We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Special Historical Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Simon Kenton Inn

Simon Kenton Inn
Ranked #15 of 158 Restaurants in Springfield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Whether you're staying overnight or just here for the evening, Simon Kenton Inn has it all with beautiful surroundings, fine dining, a fully stocked pub, outdoor fire pits, and fantastic event space.
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
241 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Special Historical Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

The Simon Kenton Inn is a privately owned restaurant and hotel. The food is excellent and offered in the bar area, dining room, and private parties in the main house, which is the bed and breakfast. In the summer, there is outdoor dining with a fire glowing in the center of the dining area. The salads were excellent and main entree very large. There are cabins to stay overnight, which I did not have the time to see the interior. The service is very friendly. Parking is easy and readily available.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MicheleC106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonKentonInn, Manager at Simon Kenton Inn, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review! The kind words are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    14
    9
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
195 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good Food and in Quaint Setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Met friends here north of Springfield, Ohio. From Dayton it took about 50 minutes but the drive was worth it. I had The Wedge which was lightly grilled iceberg lettuce topped with blackened strip steak and served with blue cheese dressing, diced roma tomatoes and red onions. It was really enjoyable along with our endearing conversations.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nacho52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonKentonInn, Manager at Simon Kenton Inn, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
401 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“70th Birthday Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was our 3rd trip to Simon Kenton and by far the best even though the food was only finger food. We were there for my father in law's 70th birthday and they catered a party for about 50 people. They did a great job, keeping everyone fed and lubricated. We have always been happy with the food and service here, one of the few special places in Springfield, OH.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank majiksea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonKentonInn, Manager at Simon Kenton Inn, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate you celebrating with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

A little disappointed by a nice looking place to eat. Just thought everything was very average. Steak could have used more seasoning. Side was very bland. Salad had little dressing or taste. Staff could be friendlier to patrons. Food needs improvement to match the prices charged.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GO-OHIO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonKentonInn, Manager at Simon Kenton Inn, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for your review! I apologize that your experience did not meet expectations. We strive for excellence and your feedback will help us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Urbana, Ohio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“over rated!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

the staff was very unprofessional, out of caeser salad??? The staff actually argues in front of us. My husband and I felt like intruders. We were out for a special evening,NOT!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimonKentonInn, Manager at Simon Kenton Inn, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank you for your review! I apologize that your experience did not meet expectations. I also apologize that you and your husband we're made to feel like intruders. I understand you were in for a special evening and we regret we were unable to provide that for you. We strive for excellence and your feedback will help us improve!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Simon Kenton Inn also viewed

 

Been to Simon Kenton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing