We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sugar Grove
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins
Lakewood, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rip-off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

They pretty much lied about the deposit. They said we broke the railing to the front porch and it cost us the entire deposit. They said we backed into it with a car..that never happened. They also had people checking in on us every other hour. Little privacy, no drinking, roads were almost impossible to get through. I don't recommend bringing a nicer car it will get scratched. I think the business they're in is to get your deposit money. Totally not worth it. There are better cabins literally just a few miles away.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Octoberfest23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Owner at Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
We hope that anyone who reads this review will realize that these gentlemen caused serious damage to the cabin and hence we charged them for the damage they caused. It is unfortunate that Trip Advisor allows persons such as these gentlemen to submit two reviews in an attempt to drive our ratings down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    5
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

They ripped us off on the entire $485 deposit. Claimed we broke things that were never touched. Fireplace didn't work, the jacuzzi didn't work. Beyond dissatisfied with hummingbird hill cabins. Especially givin the fact we paid for their best cabin (#6) and the entire trip was a disaster. Not to mention they had people checking in on us every few hours. No privacy, equipment didn't work, and they scammed us out of our entire deposit. We will never be returning to this establishment again. Thanks for an awful experience and taking all of our deposit money you frauds.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Octoberfest23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Owner at Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Please see the response to "Rip-off", since it was submitted by the same person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sugar Grove hotels

2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This was our third stay at Hummingbird Hills. We never had issues before but it's been a few years since our last stay. Our first issue was that our cabin had to have emergency water work done. They put us up in another cabin and had to move in the middle of the week. Once moved they scheduled carpet cleaners to come out during our stay. In this process they cleared the furniture from the room into the hallway blocking access to the bathroom and other bedroom. My daughter had to find a new bed.

Overall there are a few things the owners could do to make the stay of guests much better. 1) A periodic review of bulbs, remotes, appliances and kitchen supplies could make things seem much more organized. We had remotes in both cabins that had dead batteries, lights with burnt out bulbs and the kitchens were eclectic at best (one cabin had no drinking glasses). The key we were given didn't even work for this cabin. 2) Stocking cabins with basic extras like blankets- especially in cold months-
Is an easy fix to make guests stay more comfortable. 3) Periodic deep cleaning would go a long way to making everything seem like it's worth the almost $200 a night. There were lots of dust bunnies stuck in corners and in the log cracks. The whole experience left us thinking that things are not very organized at Hummingbird Hills - definitely not "deluxe" as advertised. Which is not what we experienced on our previous stays.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starmanalpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Owner at Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
We are truly sorry that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are addressing your concerns about the cleanliness of the cabin with our cleaning crew, and we will correct the problems with remote control batteries, light bulbs, and the other issues you raise.

We are also truly sorry about the well problem in the cabin you originally booked -- the problem came up very suddenly and had to be fixed before you could stay in the cabin. We felt it necessary to have the carpet cleaned in the downstairs bedroom while you were there because we were afraid that mold would start if we didn't address the situation right away.

Again, our sincere apologies. We appreciate your input, and we are taking immediate steps to remedy the problems you pointed out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014

Our group stayed at cabin 5 at Hummingbird Hill Cabins. The cabin was amazing and was fully stocked with everything you would need. There was ample supply of kitten cookware if you choose to cook and the stereo even had an AUX input for your iphone or ipod. The cabin was very clean and the check-in and out process was simple. There is plenty of privacy at the cabins and the hot tub water was crystal clear. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank kline4303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Lovely 3 bedroom cabin with sleeping loft. Furnishings were comfortable and hot-tub was relaxing. Some minor things like icecube trays were missing. Do not recommend a winter visit here if it is cold or snowy. Lower level with game room and 2 bedrooms heated only with space heaters in bedrooms which given it was very cold and only one blanket per bed was provided, required running space heaters continuously through the night making air very dry. Also driveway was not plowed of about 5" of snow so 2 of our cars got stuck and it took 9 hours before we could get pulled out. Owner did not charge us for extra night stay required since we couldn't get out during daylight. But the tows cost $200.x 2 so beware of an unplowed driveway! Otherwise it is a nice place to visit with friends or family.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AdlaiJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Owner at Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
We are sorry that you experienced problems with the very nasty winter this year (which we hope is over!). As is explained on our website, our driveways are gravel and are hilly. That makes it impossible to keep the driveways completely clear of snow and ice -- a common problem here in the Hocking Hills. That is why we plow parking spaces on the road in front of the cabins so that people will have some place to park. As for the blankets -- we are sorry that there weren't extras in the cabin; we are always happy to provide more when needed, we are just a phone call away.

We are glad that you found the cabin comfortable, and hope that you will visit in the summer when there won't be any snow (!) and the hummingbirds will be here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pemberton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Roads not plowed or salted. Had to walk down to the cabin from the top of the hill, in the snow. They didn't even shovel a walkway for us to get down to the cabin. Snow was past out ankles. Dead ladybugs and other insects on the floor inside. The cabin smelled like rotten eggs, I guess from the water. When we turned on the fireplace, the entire cabin smelled like gas, so we quickly turned it off since we got headaches. Middle of winter and no extra blankets, just a light comforter and sheets. The hot tub smelled like rotten eggs, so we didn't go in.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yummm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert S, Owner at Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
We are very sorry that your visit with us did not meet your expectations. As you know, it was a very rough winter and there was a lot of snow and ice. We are in a very rural, wooded area and so the roads are generally snow-covered in the winter; we of course have no control over when or how well the roads leading to the cabins are plowed. We do plow the cabin driveways, but because the driveways are gravel and also are hilly it is impossible to keep them completely clear.

Please be assured that if you had called us with regard to any concerns about cleanliness, or the problem with the fireplace, we would have been happy to try to remedy the situation. We hope that you will try us again and let us know if there is anything about the cabin that does not meet with your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sugar Grove
5.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Logan
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Logan
12.0 mi away
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Ravenwood Castle
Ravenwood Castle
#1 of 1 in New Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins

Property: Hummingbird Hill, Ltd - Hocking Hills Cabins
Address: 9654 Buckeye Rd, Sugar Grove, OH 43155
Region: United States > Ohio > Sugar Grove
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Sugar Grove
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six large, beautiful log cabins set on 140 private wooded acres in the Hocking Hills. Conveniently located within a short drive to the six major regions of Hocking Hills State Park, Hummingbird Hill is a comfortable retreat of deluxe cabins away from the everyday. With six cabins from which to choose, guests to the Hocking Hills can bask in the splendor of wilderness while still enjoying the full comforts of home. Each cabin has a hot tub, rec room with ping pong table, full kitchen, screened in porch, central heat and air conditioning, two full baths and DirecTv. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing