We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Oak Cottage” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Getaway Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Bloomingville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Getaway Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“White Oak Cottage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

In cabin phone did not work and had no cell service. This left an un easy feeling in case of an emergency, we would not be able to quickly contact someone for help. Also, the shower was not great. The shower head was not properly secured to the wall and was difficult to adjust without it spinning. Also, could not find the TV remote. We found the DVD remote, but not the TV remote. When watching movies, we would have to get up to turn the volume up or down.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank claybird56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    28
    18
    5
    13
See reviews for
39
189
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed at the Guest Nest and we got married at the log cabin...the staff was very welcoming and helpful and the cabin was comfortable, relaxing and secluded! After 5 hrs of hiking at Hocking Hills/Old Mans Cave the hot tub was extremely inviting! We will definitely be back, plan on making it our anniversary get away! Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed in the Shawnee cabin for a weekend getaway and we really enjoyed our stay! When we walked in they had soft music playing and the air was running so the cabin was very comfortable. We were impressed with how clean it was from kitchen to bathroom and everywhere in between. The hot tub was very nice especially after a 23 mile bike ride on the Hocking to Athens trail (strongly suggest a ride on this great trail). The cabin was very secluded and we felt like we were the only ones around. They have a lit feeding station off of the deck and we saw some racoons & beautiful birds. We made dinner one night and breakfast both days and were pleased to find everything we needed, pans, utensils & dishes. The grill even had a back up propane tank which was very thoughtful. The only down side was the smell of the well water and the bed was a bit stiff but other than that, this was a wonderful stay and we will be coming back in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyOne38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

After looking at hundreds of different cabins and places I must say Getaway Cabins was the best by far. Not only was the Cabin absolutely perfect but the amenities that getaway Cabins offer by far beat any other place I looked at. From the moment I placed our reservation I felt like the world revolved around us. Our check in was smooth and effortless and the cabin was absolutely beautiful. The only part of our stay I would have to say that was bad was when it was time to leave.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We stumbled upon Getaway Cabins after touring & performing in the area. Keeping our expectations low after paying a very affordable rate (which included a pet deposit for our dogs) , we pulled up to Cabin #11, The Honeybee Hideaway. Immediately, our minds were blown. The secluded location, lack of cellular reception & internet connection, and preheated hot tub, were exactly the elements we so desired and required.

The cleanliness is also in need of boasting. I've stayed in many hotels as an actor and haven't been this impressed in a long time. The many amenities also make you feel right at home.

My partner and I finally had a couple of days where we could "fall off the grid". Even the dogs came home well rested, having been able to explore their surroundings, without the worry of city traffic.

Of course, we booked again for June 2013, only this time doubling our length of stay. We know we found that "special place" to us, and can see by it's upkeep, that the other Honeybee-ers did as well.
We suggest not coming here if you're planning on having wild parties, have to be connected to the digital network, or hate peace & quiet. Otherwise, we recommend Getaway Cabins, it's staff, and it's accommodations with a 5 out of 5 star rating.

Thank you HB and we'll see you in a few days!

Excited,

Ivory & Tim

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivory567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

My husband and I have been to Getaway Cabins in Hocking Hills about 5-6 times now - either for a romantic weekend in a one bedroom cabin or with family/friends in one of the bigger cabins. I cannot tell you how great the staff, the cabins, the overall experience has been with each and everyone trip!! It is so close to civilization, but feels like we are in the middle of nowhere. We love that most cabins are now pet-friendly! Our latest stay was at Margaritaville - part tiki hut and part mountain retreat - and the best of BOTH! I highly recommend Getaway Cabins to anyone planning to visit Hocking Hills!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

Whenever I use Trip Advisor to find a place to stay, I always give back by leaving my own review. So here it is...I can not gush enough about Getaway Cabins, specifically The Homestead #20. I just wanted a couple days away from the office and the regular hustle & bustle of everyday life. This place was the answer. A BIG bonus for being pet-friendly (some cabins are, some aren't). This was our black lab, Izzy's first vacation with her Mom & Dad and she also had a wonderful time. We enjoyed taking Izzy to a couple of the local parks during the day, then just relaxing at the cabin and enjoying the hot tub on the deck at night. The Homestead is the last cabin on the secluded lane, so we weren't really close to any neighbors. The view from the deck at night is pitch black. The cabin itself was perfect for 2 (plus dog) - an apartment-sized kitchen, love seat with Direct TV, bathroom with stand-up shower, and upstairs loft with queen size bed which was very comfortable. Did I mention the HOT TUB?!? It seems like a newer model, 104 degrees, with the neat changing lights. Felt really good on the tired legs from hiking all day. TIPS: Go to Old Man's Cave on an off day & time. We went Saturday morning @11:00 and there were a million people and groups there. The other parks were not as packed. We really liked Cedar Falls, but Ash Cave and Rock House are very neat too. Also a little bit more of a drive, but the Cantwell Cliffs were worth it. We will be making this an annual trip to Hocking Hills and will also be staying at Getaway Cabins again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Bloomingville
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
10.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
22.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
23.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chillicothe
23.7 mi away
Christopher Inn & Suites
Christopher Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Chillicothe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway Cabins

Property: Getaway Cabins
Address: 26366 Chapel Ridge Rd, South Bloomingville, OH 43152-9759
Region: United States > Ohio > South Bloomingville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in South Bloomingville
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing