We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Castaway Bay was a lot of fun?”
Review of Castaway Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castaway Bay
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Sandusky
Easton, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Castaway Bay was a lot of fun?”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My sons, ages 7 & 9, really enjoyed the water park and arcade. The breakfast buffet was very good. Room was a little dated. Castaway Bay is very close to Cedar Point which was great. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doreenh748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    310
    170
    119
    116
See reviews for
672
29
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We went here as a day guest due to inclement weather. It was awesome! My 8 year old loved the slides and wave pool. Lots of lifeguards around and they are very attentive. Great value too! Much less $ than Kalahari but it is smaller.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank NMRRCR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
We are glad we were able to provide a good value to your group.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I would recommend this place or stay there again the amenities were awesome and the waterpark for the kids was perfect! We loved that cedar point was only minutes away! And that the hotel had a TGI Fridays attached made it easier

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mgjkmkp6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for the five star review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley Springs
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 days and had a wonderful time. The water park is just the right size and the water slides are good. My favorite part of the water park was the hot tub. The starfish room is a little on the small side and could use an update , but was very clean. Our boys did a little fishing in the bay and caught a few fish to throw back. They loved that. The location is amazing and early entry to cedar point is even better. We will definitely be making a return trip!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizmundey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
It sounds like a great trip. Thank you for choosing Castaway Bay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This resort offered a great deal with Cedar Point park tickets, early entry into the park, a parking pass, waterpark tickets included for everyone in our party, not to mention our overnight stay at the resort. Staff was very friendly. The rooms were nice & the decor throughout the resort was beautiful. Lots of extras offered at the resort...restaurants, gift shops, arcade, & the indoor waterpark! It was great...lots of fun areas to explore! The only place we ate at the resort was at Big Daddy's inside the waterpark. Ordered a large pizza which was hot & delicious & larger than most large pizzas. It had 10 good size slices so the 5 of us in our party could each have 2.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for sharing a review of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma Heights, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Our room was nice, my 3 year old loved the water park and my wife and I had fun too. TGIFriday's was a bit overrun when we visited for dinner so the service was slow but friendly. One of the smaller slides was closed during our entire stay with no explanation. The wave pool and play pool each were closed at separate times as well due to issues that were not controllable by the park staff. Overall I'd recommend a visit for a family with young kids.

Room Tip: The bed in our Starfish room was a bit small for my wife and I. We'll definitely get a bigger r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 38spcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for the recommendation, we appreciate hearing from our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

After going to Maui Sands and having a terrible time this hotel was nice! For all those wondering how it compares to Kalahari and Great Wolf Lodge it is in the same ballpark....... The kids looooooved the waterpark and liked it as mch as the others. The theme is nice, good food, and clean as well. Try it you'll enjoy it..... Do not go to Maui Sands!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShabbaShab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TyleratCP, Manager at Castaway Bay, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandusky hotels
2.9 mi away
Maui Sands Resort & Indoor Waterpark
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Rainwater Park
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#5 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
Cedar Point's Express Hotel
#17 of 35 in Sandusky
4.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Sandusky Hotel & Suites
1.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn Sandusky - Cedar Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Bay

Property: Castaway Bay
Address: 2001 Cleveland Rd, Sandusky, OH 44870-4403
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sandusky
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Sandusky
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 237
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Caribbean meets Sandusky at this ideal destination for vacationers. With its tropical theme, guests at Cedar Point's Castaway Bay feel like they have just landed on an island paradise upon entering this lush indoor waterpark resort. Castaway Bay features 237 hotel rooms and suites including family-oriented units, a 38,000-square-foot indoor waterpark loaded with water activities for all ages, fitness center, 6,000-square-foot state-of-the-art arcade, a craft and child activity center, three restaurants, retail shops, adjacent marina and space for meetings, group events and birthday parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Castaway Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Bay Hotel Sandusky
Castaway Bay Sandusky, Ohio
Sandusky Castaway Bay
Bay Castaway Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing