We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible. Off the scale service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Incredible. Off the scale service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

Perfect service from a wonderful hotel. The wedding was nearly cancelled due to the snow but the wedding coordinator and staff pulled out all the stops to help everyone. And what a wedding it was!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Funkylemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    92
    24
    3
    0
See reviews for
92
251
9
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

Our stay at the for a perfect country get-away. The location is perfect for those wanting to visit the Dorset.
The hospitality extended by is by far some of the best I've experienced in California. Well versed in the community and all its activities, she has many helpful suggestions to those new to Napa Dorset. The stay was quite delightful and a pleasure for a short escape from the chaos of city life

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abskipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

What a find! Jon and Jenny run a fabulous hotel. I have travelled extensively at home and abroad and I have never stayed anywhere that was as friendly as The Grange at Oborne. We stayed in Room 4 with a supremely comfortable four poster bed and balcony overlooking the garden.

When I booked this hotel I spoke to Jeremy and commented on the glowing tributes from other contributors to this website - he had the honesty to say that some of the recent ones were less than perfect. All I can say is that every minor gripe anyone has ever made appears to have been dealt with e.g. there was a new flat screen TV in the room and fresh fruit at breakfast dealing with 2 adverse comments!!

The food in the restaurant was exquisite and plentiful and the wine list interesting and varied. The staff seem genuinely pleased to welcome you to their hotel and ensure that you have a good stay.

This is a rarity - a beautiful hotel, beautifully run, that doesn't take itself too seriously at the expense of the customer which makes for a supremely relaxing stay. If you want a real insight take a look at the articles at the rear of the room information folder - I laughed out loud and mentioned it to Jenny on our first evening. On checkout she had printed out copies for me to keep - what service!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cymru63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

The Grange at Oborne is situated in a quiet rural area a bit outside of Sherborne. Our room, a deluxe double, was very spacious with French doors that led to a large deck overlooking the well kept gardens. The room was well appointed with a very comfortable four post bed and a sofa and chairs – really quite a nice room. Getting to and from the room involved several fire doors and several elevation changes that detracted a bit from the otherwise very nice facility. The staff was competent and efficient and got things done with a minimum of fuss but without the personal touches that a B&B or smaller establishment might offer.

The gardens were beautiful and well maintained – as you would expect from a hotel that does lots of weddings. Looking out over the gardens from your room or from the dining room is a treat.

Breakfast was served in the large dining room that although attractive, seemed cold as there were lots of empty, unset tables. The unset tables felt strange and in an establishment at this level were out of place. The breakfast was plentiful if uninspired – standard fare served competently but without much enthusiasm.

There’s little to find wrong with the Grange but at $250 per night it’s expensive and, while we would recommend the Grange, we would also suggest that a little research could probably produce an equally good experience at less cost.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

We have just completed our fourth stay at the Grange. As before, everyone, without exception, was so friendly and helpful as to make us feel we were members of a happy family. Food is superb and the accommodation excellent. We cannot fault the hotel in anything of significance
Yes, this is a rave review because it is deserved.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2010

My 7 year old son, and I stayed at The Grange at Oborne for one night as an over night stop, driving from Cornwall back to East Sussex. The hotel is situated in a small idyllic village, Oborne, near Sherbourne and just off A30.

I had previously stayed at the hotel and had very nice time there so it was very easy choice for us to stay there again as our overnight stop. We arrived in the Hotel at 8pm without reservation after a long day driving. We were welcomed by the managers, Jenny and Jon, and immediately given a elegant, spacious room overlooking a beautiful garden. The double bed was very large (i think it was 6 foot wide) and very comfortable, the en- suite bathroom was very spacious and spotlessly clean, too. As we already had dinner elsewhere, we did not eat at the restaurant, but the menu looked very interesting. I enjoyed a nice glass of wine in the lounge instead.

The room was equipped with some very nice little attention to detail stuff, such as well written local area guide.

My son really enjoyed staying at The Grange, and he recalls his experience there as "the best hotel ever" It is very nice to feel welcomed when travelling with children, and this hotel definitely has that warm welcoming atmosphere. Next day we visited Luluworth Cove before heading back to Brighton as the manager, jon suggested. He kindly printed out a route map as i did not have a SatNav. My son had an amazing time rock pooling there whole afternoon.

We'll definitely come back to stay at this hotel and may upgrade to stay at the Delux Room with a four poster bed and a large private balcony next time. Very nice to see extensions made to the hotel, such as a function room, toilets, conservatory (where tasty breakfasts were served) since I stayed five years ago.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackmogcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2010

e had a lovely evening with dinner at the Grange. Warm welcome, professional service, and excellent imaginative food. Change of staff on duty next morning and we were disappointed by overdone poached eggs and burnt croissants at breakfast.
Our standard double room was spacious, comfortable and well-appointed. Pre-moulded doors and cheap carpet spoil what is otherwise a tasteful, meticulous refurbishment and extension of this pretty old building. We enjoyed the peace, the quiet surroundings and attractive (though not huge) garden.
Good value at £130 special Sunday price for dinner, bed & breakfast (drinks and coffee extra).

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurelHouse103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oborne
1.4 mi away
The Eastbury Hotel
The Eastbury Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sherborne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
10.0 mi away
Summer Lodge
Summer Lodge
#1 of 2 in Evershot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
1.6 mi away
Half Moon Inn
Half Moon Inn
#3 of 3 in Sherborne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 mi away
Haddon House Hotel
Haddon House Hotel
#2 of 10 in Bridport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel
Address: Oborne, Sherborne DT9 4LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Sherborne > Oborne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oborne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange at Oborne is a luxury country house hotel with eighteen bedrooms and an award-winning restaurant overlooking the floodlit gardens. Our quiet rural setting at the edge of the village is the reason why many of our guests return year after year to enjoy the peace and tranquillity that the hotel has to offer. It is a place to unwind, relax and regenerate. Family-owned and run, The Grange prides itself on its friendly staff. The Grange won Dorset Tourism's 'Best Small Hotel' in 2015. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dorset Oborne the Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grange At Oborne Hotel Sherborne
Grange At Oborne Sherborne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing