We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, relaxing trip to Getaway Cabins & Hocking Hills!”
Review of Getaway Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Bloomingville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Getaway Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Whenever I use Trip Advisor to find a place to stay, I always give back by leaving my own review. So here it is...I can not gush enough about Getaway Cabins, specifically The Homestead #20. I just wanted a couple days away from the office and the regular hustle & bustle of everyday life. This place was the answer. A BIG bonus for being pet-friendly (some cabins are, some aren't). This was our black lab, Izzy's first vacation with her Mom & Dad and she also had a wonderful time. We enjoyed taking Izzy to a couple of the local parks during the day, then just relaxing at the cabin and enjoying the hot tub on the deck at night. The Homestead is the last cabin on the secluded lane, so we weren't really close to any neighbors. The view from the deck at night is pitch black. The cabin itself was perfect for 2 (plus dog) - an apartment-sized kitchen, love seat with Direct TV, bathroom with stand-up shower, and upstairs loft with queen size bed which was very comfortable. Did I mention the HOT TUB?!? It seems like a newer model, 104 degrees, with the neat changing lights. Felt really good on the tired legs from hiking all day. TIPS: Go to Old Man's Cave on an off day & time. We went Saturday morning @11:00 and there were a million people and groups there. The other parks were not as packed. We really liked Cedar Falls, but Ash Cave and Rock House are very neat too. Also a little bit more of a drive, but the Cantwell Cliffs were worth it. We will be making this an annual trip to Hocking Hills and will also be staying at Getaway Cabins again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jude232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 293 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

Getaway Cabins is a wonderful place to get away and relax. The cabins have always been clean, well equipped, and staff was friendly. Cabins are all uniquely themed, and very cute inside, overall a great romantic getaway, quiet and peaceful.

As for the hiking and waterfalls…we have always gone in the spring when the streams and waterfalls are full, and the wild flowers are in bloom. We have ALWAYS had a great time, and will continue to refer others to make the trip to Getaway Cabins. Do be aware that if you go in summer the streams and waterfalls are hardly flowing, and there are lots of scouts and hikers on the trails which may impact your solitude a bit. In winter time, it can get nasty real quick in the mountains if you are not use to it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The title says it all. At last minute, my boyfriend and I decided to stay at the Ladybug Loft to celebrate my 23rd birthday. We were psyched to see such an adorable cabin that wasn't too big, and wasn't too small. The privacy was astounding. The drive is lit with bright lights, though, so we felt safe.
The people in the office were so accommodating and I loved the gift shop they had in there.
We made friends with a black cat who was our tour guide and led us on the path they have on site. We passed a fishing pond, saw about 6 deer and 1 turkey and we sat in the gazebo for a few minutes while our tour guide rested.
We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: If its just two people on a budget, get the ladybug loft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed at Getaway Cabins, in cabin #25 Whispering Woods for Christmas this past year. The cabin is extremely large and roomy.The location is fantastic with easy access to Hocking Hills' many caves by car. This cabin was also on a private lot nearby other cabins but not close enough to be an annoyance. We really appreciated the privacy and roomy, clean accommodations. The cabin also has a vintage "cabin feel" with modern accommodations (the internet does not work anywhere nearby). I provided some interior cabin pictures so future guests can view just how big and clean the space truly is. There's also a very large deck off of the kitchen with a hot tub, gas grill and eating area. This was THE most relaxing Christmas vacation for the husband, dogs and I!

Room Tip: This particular cabins is very large and can accommodated 3 couples or 2 families very easily. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maranda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We just spent the weekend at the Ladybug cabin at Getaway Cabins in Hocking Hills and we LOVED it!! It was the perfect place for my outdoorsman husband and my hotel loving self! The cabin was perfect for a couple and had everything we could ever need...I jokingly said the only thing missing were fluffy white robes since we were in and out of the hot tub so much! Something about hanging in a hot tub in the middle of the woods with deer coming and going is a magical experience. The cabin was super clean and I don't often say how impressed I am but it was obvious that the housekeeping staff takes pride in the job they do. The staff are available but give you plenty of privacy. The Hocking Hills area has so much to offer...amazing and easy hiking trails for every time of nature lover...there was great shopping and fine dining. A great place to visit. We will go back for sure!!

Room Tip: The Ladybug was small but great for a couple who is looking for a romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natesmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed at Butterfly Bungalow for our 42 anniversary, the cabin was beautiful. The hot tub after hiking was the best. We loved the location. There is so much to do in the area, great for families too. The only problem was we should have stayed longer, 2 days is not long enough. Elizabeth and all the staff at check in were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be coming back, maybe with our family and the dogs but you can't beat a getaway for 2.

Room Tip: Butterfly bungalow is at the main location, perfect for 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nana123girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Margaritaville Cabin. It was outstanding. As peaceful and private as it gets. A short hike to the bottom of the hill and you can explore your own personal gorge and hike over to Ash Cave. We got lost though, so drive. The cabin was very clean and comfortable with an island theme. The hot tub was hot and ready, as was the fire pit with wood and cut sticks for marsh mellow roasting. The rooms were spacious and charming. The deck was ready for serious partying. Talk about quiet and peaceful -our children from noisy Los Angeles said they never slept so well. Like all the cabins in the area, bring what you need as far as food and drink, as stores and places to eat and shop are VERY far away. But the kitchen had absolutely everything you need as far pots and pans etc. Just add food and drink. There is only one other cabin on the property so you have it all to yourself. We loved it!

Room Tip: Will sleep four people comfortably. One walk-out bedroom and one very private loft. One lovely bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wearytraveler245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Bloomingville
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
10.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
1.2 mi away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hocking Hills Inn
Hocking Hills Inn
#27 of 30 in Logan
2 reviews
7.4 mi away
Cherry Ridge Retreat
Cherry Ridge Retreat
#1 of 3 in New Plymouth
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway Cabins

Address: 26366 Chapel Ridge Rd, South Bloomingville, OH 43152-9759
Region: United States > Ohio > South Bloomingville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in South Bloomingville
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing