We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting history”

Frank Lloyd Wright's Westcott House
Ranked #1 of 31 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Westcott House was built in 1908 for Burton J. And Orpha L. Westcott. The Westcott property is the only Prairie style house designed by Wright in the state of Ohio. The grounds include the main house and a garage with pony stable connected by an extensive pergola. In 1946, due to the housing crisis following World War II, the house was divided into multiple apartments. The house no longer reflected the vision of its architect. The original furniture and most of the original light fixtures and other details were removed from the house. Lack of resources led to an extreme deterioration of the structure. The house has recently undergone an inch-by-inch $5.8 Million restoration. Each of its features-from art glass to original hardware and hand-decorated encaustic walls to massive urns-has been returned to its 1908 appearance. Furniture has been rebuilt according to Wright's specifications and gardens re-landscaped in keeping with the time. The house in now manages by a non-profit organization. Our mission is to preserve and interpret the Westcott House, promote historic preservation and inspire creativity and innovation through architecture and design education. In addition to tours of Wright's masterpiece, Westcott Center for Architecture + Design offers innovative educational programming throughout the year, including Summer Walking Tour Series. Take a guided tour of the Westcott House and learn about the Prairie Style home Frank Lloyd Wright designed for industrialists and entrepreneurs Burton J. And Orpha Westcott and their two children. Experience Frank Lloyd Wright's timeless designs and a world-class restoration project.
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I grew up in Springfield and never knew that this even existed less than 1/2 mile from my home. Going through the tour was interesting regarding the history and the recent renovation.

Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta W, Executive Director & Curator at Frank Lloyd Wright's Westcott House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking time to write this post. We are so glad you were able to come to the Westcott House while visiting your hometown!!! Please visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 126 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

I've toured many FLW-designed properties over the past thirty years and, while grateful that this important early building was saved, I have to say that the experience just wasn't "up there" with visits to Wright's other houses. I attribute this to the fact the house is unfurnished (except for reproductions of the dining and library tables) due to the fact that there are no extant photos of the house as it was lived in. Also, because of the house's relatively moderated budget, Wright's stunning leaded glass windows were not a part of the design for this house. Because of this, the tour was just a little, dare I say, boring. But, if you are a Wright fan you must see this house!

Thank sshistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta W, Executive Director & Curator at Frank Lloyd Wright's Westcott House, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2014

Thank you for visiting and for your valuable feedback! We have many visitors who have toured a large number of Wright sites, so it is always interesting to hear the unique things that people like about each one of them. The Westcott House has had a very dramatic life and the disrepair was so extensive we almost lost it. So the restoration of the main house, garage, the pasture and gardens was truly a timely intervention and a successful one!

The furniture was removed a long time ago, so we are still trying to do a lot of research to find out what we could possibly find/add to our collection. Of course, we are incredibly grateful for anything that remained (huge Wright "signature" urns, some light fixtures, built-in walking closets f.ex.) and for a fantastic set of original drawings that allowed the reconstruction of the splendid dining table, a bookcase, buffet, kitchen furniture, inglenook benches, and our cute children playroom set, among other details. We actually just celebrated an exciting discovery - three out of eight original stained glass cabinet doors surfaced at one of the local auctions and we were able to purchase them! They are now on display and we will plan on permanently installing them after some repair work. But the work continues (like with every old house :) Please consider visiting again! Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

What I liked was the vision Frank Lloyd Wright had in his head to create this Prairie House in a neighborhood where the homes are more period built. It is wonderful this home was restored and being shared with the public.

Thank Pepsi38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta W, Executive Director & Curator at Frank Lloyd Wright's Westcott House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2015

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our site - it means a lot to us. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the visit! All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Frank Lloyd Wright's Westcott House is a "must see" for any Wright enthusiast. It's one of the great examples of Wright's Prairie-style.

The tour is very engaging and includes historical content about the original owner - car maker Burton Westcott - along with relevant history of the time period and community.

Highly recommended!

Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta W, Executive Director & Curator at Frank Lloyd Wright's Westcott House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2015

Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate it very much.

Please visit us again! Happy 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Wife and I are FLW fans and have visited several of his houses. This is an earlier effort of his and is done in the prairie style and we enjoyed the tour very much. Location can be a bit difficult if you do not have GPS/Nav.Sys. The store and ticket person are located in what was the garage of the residence and they have a lot of Wright items on sale. You get a short video of the construction and history, then a professional guided tour of the house, there are several stairs and house tour is not handicap accessible. Tour is scheduled for an hour but ours ran over a bit. You are standing or walking the entire time so be warned. Overall it was a good tour and I recommend it highly.

1  Thank Curt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta W, Executive Director & Curator at Frank Lloyd Wright's Westcott House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2015

Thank you so much for your feedback! As with many Wright houses, the entrances are sometimes tricky to find and we are currently working on enhancing our way finding signage (for those planning to visit, it is best to use 89 South Greenmount Avenue, Springfield, Ohio 45505 as desired destination for your GPS system). Again many thanks for taking the time to review the site and happy 2015!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Frank Lloyd Wright's Westcott House also viewed

 

Been to Frank Lloyd Wright's Westcott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing