We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay / small glitches”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunbury
Reviewed 5 August 2013

My family of three stayed here after visiting the Ohio State Fair the first weekend in August. We live in Northeastern Ohio and wanted to be north of Columbus on the day after our fair visit. We booked a king suite which had a king size bed and double foldout couch. The bed was extremely comfortable. The fold out has thin mattress but our son said it was comfortable too and he slept well. I'm not sure I would have slept well on it but it would be great for kids or a young adult like our son. The room was fairly quiet, I could hear some sounds in the hallway but truthfully we were so worn our from our day at the fair we probably wouldn't have heard anything from above anyway. The temperature controls were very quiet and kept the room at the perfect temperature for us. The room and bathroom were very clean.

We used the pool. It is small but satisfactory for a refreshing dip, the air in the pool area was very warm and the water a little cool but not cold. There is a small exercise room adjacent to the pool area with a television. We did not use the exercise area.

The bathroom in our room had a standard size tub with jaccuzi jets. They only worked for one cycle, then shut off until you drained and refilled the tub so you can't use it for a long time. This was somewhat disappointing.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. However, one problem we encountered was with the Wi-Fi access. We were given a code at check-in, only to find out later that you needed a code for each device you wanted to hook up. First time I have ever encountered that issue. It was not a big deal to us, again we were worn out from the fair. The AM clerk said the night staff should have asked us how many devices we had. Something to keep in mind if you stay here. We were able to easily log on with the one device we used, the Wi-Fi signal was strong.

The other reason I only gave them 4 stars was the short period of time the free breakfast buffet was open on weekends. Upon check-in we noticed that breakfast was only served from 6:30 am to 9:30 am on Sat and Sundays. Really??? Only until 9:30 on weekends! With a checkout time of 12:00 pm that's way to early to end the buffet on the weekend. We were not able to take advantage of the breakfast on our stay. I really missed their cinnamon rolls, they are very good!

With the breakfast, I believe this hotel merits the price. Without, it's a little pricey. You might want to factor that into your decision to stay here, whether you are willing and able to roll out at what might be a very early time if you roll in late the night before.

This hotel is close to I-71 with many restaurants and gas stations nearby, including a Starbucks that is in walking distance. So if you too miss their breakfast, you have lots of other options.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us such an honest and thorough review! We are very lucky to have guests like you that care enough to tell others such a full picture of our hotel. We will definitely take your suggestions (wifi passwords, later breakfast hours) into review and see what we can put into action!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

This is my third time staying at this place since I do travel to this area for business once in awhile. The hotel is off I71 and convenient, however, there is not many good restaurants around. The room I had this time was standard king and I paid dearly for it. With this price, I could have stayed at a Marriott hotel, if there was one available in this area. The bed was decent. Room was clean. The front desk was okay. Generally, it is okay. It is interesting that this hotel do not award priority club points to people booking through a travel agency such as Expedia. So, next time walk in and you get a better rate and priority club points.

Stayed: July 2013
Thank utthon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! We appreciate your comments and the areas we can improve on. We want to be an excellent place to stay, not just "okay". If you want to book your room in advance, we have Best Price Guarantee when booking on the brand website. This allows you to get the same great rate and IHG Reward Club points.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We usually book Holiday Inn's when traveling, because overall they are clean and have a nice breakfast every morning. This Holiday Inn was just average. The breakfast bar in the morning was minimally stocked with food running out and the juice dispenser was broken. The hotel was clean but extremely HOT! We had to have our room A/C turned to 60 in order to sleep. The staff was nice and it is very conveniently located for the purpose of our trip.

Room Tip: The suites have a jacuzzi suite in them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trjh_sapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for staying at our property and taking the time to leave a review on our hotel. I regret that during your stay you experienced some problems. We have corrected the juice machine and AC problems you experienced. I will also be keeping a better eye on how the breakfast bar is stocked. With guests that are willing to let us know our shortcomings, there is only room for improvement. If you are back in the area, please give us another try. I'd love to know, if you think we are more on par. Best Regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We flew into Columbus for a family reunion. This hotel is conveniently located between the airport and where we were headed right off the interstate. The staff were friendly and efficient. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool was refreshing. The breakfast was sufficiently stocked and tasty for a hotel freebie. There is a convenience store next door at the BP gas station which carries almost everything one might need. There are several quality restaurants nearby; Bob Evans, Cracker Barrel, Waffle House and some fast food places.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay near the elevator or stairways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cal4nadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to leave a review and let others know how great your stay was! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, as being a great hotel that guests love is what we are all about!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Stayed one night, accidentally booked the wrong night. My mistake, paid and stayed the following night regardless. After several phone calls to the hotel, managers are not willing to refund either stay or even listen to our side of the story. Will never receive our business again. Hopefully keeping the charge for one night justifies losing several customers in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nasdmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

I apologize that you were inconvenienced by our hotel policies (not refunding an advance purchase reservation that is non-refundable). We gladly would have moved the date on the reservation, if we had known before the day after the arrival date.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

the floors were less noisy! You could here every step anyone made above us, beside us or in the hall. It wasn't that there were loud people running up and down the hall- unfortunately, I think it is just the way the building is built. You could tell as soon as you stepped into the hall from the elevator, every step sounded hollow. I was trying to be quite when walking in the room but you could just hear, in certain places, no matter how lightly you walked, the hollow sound that you know was echoing to the people below. It was like walking in an old house. I was thankful that hotel was not full of a lot activity or it would have made it difficult to deal with.

It is a shame because everything else was great. The desk staff, the breakfast, the pool and the location. I will have to re-consider the next time we are in the area- and the bad thing is there is nothing that can be done except major redo of the floors to correct the problem.

Request the 3rd floor to minimize your noise level.

Room Tip: Request a 3rd floor room away from the elevator!
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank 332neo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I appreciate your kinds words on everything under our control.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We have to travel to Ohio often and this HIE has turned out to be the hotel we look forward to. Weekends might require a reservation, but if you are driving through and can stop in the afternoon, there is almost always some way the staff will accommodate your stay.
Prices are better than anywhere else on the Cleveland-Columbus strip, rooms are always clean and neat, breakfast works for us, pool is relaxing, hotel is quiet.
More than enough shopping, gas, and eating nearby.
And it's only 25 minutes to downtown Columbus.

Room Tip: You can always ask for upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateMoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to give us a review! We appreciate your words and you, as our guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunbury
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/Delaware
7.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Polaris, OH
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center
8.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Columbus-Polaris Parkway
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area

Address: 7301 E State Route 37, Sunbury, OH 43074-9210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sunbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunbury
Price Range: £88 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area features interior corridors, wireless high speed Internet, indoor heated pool, a fitness and business center. Bus & RV parking is available. We are conveniently located in a rapidly growing community 10 miles North of Columbus and I-270, 'Home of the Buckeyes' and minutes away from Polaris Fashion Mall. For all the Little Brown Jug race fans, we are only 8 miles east of Historic Delaware. Attractions in the area: Delaware County Fairground 9 miles, Alum Creek State Park 1 mile, Ohio Wesleyan University 8 mi, Eden Horse Park 4 mi, Sunbury Village Square 3.5 miles, Columbus International Airport 30 miles. Northstar Golf Club, with a 72 par is a top notch course located just 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area
Holiday Inn Sunbury
Sunbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing