We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunbury
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We were here with our group of teens for an activity at Mount Vernon Naz. college. Rooms are very nice and hotel appeared to be clean. Front desk clerk was very nice and accommodating and breakfast was very adequate for what we needed. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I would say try to get at the end of a hall away from stairs and elevators. Walls are thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MimiJoy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at our hotel! I am so happy to see that our fantastic service team and clean rooms helped make your stay with us more enjoyable. On behalf of my entire team and I we thank you for your business and we welcome you back the next time your travels bring you to Mount Vernon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

As stated in another review, it is not easy to find and GPS will send you a few miles down the road. Not the worst part of our stay though. We had booked using our free night with our IHG Chase credit card. They not only took our free night, but then charged us also. When I brought it to their attention, the girl at the desk said she would need about 30 minutes to straighten it out. We were sitting in the lobby waiting for some family and could here her on the phone talking about her lattice work she need done at her house. As we left, we checked with her and she said that she had not had time to straighten it out. I ask, is it that hard to simply credit the credit card back? It has taken several days and a call to IHG customer service to (hopefully) get this corrected. Watch your bills closely!!!!!!!!!!

The hotel itself is run down, and not very clean. Our toilet didn't flush. They did switch our room, just glad there was a room to move us to. This hotel is no where near the level of Holiday Inn. I can only hope that the remodel they are going through brings the level up.

Room Tip: rooms at Hampton Inn next door are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winterrose79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review this has shown me in areas where training is needed. I have credited you and please accept my sincere apology and I hope if you are ever in the area
again that you will give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

1) The hotel is difficult to find. It is hidden away behind other businesses, It has a low sign. GPS will send you the wrong way. I had to call IHG to get an exact location after driving the area for 30 minutes.When I told the manager on duty, she laughed!! She said it happens alot.
2) The front door stuck and it was difficult to get through especially with baggage.
3) Room maids were gathered outside our door upon our arrival. They were complaining openly (and loudly) about their job and job conditions. This continued for at least two hours. They watched as our key was not working upon arrival, but made no effort to help.
4) The room itself appeared clean but it had a very bad odor.
5) The heat worked but was difficult to control.
6) The desk clerk gave us no information about parking, or what doors would be best to enter.
7) BEWARE!!

Room Tip: BEWARE!!! Lots of places in that area to chose from!!! We stay at only IHG properties and this is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wolverinechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

I am sorry you didn't have an enjoyable stay your review helps us to improve.
If you are ever in our area again I hope you give us another chance to show
you how your reviews has a positive impact on our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The skinny GM was rude to us and the family in front of us.The GM mica last time we stayed was very nice but the new one was very rude.But very clean place and close to the high way and other towns.The pool was nice but a little cool for me to swim.e

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrywoods01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review it is the guests feed back that helps us to improve .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was our last stay on a 11 day trip from NY to AZ to CO to see family and we have found that Holiday Inn Express has been a very clean hotel with easy access to highways and food at a reasonable price. The HI in Sunbury, OH did not disappoint us. The room was very nice and clean. We noticed that this was the first one that didn't have a frig. If you need one you may want to check that out. We were very happy with the facility and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Nice quiet stay. Friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your review I am glad you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Stayed here for three nights with no problems. It is close to the highway and we were on the highway side of the hotel but I did not notice any highway noise in the room. The room was clean and quiet.

There is a Starbucks just across the driveway where I walked to get some coffee every morning. The continental breakfast was the standard Holiday Inn Express fare with plenty of everything set out and refilled as soon as needed.

We have family in the area and will stay at this hotel again for future visits.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We needed a place to stay for the "Little Brown Jug" harness race, and decided on this hotel. It is only a 10 minute drive to the Delaware Fairgrounds. I have always been happy staying at a Holiday Inn Express. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a smile. Our room was clean and perfect. We had an end room on the 3rd floor. Breakfast was good, with many choices. Everything was clean and was well stocked. Right out the door are a few fast food restaurants, a gas station, and a Starbucks. We wil stay here again next year, when we return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JerseyHorseLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mica B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! We can't wait to see you again next year!

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunbury
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbus/Delaware
8.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Polaris, OH
7.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Delaware
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Columbus Polaris
9 mi away
Nationwide Hotel and Conference Center
8.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites - Columbus Polaris
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area

Address: 7301 E State Route 37, Sunbury, OH 43074-9210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Sunbury
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunbury
Price Range: £80 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area features interior corridors, wireless high speed Internet, indoor heated pool, a fitness and business center. Bus & RV parking is available. We are conveniently located in a rapidly growing community 10 miles North of Columbus and I-270, 'Home of the Buckeyes' and minutes away from Polaris Fashion Mall. For all the Little Brown Jug race fans, we are only 8 miles east of Historic Delaware. Attractions in the area: Delaware County Fairground 9 miles, Alum Creek State Park 1 mile, Ohio Wesleyan University 8 mi, Eden Horse Park 4 mi, Sunbury Village Square 3.5 miles, Columbus International Airport 30 miles. Northstar Golf Club, with a 72 par is a top notch course located just 2 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area
Holiday Inn Sunbury
Sunbury Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Sunbury-Columbus Area Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing