We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cedar Point's Castaway Bay
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Parma, OH
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun visit”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent the night at Castaway Bay and had a fun time! The water park was so much fun and the family really enjoyed themselves! The room was just OK..we had a large room with a king bed and a separate bunk room..that room was hot and there was no air vents in the bunk room. We had to pull up the curtain and crank up the air to get some cool air into the room...the people in the king bed froze :( The front desk didn't have a fan that would have helped.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience. Thank you for your helpful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    310
    170
    119
    118
See reviews for
676
29
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I had a great time there, the amenities were better than advertised and the room itself was clean and comfortable. I recommend the Bay View* I can not wait to go back and would also recommend the Thirsty Pony across the street for some drinks. Big ones. As for TGIF I would not recommend them the staff is uninterested in helping you. But bring plenty of cash and you can spend hours in the arcade or go relax in the heated indoor/outdoor spa to relieve all the tension from a long day at Cedar Point

Room Tip: dolphin bay view room is the best for a couple, bay view in general is preferred oh and I would reco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We can't wait to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a Great time here! My husband, myself, our 11 year old son & his friend stayed here the day before we went to Cedar Point. Waterpark was fun, outdoor pool was nice, (lifeguard on duty) room was clean. Staff was very Friendly!
We ordered pizza from the room service & it was good...not to pricey. TGI fridays is connected & we were going to eat there but they for some reason they changed their hours and didn't notify Castaway Bay that they were no longer open until midnight, (they closed at 10 pm) we had a late night at the waterpark...
Only issue we had was at about 4am there was a horrible smell....not sure what it was or where it came from but smelled like oil or raw sewage...lasted for about 1/2 hr then went away.
Overall I would recommend this place to stay and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egbodean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
We appreciate all of your helpful feedback. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We recenty returned from a family trip to Cedar Point. I went with my two daughters 24 and 18, and my 12 year old son. The hotel choice was supposed to be just a surprise bonus but turned out to be my favorite part of the trip. The staff we encountered throughout were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the waterpark especially the wave pool. There were a few larger water slides for the older children. We went out for breakfast as there are several restaurants to choose from in the area. The coffee at Ebb and Eddy's (Starbucks) was very good but naturally overpriced. I found the staff at this location to be especially entertaining.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mom011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We're glad you had fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and our two children (13,10) loved it. We spent the late afternoon and evening at the resort and then spent the next day at Cedar Point. It is very close to the park.
It was not crowded and my kids could get on slide after slide and move around the different areas without bumping into anyone. As an active adult I loved that you had to climb up many things and loved the cargo net and treasure you could climb across. It is a smaller waterpark but having not been to any others we really enjoyed our time.
We did notice that breakfast was pricey, so went to the McDonald's down the road instead. Also there is a T.G.I. Fridays attached to the property but it is very pricey. We were able to sit outside and eat though and that was a nice experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Remmi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was our first trip to Cedar Point and booked here for the early entry to the park. Check in was quick and easy, we got our wrist bands for the water park, breakfast tickets, park and parking passes. We stayed in a Tarpon Suite which was perfect for our family. Breakfast was ok but did not change from day to day. Would have liked a bit more variety. I found the room dark however, could have used more or better lighting. Also there were not enough power outlets for the family to charge all of our gadgets. We enjoyed the water park and it was nice to be able to relax in the hot tub.

My family would like to stay here again but I don't know if we would do the breakfast again since I thought it was expensive for what was offered.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GROSSE POINTE WOODS
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was our third visit. The the waterpark was plenty fun for our 4 kids who range from 2 to 9 years in age. The life guards were good in the mornings but not so watchful by 9pm. We stayed in the Flamingo Suite for two nights. The space was large enough but our view was a roof top and a wall of another building and only one small bath. For the money and from our past experience, we would get two rooms facing the bay next time. Take care in the hot tub, wave pool and water slide landing areas, they are a little worn and abrasive.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KEN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback about your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.9 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
324 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar Point's Castaway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Point's Castaway Bay

Property: Cedar Point's Castaway Bay
Address: 2001 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Cedar Point's Castaway Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean meets Sandusky at this ideal destination for vacationers. With its tropical theme, guests at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay feel like they have just landed on an island paradise upon entering this lush indoor waterpark resort. Castaway Bay features 237 hotel rooms and suites including family-oriented units, a 38,000-square-foot indoor waterpark loaded with water activities for all ages, fitness center, 6,000-square-foot state-of-the-art arcade, a craft and child activity center, three restaurants, retail shops, adjacent marina and space for meetings, group events and birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cedar Point's Castaway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Bay Hotel Sandusky
Castaway Bay Sandusky
Sandusky Castaway Bay
Bay Castaway Ohio
Cedar Point's Castaway Bay Sandusky, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing