We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Setting for that Special Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Certificate of Excellence
Rothrist
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Setting for that Special Celebration”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We held a special family party at the Grange in May involving many room bookings ,differing arrivals and departures and all sorts of special requests. From our first Email enquiry to our last "cheerio" , ( a few months in all ) we received prompt ,friendly and most helpful attention .
The rooms were lovely for everyone and so spacious and beautifully furnished , more than home from home.
We were lucky with the weather and so could enjoy the beautiful gardens for the tea party and photos, moving inside later to enjoy a delicious meal together . Jonathan and his team made us feel that our party was theirs too . Nothing was too much trouble and we all had a wonderful time.
Thank you to everyone at the Grange and we recommend that if you too are planning a celebration of any sort have a look at The Grange .

Room Tip: The Standard Rooms are most comfortable and spacious and the Superior are wonderfully extra elegant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    93
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
95
253
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Etten-Leur, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 May 2014

The Grange is a beautiful hotel with an extremely friendly staff. Every member of staff, none excepted, did their very bests to make our stay a real joy.
The room (nr. 3) was great with a large balcony (including an abundance of wisteria) overlooking a beautiful garden.
The location is great and several attractions are within an easy day trip's distance.
The restaurant was truly amazing, the food was excellent, staff very pleasant and taking their time for a friendly chat. (Only minor point of criticism might be that the variable part of the menu might change a bit more often.)

Room Tip: Try for one of the balcony rooms (number 3 or 4).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The Grange in Oborne is a lovely hotel, offering a first class stay. The room was generous and comfortable and the restaurant offered lovely breakfast and a first class dinner service.

Jonathan was a first class host, offering everyone the same personal touch, even when things got busy with a wedding on Saturday evening.

If I had a few minor criticisms, these are as follows:

The bed was very firm, possibly a little too firm. A slightly softer mattress would make things perfect.

Breakfast finishes at 09:30, even on Sunday. A slightly later breakfast service would have been appreciated :)

But these are very minor tweaks and no more.

Fabulous hote, great location and first class service. Well done all :)

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room, if you can afford it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookstown, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We had a blissful weekend here attending a wedding,accommodation,staff and food were excellent and we will definitely revisit we were greeted by friendly staff who went out of their way to explain the route to the church and the wedding reception was managed in a highly professional manner

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 222wink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is a lovely hotel, set just outside Sherborne. (Approx 2miles).
The setting is lovely, nice area and great hotel.
Check-in was easy, the room was very nice, including complimentary water, good sized room and good décor.
The lounge area for having a drink is fine, dinner is excellent, as is breakfast, plenty of choice and food, including continental and cooked.
The team working at the hotel are also very good, nothing was too much trouble and everyone was very friendly and helpful.
There was a minor error at check-out, but this was sorted quickly and was no issue.
Would highly recommend, and would be keen to return for a short break when not working!
Should be a Best Western Plus!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marct0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Recently enjoyed 2 nights at The Grange at Oborne on a belated birthday trip which had been postponed due to the ill health of my late husband. The staff were exceptionally kind and accommodating in rebooking myself and my sister 7 months later. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about the hotel - location, room with comfy twin beds and a powerful shower in wet room, large screen t.v. the food in the restaurant was exceptional, very beautifully presented and served by friendly staff. We were given printed maps with walks in the local area - Sherborne being a whole day tour which was just perfect. We managed to dodge the showers and had great weather over 2 days. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting this gorgeous part of the country.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silvertraveller58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed for just one night. Arrived fairly late and was made very welcome. Room was spacious, bathroom had shower with removable shower head, rather than one that it fixed to the ceiling, so that was a real bonus. Nice décor. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good but not extraordinary, but again very friendly service. The hotel is situated in a very quiet area of Wiltshire and I would very much recommend this to couples, who want to explore the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Nadja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oborne
1.4 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
10.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
1.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel

Property: Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Address: Oborne, Sherborne DT9 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Oborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange at Oborne is a luxury country house hotel with eighteen bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant overlooking the floodlit gardens. Our quiet rural setting at the edge of the village is the reason why many of our guests return year after year to enjoy the peace and tranquillity that the hotel has to offer. It is a place to unwind, relax and regenerate. Family-owned and run, The Grange prides itself on its friendly staff. The Grange won Dorset Tourism's 'Best Small Hotel' in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange At Oborne Hotel Sherborne
Grange At Oborne Sherborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing