Park corner.... isn't what we had hoped. Great location, but older hotel, needs updating and cleaning. The inside of room was nice, updated, but halls and outside were dirty and needed a lot of tlc. Decent breakfast, but felt dirty overall. If you want to be minutes from Cedar Point, stay here. If you want to feel safe and in a clean hotel, drive 5 minutes further to Milan Road and stay there. Lots of hotels to choose from and lots of places to eat, a Target, etc. Much better choices there.

Room Tip: Just drive a little further away and you might find much cleaner hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perrysburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stairwells aren't clean, windows dirty with no screens for bug season, A/C unit packed full of who knows what nasty stuff sticking out of the vents. Room had a terrible odor of cleaning and probably whatever is in the A/C unit. Shades don't block the sun.

Overall time for a remodel. Desk didn't even provide a map of where the room was, just had to find it.

Will stay across the street at the econo lodge across the street again if looking for a efficient room for a night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
3.1 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
3.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
#17 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
3.0 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#7 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Address: 1935 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4308
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park Hotel Sandusky
Quality Inn And Suites Rainwater Park
Quality Inn Rainwater Park
Quality Inn Motel Cedar Point
Quality Inn Sandusky
Sandusky Quality Inn
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing