We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Times”
Review of Castaway Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaway Bay
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Canton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun Times”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

My only suggestion is to not book a room by the stairways. The steps are metal and very loud in the middle of the night. The staff were very nice and helpful with other attractions in the area. It was a nice kid friendly getaway and well within a budget.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank lorrieleggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    310
    170
    119
    116
See reviews for
672
29
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This property is old and showing it. It is part of the Cedar Point resorts, so there is an advantage of getting into the park early if you stay there, but there are better options on that front. It also has a decent indoor water park, but that doesn't save this resort for me.
We stayed at a double with 2 queen beds. There was little room leftover.
The bathroom was small and the fixtures were old. Water pressure was fair at best.
There was a deck with our room, but it was sparsely populated with 2 plastic chairs, no table. It was screened in, which was a good impediment to the bugs. The hallways were humid, owing, I suspect to the water park.
The included buffet was rudimentary.
This resort boasts a water park which, in my opinion, is still pretty good. It is not a destination in itself, but it is a nice side attraction for the kids when you've not time for Cedar Point. Furthermore, the water park wasn't very crowded, at least when we were there this late June weekend.
The rooms and linens were clean. The staff were mixed, from some quite nice and helpful to many who seemed to feel the guests were a bit of an inconvenience.
I don't often write bad reviews, but this resort needs to make some changes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomDM94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
I sincerely apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. While it's tough to read a two-star review, we will take your feedback into consideration on how we can improve the hotel. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandusky hotels

Warren, Indiana
Level Contributor
291 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This place is a great place to stay while visiting Cedar Point with kids over a weekend. We had a total of 15 people in our party and had reserved four rooms. (They have a payment plan without interest - you pay over 4 months. Wonderful service!) Other than a half-hour wait for check-in (rush at the check-in hour), there were no problems with the reservations. The front desk people were so helpful While small, the water park beat out Cedar Point with the kids 10 and under. It is very clean with attentive lifeguards. The parents loved the size because one could see all parts without much walking around. The concession shop was excellent. The rooms were small but very clean. We did not get rooms on the bay side to save money - so most of our views were of the water park building which was very loud. We did find the outdoor patio on the third floor that faced the bay. One of the neat things the resort did for the little kids was have activities, a movie, bed-time story, and a hug from the Peanuts character Snoopy. If you are planning to spend a couple days at Cedar Point and have younger children, this resort is a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: If you like to sit out on a balcony, pay a little extra to get rooms on the bay side. The water park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frugalmama57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
It's great to hear Castaway Bay was a fit for your family. We appreciate your staying with and thank you for taking the time to provide a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We spent a wonderful afternoon, evening and night at Castaway. Three adults and three kids age 10, 6, and 2. The indoor water park had areas age appropriate for each kid. It was clean, warm, and exciting. We ate at TGI Fridays, attached to the hotel. Also very kid friendly.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, if a bit cozy for our group.

Room Tip: Bay View, call early and book a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This hotel had all the bells and whistles. Restaurants on the bay, nice rooms, great customer service, arcade and waterpark. We did go to Cedar Point which was very close to the resort, however I am not a fan of roller coasters so the waterpark was an amazing bonus for me! We cannot wait to take our new addition to our family here in a couple years when she is older. She will love it! We will def. be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Congratulations! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
162 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The hotel is very nice. The waterpark at the hotel is a GREAT bonus (especially if the weather is not cooperating and you planned on visiting Cedar Point). The food in Ebb's and Eddy's (their snack bar) was reasonably priced. The hotel is only a short drive from Cedar Point. Also, there is a TGI Friday's on property too which makes dinners extremely convenient. There is also a snack shack in the waterpark area that serves snacks and beer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank num1mmfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for the five star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkersburg, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

2014 was my family's second vacation to Castaway Bay and Cedar Point and we all had the best time. Dollar for dollar it's the best vacation location we have found. The indoor water park is so fun and I never had to worry about the kids because life guards are everywhere. We also enjoyed the Peanuts in the lobby, the dance party, and movie and bedtime stories with snoopy. After a fun filled day at cedar point, I can't think of a better place to unwind. All the staff at the hotel are super sweet and the shops are nice with reasonable prices. If you are thinking about a kid friendly vacation that will not drain your life savings make the trip to Sandusky Ohio and check out Castaway Bay!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Candia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Thank you, we appreciate your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.9 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
#17 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Bay

Property: Castaway Bay
Address: 2001 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean meets Sandusky at this ideal destination for vacationers. With its tropical theme, guests at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay feel like they have just landed on an island paradise upon entering this lush indoor waterpark resort. Castaway Bay features 237 hotel rooms and suites including family-oriented units, a 38,000-square-foot indoor waterpark loaded with water activities for all ages, fitness center, 6,000-square-foot state-of-the-art arcade, a craft and child activity center, three restaurants, retail shops, adjacent marina and space for meetings, group events and birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castaway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Bay Hotel Sandusky
Castaway Bay Sandusky, Ohio
Sandusky Castaway Bay
Bay Castaway Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing