We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vermilion
Reviewed 12 May 2009

A friend and I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel 29/30 April and again 8th May. I had had a difficult flight from England, and missed my flight from CVG to Cleveland because of Delta staffing problems, which meant a 5 hour delay. It was a huge pleasure to get to the hotel lateish on in the evening, and to find a beautifully equipped bedroom, and a wonderful shower with bathtub. The staff were kindness itself, and the breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bondenNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2008

This was a last minute weekend trip to Put-In-Bay & Cedar Point. We wanted to stay closer to the park but didn't want to pay too much and wanted something clean, quiet and comfortable.
After reading other reviews, I knew this would be a good choice and it was.

Located about 20 minutes (give or take) East of Cedar Point off Hwy 2, the Holiday Inn Express in Vermillion is definitely quiet. I was fortunate to book two double rooms the night before our arrival, right next to each other but not adjoining, as the hotel was almost sold out.

The staff was very friendly and check-in went smoothly. The front desk clerk was helpful with questions we had and was able to separate out the reservations I made for my family and my parents so that we could pay separately and still get our respective reward points.

The hotel is kept up well and has the standard Holiday Inn Express decor - not brand new but not shabby either. The room was very clean, especially the bathroom and shower. The soft and firm distinction on the pillows was nice. However, the beds were a little hard (my only complaint). As suggested by the instructions, keeping the air conditioner on low did cool the room. So much so, I had to get up and turn the temperature up because I was too cold.

We did have the complimentary breakfast. The staff did keep it well stocked with fresh food. It is a small area compared to other Holiday Inn Express' I've stayed in but the conference area had been opened up with additional tables and a TV. It was definitely popular and busy as it was a summer weekend filled with many families heading to Cedar Point. Still the food was fine, fresh and the area clean.

My two young daughters did manage to get me to the indoor pool. The water was a little cool but once in the pool it was fine and was clean and not overly chlorinated. In fact, while we were playing in the pool, the "pool boy" came and tested the water - which made me feel better. Housekeeping also came and put out many fresh pool towels.

Overall our stay was good and I would go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank FamilyTravelsOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

WOW! A great hotel in a very quaint little town. The room was spotless along with all the common areas and pool. Free breakfast was a great plus and was always well stocked and cleaned up often. The room was spotless with very comfortable beds and a HUGE bathroom. It was an easy 25 minute drive to Cedar Point and with using the "back entrance" we beat all the Sandusky traffic. Vermillion was a great town with a festival going on while we were there and some great resturants. Ask the front desk staff for a recommendation, they sent us to a great little mexican place that was cheap with great food! I was concerned about being a little bit away from Cedar Point but after seeing the gross hotels down there I was really glad we chose this property!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schnibbbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2008

We stayed at this hotel while visiting Cedar Point--from the reviews on this site, we gathered that Sandusky's hotels were not in our budget or too near train tracks! We found this hotel to be as nice as other members stated. The staff was very accomodating, and the hotel was QUIET, QUIET, QUIET. We stayed three nights and never had our sleep disturbed. There is no elevator, but the stairs are broad with a landing.

This hotel was very clean, and the desk clerks were often busy straightening the lobby and offering fresh cookies.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Rahrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2008

We stopped in Vermilion as an overnight stopover on a trip to Chicago and to visit the Inland Seas Maritime Museum and booked our room there based on reviews we saw here.

I could easily be convinced that this hotel had just been built within the last year, yet the desk clerk told us it was about 12 years old.

Regardless it was very clean and the room was perfect.

The only negative is that they do need an elevator, especially if one is schlepping a lot of bags to ones room.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pinebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2007

We stayed at this hotel over the Thanksgiving holidays, while we were visiting family in Vermilion. We were pleasantly surprised with the cleanliness and and the overall maintenance of the property. The rooms were simple and spacious. Everything was clean and well kept. The staff was friendly and helpful with our request for late check-out. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LTT_Atlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2007

This was our best stay ever. My husband had just had a procedure done at Cleveland Clinic and needed to be able to lay down and sleep. I had called and booked in advance and let the staff know we needed an early check in.

Our registration was fast and efficient, our room was awesome and my husband was able to go right to sleep! That rarely happens! They were so kind and offered help if I needed it, gave me directions to go grab some dinner etc. Our room was immaculate and incredibly quiet.

The entire hotel is spotless and their staff are terrific. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wizardslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vermilion
13 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Elyria
12.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Elyria
15.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Sandusky
Comfort Inn Sandusky
#7 of 34 in Sandusky
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Best Western Norwalk
Best Western Norwalk
#1 of 3 in Norwalk
317 reviews
14.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Cleveland/Sheffield
9.8 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Vermillion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Vermillion

Address: 2417 State Rt. 60, Vermilion, OH 44089
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Vermilion
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Vermilion
Price Range: £76 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Vermillion 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion is centrally located between Greater Cleveland & Cedar Point Amusement Park, Sandusky, OH. Our Vermilion, Ohio location provides a great starting point for attractions in either direction! We are just 20 miles from Cedar Point but worlds away from congestion & traffic. Experience the award-winning Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion featuring friendly, personalized service along with the benefits of: free Express Start breakfast bar; free local telephone calls; free high speed Internet access; and IHG Rewards Club Points. Vermilion is A Small Town On A Great Lake; a quaint & historic small town located on Lake Erie. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Vermilion is near Vermilion's many charms: public beaches, unique shopping (antiques, galleries, collectibles, handcrafted candies and candles), many dining options, river cruises, fishing & numerous festivals & special events year-round! SPECIAL EVENTS: Festival of the Fish, Father's Day Wknd; Woollybear Festival, Fall; Christmas Holidays RESTAURANTS: Chez Francois, that french restaurant on the river; Quaker Steak & Lube on the River LOCAL ATTRACTIONS: Lake Erie; Schoepfle Garden; The Holiday Inn Express Vermilion features a number of room types to fit your business or leisure travel needs as well as an indoor pool, whirlpool and exercise room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Vermillion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion Hotel Vermilion
Holiday Inn Express Vermilion
Holiday Inn Vermilion
Vermilion Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion Vermilion, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing