We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and friendly visit.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Strasburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Garver House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Strasburg B&B and Inns
newark ohio
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful and friendly visit.”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

What a special find we discovered in Strasburg. The Garver House. Al and Natalie are such a gracious host and hostess. They have so many special touches to make your visit wonderful.
They have truly thought of everything to make your stay welcoming. The natural decor of the house is beautiful . The stained glass windows were especially striking . Our breakfasts were delicious and served piping hot. The evening snacks were great appreciated. The area has many attractions and lots of shopping stops so when you need a place to rest and relax, but sure to come to the Garver House. You will be glad you did.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coudersport, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Al and Natalie made us feel like we were right at home. We looked forward to getting back to your beautiful room at their B&B after a long day at the Alive Festivals. We felt so safe here. The fresh coffee and breakfast just outside our room at our request was more than wonderful. We came in very late at night and slept in, so Al and Natalie made adjustments for us to have a wonderful breakfast just outside our room, so all we had to do was open our door and there was a wonderful breakfast w/ coffee. The room was beautifully decorated and so clean. Spacious beautiful room and spacious bathroom with lots of hot water!!!
We will be back the next time we are in the area, probably for the Alive Festival, but we will be staying with Al and Natalie. Thank you for your hospitality!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele61969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckeye state
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Al & Natalie will make you feel right at home the moment you arrive. There home is beautiful and spotless. The rooms are spacious and the bed is comfortable . A surprise plate of cookies for a evening snack very yummy !!!! A fresh pot of coffee when we woke up and delicious breakfast . We will be back the next time we are in the area.

Room Tip: Choose any room. They are all beautiful. We stayed in the Zoar Village Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. Al and I enjoy sharing our historic home with guests from all over. We also enjoy helping our guests find attractions that will interest them in this area. Tuscarawas county not only has the Amish community but also numerous historical sites, wineries, cheese houses, nature centers and theater. There is much to do, come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Al & Natalie are the most wonderful people, always making sure you are comfortable and any concerns met. The place is beautifully restored and in great shape. The room we had was spacious, bright and had a large en-suite. A lot of things to do in the surrounding area and great places to eat. Talk about breakfast, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Any of their rooms are great, honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Barry thank you for reviewing the Garver House. Al and I are happy you enjoyed your visit with us. There is a lot to do in this area and also some great restaurants. Come back again for a visit and we will be happy to send you to some equally interesting places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

My husband and I traveled to eastern Ohio with another couple to visit a few wineries. I searched for somewhere other than a hotel to stay overnight. We were all very pleased with Garver House.

It all began with the warm greeting we were met with at the door! After our tour, we settled into our room, which was The Zoar Village Room. The wood floors on the first floor of the home are just awesome with the different inlaid patterns around the edges of each room.

We spent the evening at the dining room table playing cards. Part way through our games, we were treated to a wonderful, warm, cinnamon apple tart that was delicious! Our hosts were gracious, kind and very willing to go the extra mile to make our stay beyond comfortable. They even supplied us with wine glasses and a cork screw!

The rooms were very welcoming, including the flickering candles set on the mantle. Beds and the bedding are very comfortable. And all this....BEFORE......the amazing breakfast. The sausage cranberry quiche was delicious, and that was just one part of the whole thing!!

If we are ever in the area again, we will certainly be back and would recommend Garver House Bed and Breakfast to anyone.

Thanks Natalie and Al for a wonderful stay!!

Carman & Jill

Room Tip: All rooms appear equal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaJillOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornell, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We enjoyed a wonderful overnight stay and look forward to another opportunity to stay at this excellent bed and breakfast. Our room was peaceful. Delicious evening snacks were provided -- tea and cookies. The breakfast was outstanding and the Innkeeper was generous in sharing cookie and breakfast recipes.

Room Tip: Choose any of the rooms. They are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolARD27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
One of the rewards of running a Bed & Breakfast is meeting wonderful people like yourself. A B&B is not only a stop over to your destination but a place to make new friends, rest and rejuvenate and share good conversation. We look forward to another visit from you in 2013. Thank you for reviewing The Garver House on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartville, Ohio
Level Contributor
127 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We recently stayed at the Garver House for one night. We were delighted with our experience. Al and Natalie are wonderful hosts. The house is lovely, with gorgeous woodwork, comfortable furniture and every extra you could need.
The food was great, we enjoyed every bite.
The Garver House is perfect for a weekend away! I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlmatheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie C, Owner at The Garver House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Al and I are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I am currently working on breakfast ideas for the Christmas season, Gingerbread Pancakes with Lemon Sauce. Come on back and do you holiday shopping in Amish Country. There are plenty of Christmas events in the area. Bring the children and experience the wonders of the Polar Express at the Dennison Railroad Depot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Strasburg
0.6 mi away
Ramada Limited Strasburg Dover
15.6 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
14.1 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
14.1 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
11.2 mi away
The Wallhouse Hotel
The Wallhouse Hotel
#1 of 2 in Walnut Creek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garver House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garver House Bed & Breakfast

Property: The Garver House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 410 N Wooster Ave, Strasburg, OH 44680-1050
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Strasburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Bed & Breakfast circa 1902. Old world charm with modern amenities. Secured lighted parking on premises. Central air, close to Amish country, wineries, cheese houses, historical sites, golf, walking trails. All rooms with queen beds, full hot gourmet breakfast, evening dessert and beverages included. Our goal is comfortable accommodation, friendliness and good food. Stay at The Garver House for the personal attention you deserve. We look forward to your visit at The Garver House Bed and Breakfast ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing