We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just wanted to say we have had a fab stay at The Grange.
We booked for two nights B & B and the Breakfast was very good with a good selection of cereals and fruit, very good cooked breakfast that sets you up for the day.
We decided to eat there on the first night and you should ready eat there one night at least as the food was brilliant and fresh, not cheap but I really do think you pay for what you get and I was very happy with it.
Staff were very friendly and helpful, for the cleaners to the management.
Would we stay again?
Answer to this is easy Yes :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luciferlandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed here overnight as part of a coach tour. The hotel is beautiful & quaint. The staff were extremely friendly & helpful. I am lactose intolerant & am usually restricted in the meals which are available on a set menu. However, I was told that I could choose whatever I wanted & the chef would adapt the dish to my needs, which he did fantastically. I had a smoked salmon salad starter followed by duck. I was given a generous portion of new potatoes instead of the mash which was meant to come with the dish. I was also offered a dessert which was not fruit salad! This made quite a change - I had sorbet with meringue on.
In the morning I was given a generous amount of soya milk so that I could not only enjoy a cup of tea but also some cereal.
Our room was comfortable. I was sharing with my mum & we had 1 double bed & a double sofa bed. On arrival we were given the option of changing to a twin room. We decided against this as we preferred the first room which we had which was set at the back of the hotel. However, it was good to be given the choice.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, so if you are considering staying there then please do. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sareeta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I stayed at the hotel for the weekend with my wife, daughter and son in law and their baby aged one. I cannot speak highly enough of the friendliest staff, nothing was too mauch trouble and their genuine warmth and welcome to Eric was the best we have any of us ever experienced, all completely natural and a real joy. The food is more than acceptable, some very good hake and lemon sole on Friday for supper followed by genuinely delicious ice cream (though asking for "streaky bacon" from the breakfast menu fell on completely deaf ears each morning!).
All in all we all agreed that we would not hesitate to return or to reccommend the Hotel to any who ask. Thank you , thank you.

Room Tip: We were in rooms 7 and 8 and each was absolutely fine, I think the shower in 8 is better than the on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Roland P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We were very impressed by this hotel--between Sherbourne & Milbourne Port in lovely country. Family owned & run it is exceptionally friendly with ever-helpful staff. Comfortable rooms, full English Breakfast included.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Keith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My husband & I stayed at the The Grange at Oborne, Dorset, for our wedding anniversary in May 2013. We liked this hotel very much so we took my sister to stay for 4 nights from Thursday 3rd to Monday 7th July 2014 for a long weekend. My husband and I had a superior double and my sister had a Deluxe Double. My husband and I had room 1, which was lovely and clean with a 6ft bed and a fabulous en-suite wet room. My sister had room 12, which is a fabulous room in every respect, patio door leading to the garden, a 6ft bed, and the en-suite facilities was a bath with shower over. She was absolutely delighted with this room.

Attractive and well maintained gardens were lovely and just the perfect place to sit in the afternoon with a cup of coffee/tea or even a glass of wine if you so choose. As on the previous occasion all the staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient. The food was excellent – our compliments to the chef. The appetisers served with our drinks prior to dinner were delightful and of good quality.

So this message is to let you know how much the 3 of us enjoyed our recent stay at The Grange.

I would recommend The Grange to family & friends if they were visiting that part of Dorset and wanted a quiet hotel.

Anne & Mick Gage

Room Tip: Rooms with balconies overlooking the garden or with a patio door leading to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank anne9999076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is beautifully located and is a very attractive building with a lovely garden. The welcome was exemplary and public areas looked delightful. For some reason that now escapes me we had reserved a ground floor room. Big mistake. The room, whilst large and well equipped, was dark with a small window and most of the room was below road level. The bed looked inviting but was uncomfortable. Dinner that evening was really very good and cannot be faulted. The same cannot be said for breakfast the next morning where the service was slipshod and food not well cooked. The bacon was so crisp that it stood to attention and when I ask for fried eggs I do not expect to be served a single egg. Toast was very slow arriving by which time the cooked breakfast was only lukewarm.

Room Tip: Do not choose a ground floor room. My sister was in a first floor room with French windows and a pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RichardD1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were delighted with the arrangements for our wedding party. The staff were really helpful and flexible; the food and service was excellent. We had a great time and so did all of our guests. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oborne
1.4 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
695 reviews
10.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
930 reviews
1.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
The Bull Hotel
The Bull Hotel
#1 of 10 in Bridport
848 reviews
21.6 mi away
Bath House Hotel
Bath House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Chard
345 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel

Address: Oborne, Sherborne DT9 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Oborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Price Range: £80 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange at Oborne is a luxury country house hotel with eighteen bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant overlooking the floodlit gardens. Our quiet rural setting at the edge of the village is the reason why many of our guests return year after year to enjoy the peace and tranquillity that the hotel has to offer. It is a place to unwind, relax and regenerate. Family-owned and run, The Grange prides itself on its friendly staff. The Grange won Dorset Tourism's 'Best Small Hotel' in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange At Oborne Hotel Sherborne
Grange At Oborne Sherborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing