We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I've ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Certificate of Excellence
Akron, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I've ever stayed in.”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We booked a room for our wedding 3 months in advance. The day before our wedding, we went in and paid for the room and put our things in the jacuzzi suit. A couple hours later we came back and the people at the front desk informed us that they overbooked the suit and had taken our things out of the room. I could not believe it. Not only had we already paid $400 for this suit for the weekend, but the staff touched our things and put them in their breakroom until we came back.

They offered us a free room at the hotel next door and of course we said we'd take it, but the moment that the words were spoken the girl picked up a phone that never rang and told us the room at the other hotel wasn't available.

Then they said they would give us a regular room for $200 for the weekend, but I wasn't having it. After a while they offered us a free upgrade suit, but said it was dirty and we would have to wait. At this point I'm so upset I'm trying not to cry. I'm getting married in 24 hours and I don't even know where in this hotel my things are.

We finally get up to the room and it was disgusting. There was stuff all over the floor, the lights didn't work, the shower curtain had huge holes in it.

We tried to call corporate about everything that had happened and they just said there was nothing they could do.

We got a call from the desk a little while later. The staff bought us a little wedding gift bag from the Meijer across the street. We were thankful for it and thanked all of them but the manager was so ungodly rude to us and all but threw the bag at us. I will never use Hampton again. I've gotten better service at shady motels. Not worth the money and everyone was rude. Never again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynniey727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    127
    58
    18
    11
See reviews for
165
79
25
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Monroe, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Great welcome by staff after a long day of travel, just like you are coming to your own home after a long day of work and bring greeted by your family. Very accommodating to my needs before I even made any requests, very refreshing!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Glenn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
algonac
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

After my car over heated from a traffic jam on I-75 with my two boys, I was more than surprised to arrive at the hotel and see a sign on the door greeting our baseball team, a special letter in the room, and how huge the room was! I was even more please to see the separate bedroom, king size bed, and large bathroom. I was able to take a well needed shower, get a good night sleep, and enjoy my day watching my kid play baseball at his tournament. Believe me, I stay at many hotels and Hampton is one of the BEST! For a mom who sits in bleachers, uses out houses, and prepares for either scorching hot or freezing cold games, staying at a reputable hotel is what makes it worthy, especially when the whole team relaxes in the lobby while the kids enjoy the pool! We all had a fantastic time and we will always have great memories to cherish! Thank you Hampton and staff for making our stay so wonderful!!! My Kids' Mom

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank hindyAlgonac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed at so many Hamptons on this trip, it feels like home when we see that blue sign! Of all of them, this is one of th best. It's not a brand new building, but has been updated and maintained so well that it looks like it. When we arrived a little early today...on a Sunday, after a busy weekend for these folks, there was a large crew of ladies diligently cleaning the rooms. They cheerfully greeted us and made us feel welcome right away. The only downside is that it is located on what we perceive to be the northern outskirts of town, but it is convenient to the raceway and was en route to our next stop. Definitely a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jred922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This review is not the result of a positive experience. The facility is run down and although in the midst of a renovation there is no excuse for the thread bare carpet, noisy rooms, bad AC, unappealing breakfast and bad coffee. The location is no better than a truck stop in a bad section of Toledo. I did not feel secure parking our car for the night. Our bed was not unlike sleeping on a box spring with a sheet, just completely inadequate. And finally just not worth the $129 plus tax. Look elsewhere especially if you are travelling on 80.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xjfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were traveling east on I-80, decided to drive two more hours before stopping for the night. A phone call changed the reservation from South Bend to Toledo with the same room type. Changing the destination address in our Garmin GPS made it easy to get there. The staff recommended a great family restaurant nearby. Thanks Hampton!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lowell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willoughby, OH
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

While my husband stayed with the car, I was struggling with a full luggage cart. Hotel maintenance guy Bobby was coming off his shift, but held open the outside door and then helped me with the luggage all the way up to my room. What a guy!

Right away I noticed that the hotel suite was uncomfortably warm. While the bedroom A/C responded immediately, the sitting room unit wouldn't budge, and was showing 81 degrees! I called the front desk to ask for help with the A/C and let them know there was no ashtray in our smoking room. The ladies from the front desk took turns trying to get the unit to work, so in between trying to unload luggage, I was talking to them on the phone, answering the door, and sweating like crazy. Finally they called Bobby to come back to the hotel from home, but in the meantime one of the front desk ladies discovered that someone (housekeeping?) had messed with the A/C plug-in at the floor level behind the drape. So finally the room was beginning to cool down, and they gave us a saucer for my husband to use as an ashtray.

Overall it was a good stay.

BEST FEATURES:
- The suite is really worth the extra money if you are staying for several days. We enjoyed having the full size refrigerator (it was easy to stow a full gallon of milk, and we were able to re-freeze our cold packs for the return home), and the spacious sitting area.
- 2 luggage racks provided, so it was easy for each of us to have a suitcase accessible
- Nice range of choices for breakfast, some change in hot items every morning during the 7 days we stayed. Whole fresh fruit (apple, banana, orange) and sliced fresh fruit (changes daily).
- complimentary chocolate chip cookies in the late afternoon; coffee always available
- comfy bed; sink outside the toilet enclosure, toiletries replenished
- when there is a problem, staff is quick to say "I apologize" and try to make it right; after the incident with the towels, staff gave us extra goody bags as a way of saying "sorry for the inconvenience"

WEAK POINTS:
- Be advised that if you have more than 2 people, there are only 2 chairs provided at the kitchen counter seating.
- Décor is practical, not pretty. In the sitting area, one wall is almost empty with just the TV + TV stand, all the other furniture is clustered on the opposite wall. Colors are muted, but the multitude of prints in the curtains, sofa, easy chair, and carpet is too much for my taste. There's no end table between the sofa & easy chair, so no place to set down a beverage. The upholstery & carpeting was dirty and stained, lots of burn marks.
- no towel bar by sink, so the towel that is slightly damp always feels cold & clammy from sitting on the granite counter
- additional service problems with housekeeping: one day the towels we left on the floor or over the tub to be replaced were re-hung on the hook so we could re-use them. This confused us, so we called to questions why. The housekeeping supervisor informed us there were other guest complaints about this! On Sunday when the hotel has a high workload, they don't coordinate with the front desk to identify and prioritize the stayover rooms and the type of check-in rooms needed. We tried to be patient when we returned at 3pm and our room hadn't been cleaned yet, but at 4pm finally asked when could we expect to have our room ready.
- All of our room keys quit working part way through our stay, and my husband had to go back down to the front desk to have them re-made. This is a pain in the @$% when you return to the hotel tired and have your arms full with tote bag, cooler, coffee, etc.!

Room Tip: Third floor corridor is uncomfortably warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Toledo/Westgate
9.3 mi away
Radisson at The University of Toledo
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Toledo North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Toledo West
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Toledo North
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Toledo North
Courtyard Toledo North
#8 of 17 in Toledo
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North

Property: Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North
Address: 5865 Hagman Rd, Toledo, OH 43612-3877
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Toledo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Toledo-North Hotel Toledo
Hampton Inn Toledo
Toledo Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn And Suites Toledo-North Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing