We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great host and superb food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at this lovely hotel in the Dorset countryside. A good experience from start to finish. A very warm welcome and made to feel special throughout, the staff couldn't do enough, and John, the owner/manager was extremely helpful. Some great suggestions about good walks and places to visit certainly helped to make our days worthwhile. The hotel has a fantastic collection of information on a variety of places to visit during your stay.
The food was excellent and we have no hesitation in recommending this as a super hotel or, if you just want somewhere special to eat, the restaurant is worth a visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank englishgirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a 3 night break at this lovely hotel. A warm friendly welcome by Jon on arrival set the tone for the whole stay with all staff genuinely appearing to want all guests to feel well looked after. Comfortable very quiet room, log fire and newspapers in the lounge and excellent food made for a very relaxing stay. Small but thoughtful touches such as quality tea and coffee in the room, current magazines, a de-icer and scraper by the door to borrow on cold, frosty mornings and an excellent selection of local information in the Reception area. Although hidden away, the hotel is walking distance to the lovely old town of Sherborne although the bridleway route was muddy (walking boots a must).
The hotel is situated in a beautiful area to explore further by car.
Very much hope to return before too long.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We found this hotel by chance and are glad that we did. It is off the beaten track but well worth the extra effort. The food is always of a high standard and the dining room a pleasant place to eat. The bedrooms vary in size and always book one overlooking the garden. We have been back twice and will return soon.

Room Tip: Ground floor at the rear with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 435brian_c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We wanted to celebrate our wedding aniversary with friends, and chose the Grange because it was exactly midway between us, but we would return on its merits as it was such a lovely weekend. The welcome was warm; and we spent the afternoon in front of a roaring log fire just chatting, before going up to change for dinner.

This was delicious, with an unexpected bonus in a complimentary taster starter of a delicious soup. The service could not be faulted and the food was delicious (one of our party said he wished he could have a second steak for sweet as he had enjoyed the first so much!) Our evening was again finished off in the comfortable lounge, before a good night's sleep, so quiet and warm (apart from a rather vocal pheasant outside our window, but then it is in the middle of the country!)

Breakfast was again plentiful with plenty of choice, and overall we would find it hard to fault this lovely hotel. We had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: There is no lift, but the hotel has several ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosetree304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a fabulous stay at the grange and were very impressed by all the staff at the hotel. They are friendly, professional and very helpful. The room we stayed in was very clean and the bed was superb, the best nights sleep we have had at a hotel in the UK. The resturant food is out of this world and we highly recommend the lamb duo. The wine list is also superb. I would give this hotel 10 out of 10 and look forward to visiting again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank V C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I was fortunate to stay at "The Grange at Oborne in late October 2013. I had stayed there over 20 years ago, and although the hotel has changed hands, expanded, and now sits under the Best Western banner, it is still a great place to stay.

The staff are fantastic, very welcoming, relaxed and very helpful. I found my room clean, and the furniture extremely comfortable. The hotel serves a great breakfast, in a beautiful conservatory overlooking the hotels well kept gardens. Our room was directly over the front entrance and the thick walls of the buildings and rural location ensure a quiet room and uninterrupted sleep. I am amazed that this hotel only carries a 3 star rating, as in my experience both it and the friendly staff certainly out perform many 4 star hotels.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank photoscout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights B and B with dinner on the first night and we were pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome and lovely food.
The staff are relaxed and friendly and Jon was always there to help.
The rooms were comfortable and although our bedroom was near the entrance we were not prevented from having a good night's sleep.
An excellent place for a relaxing and peaceful getaway and an ideal location to explore the beautiful countryside of Dorset.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank painterMarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oborne
1.4 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
697 reviews
10.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
944 reviews
1.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
150 reviews
19.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
877 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Chetnole Inn
The Chetnole Inn
#1 of 2 in Chetnole
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel

Address: Oborne, Sherborne DT9 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Oborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Price Range: £62 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange at Oborne is a luxury country house hotel with eighteen bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant overlooking the floodlit gardens. Our quiet rural setting at the edge of the village is the reason why many of our guests return year after year to enjoy the peace and tranquillity that the hotel has to offer. It is a place to unwind, relax and regenerate. Family-owned and run, The Grange prides itself on its friendly staff. The Grange won Dorset Tourism's 'Best Small Hotel' in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange At Oborne Hotel Sherborne
Grange At Oborne Sherborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing