We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish I had stayed here on my first trip to Toledo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson at The University of Toledo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Radisson at The University of Toledo
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“I wish I had stayed here on my first trip to Toledo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

In stark contrast to the hotel where I stayed on my previous trip, this hotel is one that I would not hesitate recommend to others. The neighborhood seemed pleasant and relatively safe. Parking right in front of the hotel was free. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The lobby was bright and welcoming. There was a large indoor pool, fitness room and restaurant. The rooms were nicely decorated, and the beds were very comfortable. Our bathroom was also nice and seemed to be a pretty average size for a hotel bathroom. I noticed that some other reviewers had small bathrooms. We were in a room with 2 beds if that makes any difference.

We did not try the breakfast at the restaurant, but the lunch buffet was very good. (Breakfast is included in some packages.)

The hotel is located on the University of Toledo Medical Center campus. I believe the hotel has a shuttle to the medical center if you need it. There is also a tunnel to the hospital.

The hotel is near stores and restaurants like Wal-Mart, Kroger, Ruby Tuesday's, etc. The large Swan Creek Preserve is just up the road. It is about a ten minute drive from the zoo and the art museum. (I've been to the art museum and would highly recommend it!) Downtown is a little over ten minutes away as well. The site of one the most important battles of the Revolutionary War, the Battle of Fallen Timbers, is about 15 minutes northwest of the hotel. (I'm not sure if there is anything to see at the site because we weren't able to stop this trip.) About 20 minutes west along the beautiful Maumee River near the small town of Grand Rapids is a little village owned by the park service with a mill, canal boat, general store, etc. that seems to be open seasonally.

A few things to be aware of...

Even though the hotel address is Glendale Ave, you can't really see it from that street. There is a side street off of Glendale that takes you behind the shopping area. If you're headed west on Glendale, just before you get to the shopping area with Wendy‘s, Pizza Hut, etc., turn right onto Muot Blvd. Then turn left onto West Campus which curves north again where you will see the parking lot for the hotel. (If you somehow miss Muot since the sign is small, just past the shopping area is Byrne Road. You can turn right on that, then right on Arlington, and then right on West Campus which will get you to the hotel parking lot the other way.) I know others have said that they thought it was hard to find, so I hope that saves some hunting for you!

I vaguely remembered another TA member mentioning this which helped me. The water in the shower is counter-intuitive. It gets hot when you move the handle the way you would think you would move it to make it cold. Establish the temperature before you get in!

The anti-slip treatment that is at the bottom of the tub is okay to stand on, but is very sharp if you sit on it. If you must take a bath, I suggest putting a towel down inside the tub!

If anyone figures out the secret to getting the temperature to stay at what you choose for the room, please post it! We'd set the temperature, and it would seem fine and then it would change, blowing hot or cold at odd intervals. Maybe we were just too sleepy to figure it out!

I brought back leftovers from dinner just assuming that we had a fridge, but there wasn’t one.

Despite the quirks, I would be glad to stay here again. The staff was very helpful, the hotel was inviting and the beds were extremely comfortable. This made for a pleasant stay on a cold winter's night!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    186
    74
    36
    37
See reviews for
201
64
32
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
houston
Level Contributor
129 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Hotel is well located. Rooms are spactious and clean. Staff is very accomodating. Lounge has Shiner Bock on tap! Very pleasant surprise for this Texas traveler. Drawbacks - old non HD televisions, small bathrooms with no exhaust fan, creaky elevators. Friendly and accomodating staff more than made up for any defficiencies. Restaurant was good for breakfast - did not try it for lunch or dinner.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

I have stayed at this Hilton on several occasions. An on-site restaurant provides the best of meals. Staff is very friendly. The rooms are clean with slight aging beginning to show. The only real negative is the size of the bathrooms which are quite small otherwise it is a great selection for a quite safe stay when traveling.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank benfen6293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

Avoid the 3100 Restaurant's breakfast buffet: bacon was over cooked and the scrambled eggs were broken down to the size of BB pellets. Rooms are OK. Pool is of nice size but is unheated - you'd think that a Hilton would heat their pool! When we checked in we were first asked if we could wait 30 minutes for rooms to be cleaned - had 3 year old in tow so said no. They accommodated us then by going up to find a cleaned room - but that should have been the first response. Overall it wasn't bad, but I've had better stays and meals at other Hiltons.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagicWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2010

This hotel has not been the best although they try. The first few times I stayed they overcharged my credit card. They made up for it with an upgrade and free dinner. That was nice. Since then the rooms have not been clean and items in the room don't work. I reported it and not only did they not fix it during my stay, but the follwoing stay I was put in the same room and it was still broken!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lem777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
689 reviews
316 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

A very average hotel. Soft mattress. Rooms are clean, front desk staff helpful. In a hard to find location.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

When it comes to hotels in Toledo, your choices are extremely limited. This hotel is 5 1/2 miles to downtown. Easy to get downtown just make a left on Glendale continue to Anthony Wayne go left again. You'll be downtown in no time. The front desk staff was friendly. Housekeeping & maintenance folks were also friendly. Room was clean. Bathroom is small but adequate. A handful of mediocre restuarants nearby Applebees, Bob Evans,Tim Hortons, Panera Jimmy Johns etc. Walmart is handy as well.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank celestial911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Toledo hotels
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Toledo/Westgate
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Toledo West
4.8 mi away
Park Inn Toledo
Park Inn Toledo
#9 of 17 in Toledo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Toledo-North
9.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Toledo North
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Toledo North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson at The University of Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson at The University of Toledo

Property: Radisson at The University of Toledo
Address: 3100 Glendale Avenue, Toledo, OH 43614 (Formerly Hilton Toledo)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Toledo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Toledo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson at The University of Toledo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Suburban Hotel located at The University of Toledo Medical Center/Health Science Campus. Hotel amenities include complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, a fitness center, direct access to The Morse Wellness Center, an indoor pool and whirlpool, a 24-hour business center, and 14,000 square feet of flexible meeting and event space. The hotel offers a variety of room types from king guestrooms, to junior and presidential suites. Onsite dining at 31Hundred offers modern American cuisine, created with fresh regional ingredients, serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. The hotel is conveniently located in the center of Toledo’s metropolitan area and 11 miles from Toledo Express Airport. Nearby is the Seagate Convention Center, Toledo Zoo, Fifth Third Field – Mud Hens Stadium, Owens Community College, Toledo Botanical Gardens and Levis Commons Town Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson at The University of Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Toledo Hotel Toledo
Hilton Hotel Toledo
Toledo Hilton Hotel
Radisson At The University Of Toledo Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing