We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never a bad meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Los Pitayos Family Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Los Pitayos Family Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 86 Restaurants in Troy
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Troy, Oh
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Never a bad meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

We've been going here at least twice a month for years! It is our go-to choice - every dish we've had has been delicious, & tastes like it is from scratch. Service is quick & friendly & the casual atmosphere is pleasant & relaxing. Prices are very reasonable & we always have enough for lunch the next day (IF we can stop ourselves!) DEFINITELY try the chile rellenos...best I've ever had, anywhere...no matter what I order I have to add one, a la carte! Give this place a try - you will be back again & again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TLD6255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    2
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
232 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice people...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Just has become more of the same Mexican food, nothing really sets it apart. It isn't bad, it just isn't anything original.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Service and Mexican in Troy ... Hands Down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Former Manager and now Owner, Havier has been serving quailty Mexican fair for 10+ years. We always get Chorry Cheese as our appetiser. The best Shreaded Beaf Chimachangas around and ask for the white cheese sauce to be poured over them.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank risshcdn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff- best Mexican in Troy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012 via mobile

Great staff and incredible food and prices- plus you get your food in less than 10 minutes. Great family restaurant!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Owenladyvols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ole”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Javier and staff continue to make any dining experience a good on with their friendly service and nice decor.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Los Pitayos Family Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing