We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Margaritaville #17” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Getaway Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in South Bloomingville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Getaway Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Margaritaville #17”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

This was my third trip using Getaway Cabins (previously stayed at Fox Run and Sunflower Chateau) and my fourth trip overall having stayed with Buffalo Lodging last year.

The Margaritaville cabin is located around a mile of the Getaway Cabins main location and is relatively easy to locate using their directions (I will not divulge the exact location). There is a steep concrete drive that leads down to the cabin parking area and is a bit intimidating, but my Kia Sportage easily made it up and down (even in pouring rain) with no issues.

The cabin is beautifully decorated inside and out and you will spend plenty of time admiring the details of the décor. My wife and I agreed that while the theme goes well beyond the Jimmy Buffet/Key West theme it still portrays a comfortable island theme throughout. There were moments where we felt as though we could be in Key West or another tropical destination.

About the cabin: This is a pet friendly cabin and we brought our husky/shepherd mix. It has a regular sized refrigerator/freezer, oven and burners (electric), all the utensils, pots, pans, etc. that you will need to bake or cook. It has a loft with easy to navigate stairs (some cabins I have seen have near vertical stairs), and a separate room with a queen sized bed. The bathroom has a hairdryer. Outside it has a propane grill, a covered patio, a hammock right outside the main room (it has its own door to the patio), as well as a small tiki-style bar with lights, and of course a hot tub. The tub was set at 102 degrees and was probably one of the most comfortable and relaxing ones we have used in Hocking Hills due to its design. There is also a fire pit on the opposite site of the patio with chairs leaning up against the side of the cabin.

Tips: The DVD player is located on the left side of the television. The disk will only go in one way and is for regular DVDs (not Blu Ray). The check in site has a decent collection of movies to choose from, but do not hesitate to bring your own. DO NOT play the picture puzzle game located under the stereo. It is highly addictive and is not as easy to solve as it seems! As with many other cabins there are a few diaries of former occupants that will give you other details from prior visitors.

All of the interior/kitchen lights are located near the closet and are dimmable. There is also brooms, dustpan, and a vacuum cleaner in the closet to help keep the cabin clean.

Finding the waterfall: Behind the cabin is a very deep and beautiful gorge. Walking off the patio toward the fire pit walk straight down toward a path that goes left to right. You can follow the path to the right and it curves to the left and then straight down away from the cabin. There are a few pricker bushes so I recommend merely cutting straight across and joining the path that goes directly away from the cabin. You will then come to a path that goes left and right (this is only about 80 feet from the cabin). The path to the right follows the gorge, but eventually dissolves into the woods. Walking straight across the path will bring you to the edge of the gorge and give you a great view. We were there during the heavy rain (April 28-30) and saw two waterfalls on our side as well as one across the gorge (they were easily heard from the cabin). Taking the path to the left will bring you to a waterfall that should be there no matter what the weather. This path may continue to lead to the Ash Cave area, but would easily be a 1 1/2 mile or longer hike.

Room Tip: This cabin is located on the same property, and just beyond, the Tumbleweed cabin (#18) and is still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    28
    18
    5
    13
See reviews for
39
189
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Staff was incredibly helpful and very friendly. The cabin was prepared well and was extremely clean. Kitchen and bathroom contained all of the accommodations needed. The area was beautiful and pleasant. I will most definitely make it a priority to return to Getaway Cabins. It was a wonderful and fulfilling vacation. I will be sure to refer friends and family as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Virginia, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This was our first time visiting hocking Hills and Getaway Cabins.. We booked Bears Dens, on Pumpkin Ridge Rd,Its right next to Eagles Nest.. You can see Eagles Nest from the front porch but we never heard anyone... The cabin was so pretty.. I was disappointed with the oven, there was a sign saying its seems to be hotter then the temp on the oven and to be careful, the big burner is also unuseable due to it not have a "leg" on the burner so the burner just lays on the foil (fire HAZARD!!), I was also disappointed that no where on the invoice or direction did they suggest to bring a calling card.. There is no cellphone service and there is a phone on the property but its only for 911 or local calls.. So no calls home or anything like that... Other then that we had a great time and will be back for sure.. It was nice traveling with our dog.. We visited old Man cave and cedar falls.. AS well as visiting The spotted Horse farm too! great horseback riding place!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Cannot wait to go back. The staff was great, the cabin was great, the location was great. We stayed for one week but could have stayed forever! We are already planning on returning to Getaway Cabins!! The cabin was clean, had everything we could have needed, the hot tub was perfect. They left notes for us at the cabin telling me happy birthday even though the reservation was made a month before they made a note and remembered why we were taking the trip. Its the little things like the radio being on and fire being on when we arrived. Good place for couples since it was a one room cabin stairs were a little rough just take your time on them but would go back to that cabin in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank applejaks2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband and myself stayed with getaway cabins for our first time and it was simply amazing! The location was beautiful perfect and so peaceful and quite! We can't wait to go back! This was our first trip since we have been together and without out our two year old twins! Definitely recommend getaway cabins!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plarge3330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batesville
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The first time we went to Hocking Hills we got a cabin with Getaway Cabins and we are glad we did. We have been back 4 more times and have always been happy with our cabins. I like picking a different cabin each time we go. The cabins are well taken care of and there is a lot of attention to every little detail to make your stay special. This stay the hot tub at our cabin wasn't working and needed a part they couldn't get until after our stay. They did everything they could to try and make it right for us. They even called a head of time to give us the news so we could decide what we wanted to do. We took the cabin anyway and they offered us a discount. I was very impressed with this because they could of waited until we got there and say sorry for your luck. We still had a great time and had a special visit from the cute raccoon that likes visiting the cabin where we stayed. We will always use Getaway Cabins and have recommended them to several friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This was our first time to the area and we are looking forward to coming back and spending a little more time. I picked Getaway cabins because it was the first one I found on-line, and after searching a couple other sites I kept coming back to them I think mainly because of the cost and the number of choices they had. This was a surprise for my wife on valentines day and she loved it. The cabin, the setting and the quiet you get when no one else is around is wonderful. The cabin was perfect for us,just enough room and everything you needed to make your own dinner. We only met one person there when we got our key at the office and she was very helpful, directions are easy just get there before dark, roads are dark and winding. Over all it was the perfect GETAWAY for us,
THANK YOU
MIC

Room Tip: I picked # 21 because it was the least expensive, it was perfect for our 2 day stay and will do it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mic s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Bloomingville
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
10.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
22.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Lancaster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Ohio University Inn & Conference Center
23.8 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Chillicothe
23.7 mi away
Christopher Inn & Suites
Christopher Inn & Suites
#2 of 8 in Chillicothe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Getaway Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Getaway Cabins

Property: Getaway Cabins
Address: 26366 Chapel Ridge Rd, South Bloomingville, OH 43152-9759
Region: United States > Ohio > South Bloomingville
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in South Bloomingville
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing