We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor Hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed for four days and had no A/C the entire time. The engineers were very nice and tried to fix it, but it did not work so they brought us a fan. It was still very stuffy and hot even with the fan. The toilet barely flushed, fan in the bathroom did not work, and you were lucky if you had a working light bulb.

Also, made a reservation for an end room with more space and when we checked in we did not get the room we supposedly reserved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    55
    71
    56
    57
See reviews for
62
53
12
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Grand Plaza last night. The city of Toledo had contaminated water (which we understand is not the hotel's fault) and the water could not be used for drinking/brushing teeth, etc. When we asked about the hotel's provision for water, we were told that we could purchase bottled water in the hotel shop. Are you kidding me? As paying guests, we expect water to make coffee and brush our teeth to come with the room. The room itself needed a thorough cleaning. There was a layer of dust on the bathroom light fixture, baseboards, etc. The lighting is so poor that there is not a mirror in the entire room with enough light available to apply makeup. The final straw was that we tried to connect to wi-fi and could not. We called the desk and they said, "Oh yeah, we're working on that." The wi-fi did not work during our entire stay. There was no apology and no attempt in any way to make our stay a pleasant one. I felt like we were considered an inconvenience rather than a valued customer. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lea629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Where to begin.
Found out upon arrival that they offer only valet parking. And no parking on site. Was advised by the very unfriendly receptionist that the parking could be seen from the lobby, then offered no directions. Needless to say you can't see the parking garage from the lobby window, you have to either go outside or up two floors.
There was no working wifi. Which was needed for business purposes. Had to hotspot my phone instead.
Rooms were clean "enough". The bottom of the bathtub looked grimy. That could be because there is no lighting in the bathroom though. Just very dim, could make anything look unclean.
Toilets barely flush.
Also, be sure to plan to drive far if you're looking for food. The restaurant on site is disgusting and hardly open. Only one place delivers and it wasn't very good. Unless you want a chain pizza place, which I didn't.
The area of the hotel is in a rundown looking neighborhood, so venturing on foot for food wasn't an option.
Next major issue....NO WATER.
The city of Toledo issued a water ban due to an algae bloom. That's understandable, but what isn't is having the hotel charge $2 for a mere bottle of water so that it's visitors could at least brush their teeth. That is appalling customer service.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristin_L8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia G, General Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest;

I am very sorry for the troubles that you have experienced on your recent visit to Toledo.
As you know, we could not have predicted the water issues in the entire city, and several surrounding cities.
There is a sever water shortage in the city due to the high demand. We were able to obtain bulk water so that The restaurant and kitchens could continue to operate. The $2 price for water in the gift shop is our regular price.
It was not increased due to the emergency.

I am sorry if our receptionist was anything short of extremely helpful. I will definitely be using your comments to help Instruct her on customer service. As for the parking garage, you can see it from the lobby, it is diagonally across the street From the hotel, 5 stories tall. We offer Valet service as a convenience, but our guests are always welcome to use the self Parking options in the garage. We are connected to the garage through an underground concourse, so you do not have To cross the busy intersection on the road level. Also, you wrote you were afraid of walking downtown. We do have a free Shuttle that will take you to any food establishment in the downtown area and pick you up.

It is through concerned guest comments such as yours that we continue to grow and improve.
Thank you for taking your time to make us aware of your stay.

Rick Dinan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I've stayed at the Grand Plaza several times and it is always a treat. I phoned ahead for availability and to see if they would give a better rate than hotels.com which they did because hotels.com doesn't deal with senior discounts. They also had a glass of wine waiting because I was not going to make it before food service closed. Breakfast overlooking the Maumee River was lovely and the staff were willing to customize my omelet. Valet parking across the street means you can't run to your car easily but all staff were very gracious.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatyK445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia G, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest;

thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your pleasant experience. We are proud of improvements that we are making within our hotel and it is appreciated to receive feedback that encourages us to continue improving our service and amenities.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Toledo.

With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornhill
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Hotel website didn't show all the rooms available so had to make four phone calls through voice boxes before speaking to a live person to make reservation. Rooms are not kept as clean as they should be. Housekeeping didn't daily restock coffee, Kleenex or toilet tissue as needed unless personally spoken to. And we were here for five days. Wake up calls arranged for never happened. Valet parking is utterly chaotic. Phone down in advance took 45 minutes minimum to get vehicle. Best to come down in person. Valet parking drivers would regularly change our radio and temperature settings when parking vehicle. On a very positive note, Tracy (Executive Assistant) and Stacy (Manager) were outstanding at listening to requests and ensuring they occurred. Brandon (manager) tried very hard also but both his verbal and written requests to staff were TOTALLY IGNORED. For the most part staff here treated guests as an inconvenience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia G, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Valued Guest;

It is our pleasure to have you stay with us and it is through your feedback that we can improve our service levels and correct areas that are below our standards.

Please rest assured that comments are being shared with the entire hotel Leadership Team and being used for coaching and development presently.

Thank you for your compliments for, again these positive notes will be shared and used to mentor our our Guest Service Associates.

With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
300 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Although they made some effort to help make things run smoothly this is simply not a venue for a training programme. Lighting was dim in all the conference rooms with no natural day light and the walls were carpeted giving us endless challenges to find a way of attaching flip charts to the walls. Yes an engineer did come on the second day to add some additional ceiling lighting but it was still a gloom place to work.
After the first evening course participants refused to eat dinner at the hotel - the food was poor and there was so little staff - despite us giving numbers and times of eating in advance- that one group waited 40 mins for their order to be taken.

On the plus side the shuttle service offered was very responsive and good - so people were able to get out to local brew restaurants with some good choices within only a 5 -10 minute drive.

But overall would not recommend for a conference or training programme venue.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerFarnhamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia G, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Training and Convention Guest;

We are very pleased to have had you and your group stay with us. We are pleased that you did bring some things to our attention, in order for us to improve and please you and group while you are here; these opportunities are very valuable to us in order to offer the best guest experience and to have strong business partners.

If you did not find that you and your attendees were completely satisfied with the service level, and hotel experience, we encourage you to reach out to us and allow us the opportunity to make it right.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our shuttle service and thank you for sharing this positive experience. We look forward to welcoming you back at your convenience.

With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was very disappointed by my stay at the a Grand Plaza. The first room I was checked into was not cleaned yet from the previous guest. The second room the towels provided had stains on them and there was mildew in the bathtub. The bathroom was extremely small for a high class hotel. The parking for the guests was either valet or in a random parking garage across the street, which staying on a Sunday night was abandoned and I was unsure how safe it was to leave my car there.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyns79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia G, Manager at Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback.

We trust you enjoyed many of the services that we offer, such as the abundant breakfast buffet; on-site fitness center and indoor pool window surrounded with wonderful Maumee River views. Also, if you were in town long enough, took a stroll down the river to our vast selection of delectable restaurants and various entertainment venues in the up and coming Warehouse District.

Please do stay with us again while visiting Toledo, and continue to see special rate offers on our website and facebook.

With regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toledo
0.3 mi away
Park Inn Toledo
Park Inn Toledo
#7 of 17 in Toledo
793 reviews
5.2 mi away
Radisson at The University of Toledo
5.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Toledo/Westgate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Toledo West
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Toledo / Oregon
4.7 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Toledo North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center

Property: Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center
Address: 444 N Summit Street, Toledo, OH 43604 (Formerly Grand Plaza Hotel Downtown Toledo)
Region: United States > Ohio > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Plaza Hotel features 241 tastefully appointed guest rooms. The hotel is situated along the scenic Maumee River in Downtown Toledo, and located near the University of Toledo, Bowling Green State University and Toledo Express Airport (TOL). While visiting Toledo Ohio, hotel guests can enjoy visiting famous sites such as the The Toledo Zoo or the Toledo Museum of Art. Attractions within walking distance include Toledo Mud Hens at Fifth Third Field and performances at the Valentine Theatre. Business-oriented travelers appreciate this Toledo Hotel's location near businesses such as Owens-Corning, HCR ManorCare, S.S.O.E. and Libbey Inc. The Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel offers over 16,000 sq. ft. of meeting space, complete with audio-visual equipment, and free high-speed Internet connectivity. Grand Plaza Hotel is a beautiful facility enhancing your stay with an indoor heated pool, a well-equipped fitness center, a 24-hour business center and complimentary shuttle service within two miles of the hotel and a full-service restaurant, Del Sol and the Aqua Bar. Best Western Premier Grand Plaza Hotel Toledo provides a perfect setting for successful business meetings, memorable social gatherings, and exquisite wedding receptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Toledo
Grand Plaza Hotel & Convention Center Toledo, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing