We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belated Mother's Day gift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our daughter decided to take her mum and dad away for a relaxing belated Mother's Day and Father's Day present and boy oh boy did she succeed.
T
We had attic rooms 14 and 15, both being very spacious with high ceilings and large en suite shower rooms. Both were furnished very elegantly and tastefully complete with complimentary tea, coffee, and chocolate trays.

There was a party underway on the Saturday evening. This was in a separate room and caused us no inconvenience whatsoever. In fact we never heard them despite the fact that we were in the dining room next door, enjoying SUPERB meals.

I liked the little extras that this small hotel provided. They were very thoughtful, eg complimentary loan umbrellas, ice scrapers and de icers, plus they had an extensive library which included guides on the area including suggested tours.

The weekend created a memory which my wife and I will treasure and I would thoroughly recommend a visit especially if or that special occasion.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank GrandadTelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (562)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 562 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel is in a very rural area, nothing near by, but a short walk (about 1.75 miles) to Sherbourne, which is nice.

Stayed here for our Wedding Anniversary, check in was smooth with a lovely lady who also lives there, she was very helpful. (sorry don't know your name)

We were showed to our LOVELY room with Balcony which looked over the beautiful garden and surrounding properties. (room 3). It was really nice and very clean too. Had such lovely weather that we managed to sit on the balcony before our walk into town and enjoy the sun.

That evening, we had booked on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis, we had a lovely 3 course meal in the restaurant. Food was really very good. The staff are very attentive.

When we went back to our room after our meal, loved the fact that they had slipped a little card under the door, with a little message saying have a good nights sleep and the next days weather forecast, I loved that!! What a great touch! My only one criticism with regard to my sleep was that the pillow was so hard it gave me stiff neck and earache, but I know for next time to ask for a pillow change, so not their fault!

Breakfast again, amazing! Such a great varied choice and all freshly cooked.

We really enjoyed our stay here, would definitely recommend and return! Thank you to all...

Room Tip: Definitely Room 3 for us, excellent views plus the balcony too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beeniecrew-182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This Hotel is tucked away in a beautiful part of Dorset, very peaceful and relaxing. My room was lovely, spacious with a fantastic view of the garden from the large glass window. Welcome book with quirky little touches in it. Dinner was delicious, really didn't know what to chose off the menu as it all read so well. Breakfast also couldn't be faulted, freshly cooked and also an amazing array of fruit, cereal, nuts etc. Before I left I had a card under the door to prepare me for the days weather !! Staff were lovely. Loved it

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Georgie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

It was our 2nd stay at the Grange. Staff, room and food still as good as ever. Can't fault it at all. Staff very helpful, extensive breakfast choice, idyllic setting. Just love it and can't wait for the 3rd
visit!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We met up here for a late 'Christmas' get together. The staff were all very friendly, the service was excellent, our first floor room was very comfortable if a little warm (however that was easily remedied by turning down the rad thermostat) and had a nicely appointed traditional bathroom. Some of the others in our party had the modern wet rooms. We also had a member with mobility issues and the disabled access/facilities were very good. The evening meal choices were varied and the food very well presented and the breakfast menu was also good.
Would definitely recommend and would like to return.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Devonlady149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrangeatOborne, Manager at Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Elaine,

Thank you for your kind words, I am very happy that you and your family enjoyed your evening at The Grange.

Merry Christmas!

Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A group of 14 of us have just spent a very enjoyable 36 hours here. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, the food was excellent and the service was faultless. All members of staff were cheerful, friendly and attentive. The hotel had a real homely feel about it. Would definitely like to make a return visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrangeatOborne, Manager at Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Geoff,

Thanks you so much for the lovely review, I am glad that you all enjoyed your weekend with us and that some of you had the good weather to go walking.

Jon
(I like your profile picture by the way!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We visited for the Shaftsbury Snowdrop Festival and had stayed before. The hotel is friendly and welcoming. The room we had on the ground floor was large and spacious. The staff are all friendly and helpful and the location is just outside Sherborne but with a rural feel. The owners pay great attention to all the small details that make a stay worthwhile and the food from breakfast to dinner is consistently excellent.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_a_collier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGrangeatOborne, Manager at Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Mr. Collier,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I had not heard of the Shaftesbury Snowdrop festival before, but Googled it after reading your review; thanks for the tip!

We look forward to welcoming you back in another occasion.

Kind regards,

Jon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oborne
1.4 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
708 reviews
10 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
958 reviews
1.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Travelodge Wincanton
Travelodge Wincanton
#1 of 1 in Wincanton
290 reviews
13.7 mi away
Best Western Shaftesbury The Royal Chase Hotel
10.3 mi away
George Albert Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel

Address: Oborne, Sherborne DT9 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Oborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Price Range: £56 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange at Oborne is a luxury country house hotel with eighteen bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant overlooking the floodlit gardens. Our quiet rural setting at the edge of the village is the reason why many of our guests return year after year to enjoy the peace and tranquillity that the hotel has to offer. It is a place to unwind, relax and regenerate. Family-owned and run, The Grange prides itself on its friendly staff. The Grange won Dorset Tourism's 'Best Small Hotel' in 2017. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange At Oborne Hotel Sherborne
Grange At Oborne Sherborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing