We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic fish and chips”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Martino's International Cafe
Ranked #11 of 44 Restaurants in Vermilion
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Vermilion, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish and chips”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

They have the best fries in town, hands down. We had the fish and chips and was pleasantly surprised. The flakey white fish portion size was great and priced well. The dining area is clean and much larger than their previous location. We will definitely come back and have breakfast like we use to at the old location.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelleMM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    38
    25
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food!!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by a couple of people and they were so right. We actually ate there twice, once for lunch and then a another time for dinner. Both meals were great, the helpings were huge, it was well worth the money. The only problem was it is a bit noisy, had to speak up to be heard. We will definitely eat there again when in Vermilion.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missjoflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia City, Indiana, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food but a little pricey”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had the breakfast buffet. Not much to offer but what they had was good. Also had a cook right there making omelettes which were great. The cost was a little salty but the service was downright horrible. Doubt if we ever stop there again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“45 minute wait for average omelets”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We tried breakfast here and had to wait over 45 minutes to receive two average omelets. We received drinks early on, but my tea water was lukewarm and I did not even drink it as a result. We watched as other tables that had been seated 10-20 minutes after us get their food. We finally flagged down the waitress after about 40 minutes to ask what was going on. She said that the kitchen got backed up due to tables in the banquet room. When I asked why other tables had gotten their food first, her reply was that their orders were pushed ahead since other people at that table had gotten the breakfast buffet. I can see their point, but really? Besides, a competent server would have let us know things were running late without us having to inquire. My mushroom and Swiss cheese omelet was stuffed full, I will have to give them that. But my husband’s spinach and Feta cheese omelets was so full, he really did not like it. There can be too much of a good thing! Would not return there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermilion, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Expected More”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

First time eating at the 'new' Martinos.....thought we would try it since it moved into a new location. Read a review that the perch was good...well it wasn't ....
We have gotten Lake Perch at many places .....theirs was mediocre at best...breading was not crunchy, had a bland taste and texture . Rice pilaf as a side was also so-so....
Wish it was better because it's close ...but ...
Have to say the staff was good....pleasant and attentive.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BonnieVermilion_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Martino's International Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Martino's International Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing