We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the drive!”

Grouse Nest Restaurant
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Brecksville, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We weren't sure what to expect. We read other reviews of Grouse Nest and were concerned about the drive to the restaurant after speaking to the staff at our lodging locations, so we took a drive to the location during the day to see if we could do it at night. It's a bit of a hike up a dirt road, but well worth the drive. The food was fabulous!! The staff was very nice. It might be a tough drive if the weather is bad, but we were able to do it in dry conditions; the road had been well plowed after some snow a week or so ago. We highly recommend and hope to go back on our next trip to Hocking Hills.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    10
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“3rd try.. and unhappy”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have been to this restaurant a few times over the last couple of years. The first time it was recommended to us by the owners of the place we stayed. It was a bit of a drive, but the drive was enjoyable, the setting was nice, the staff kind and the food yummy. Of course we would be back! Second time the place seemed as if it wasn't as well taken care of as it had been in the past and the staff not as knowledgeable. The food was still good, but the wait was longer. Last weekend we returned for a late lunch. We were the ONLY people there on a Saturday. There had been a large party there before us, as evidenced by the table setup. No one cleaned up the tables or took the plates off etc... until we were leaving. Our waiter was kind, but not knowledgeable of the menu at all. He did, however, go and get answers for us. At one point a little girl (4?) came out from the back and came right up to our table and started touching our drinks, my daughter etc... No one in sight. After several minutes a young man, who didn't look appropriate for greeting customers..ie dirty..came out and apologized taking her with him. This didn't happen once more, but twice more. Once the waitress had to yell at him to come out and get her :-( Then we found out he was the cook. :-(( I ordered a salad with blue cheese, craisins, and pecans and it was good, but not worth the $7 it cost. As I said, we were the only ones there and waited 45 minutes for our food which was a sandwich and salads! Not acceptable!! Just before we were leaving this little girl was going through the waitress's purse and she had to ask her not to get in her purse anymore. I have children, I get it, but I don't think it is good practice to allow employees to bring children to work, especially if they are not properly cared for, and bothering the customers and workers. Not professional at all. I also didn't think the place was as clean as in the past. The grounds looked run down as well. A shame, really, as this place could really be something. Truly disappointed...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Lovely staff but off the beaten track”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The road to Grouse Nest is narrow and the driveway up to the restaurant is very steep, I wouldn't like to do it in the snow, but it was nice food and welcoming, friendly atmosphere.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ramirezmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S. Bloomingville
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a good choice for a fancy meal!”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I love this place and have been going there for years. The restaurant is small, intimate, with a wonderful atmosphere and terrific staff. Pricing is variable; you can spend a little or a lot. The menu is often seasonal, with produce purchased locally when possible, and they have very creative meals. If you've never had rattlesnake, bison or rabbit, try it here! The incredibly rich, decadent red pepper & smoked guda soup is a personal favorite. Make sure you call for reservations during the busy spring, summer & fall seasons and check their hours which can change seasonally. There is also a lounge attached with wi-fi and tv if you want to catch up on emails or sports.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoneyRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clayton, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“nice restaurant”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

we stayed in a love bug cabin which was great and ate at the grouse nest...very nice experience, I recommend this place for a weekend getaway...nice views off cabin deck and from the rest. !

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Grouse Nest Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing