We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cottages at the Water's Edge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vermilion
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cottages at the Water's Edge
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed for a week in cottage #9. My husband,myself, my elderly mother and 5 year old niece.
It was enjoyable for us all. No comfort problems for mom (walk in shower) and plenty to keep niece busy, between swimming & play areas. Retro style cottage has all you would need, the point was to get away from work, emails etc. and this was just right. Close enough to get to see some local attractions and go out for a meal. Owners are super friendly and keep everything spic & span. Common areas really pretty with flowers, rose bushes that are constantly refreshed & maintained, tons of seating on & off of the beach. Beach toys for kids.
Would love to stay again in future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    4
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rolla, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

Spent weekend at cottage number 9 with seven of my family members mid May . The cottage reminded us of grandma's house out in the country with the added bonus of beach front view. The grounds were well maintained and very family friendly. The couple that run the cottages were very friendly and always helpful. The cottage was very clean and the beds were comfortable. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony123789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Great place for families. The owners have religiously kept a 1950s vibe to the place. It is like time travelling into Mad Men on the lake. Great place for kids of all ages with games provided on the beach and in the garden.

Room Tip: The rose cottage is tiny but right on the lake and offers incredible views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MathieuL7519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

We have stayed here 2 times before and every time it has been an excellent stay.People are Great and the grounds are well taken care of.It's been a new adventure every stay with many return guests.Love the seclusion ,beautiful sunsets, fire at the fire pit and access to other adventures close buy.We would love to return again.

Room Tip: IF Your looking for the Hilton you won't find it here.What you will find is affordable accommoda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Toby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

My in-laws rented the guest house for a week, and we came for a long weekend. The house was clean and in good condition. The kitchen seemed to be fully equipped and the bathrooms were relatively updated. There was plenty of room outside to play games, and the beach was a lot nicer than I thought it would be. The best part was that there were two small kitties who were very friendly. There were just a couple things that would have been nice to have, but they aren't deal breakers. The couch was rather uncomfortable and smelled a little musty. Also, the TV in the living area is really old and has a terrible picture. I realize the point of being there is not to watch TV, but it would have been nice to have. No one in our group had much luck connecting to the Wi-Fi. That was a disappointment. Finally, the room we stayed in (upstairs across from the bathroom) didn't have a fan, either a ceiling fan or one on a stand, and that would have been really nice for air flow as well as white noise. I have no idea how much they paid, so I can't speak to that. Overall, the property was nice and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank jennifer1347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

I have been coming here since before I could walk. I love this place, as does my family. Close to everything, fires by the lakeside, quiet family atmosphere. Nice beach. I have so many fond memories of this place. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Allisonbennett79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kouts, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

We arrived after a 4 hr drive, and were very disappointed in the "plywood box" (those were the owners own words) that we were shown.The foundation consisted of unsightly rotting wood all around the bottom and when we complained about the strong smell of urine inside, we were told thats just the smell of wet plywood. The cushions on the couch were setting upright to dry (maybe the source of the smell?) Not a place my husband and I would have been comfortable staying, or even bringing our belongings into. To be fair, the view of the lake was great, but not the accomodations. We were told "they never refund a deposit," Not a happy ending to a long awaited birthday week-end.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank bl2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cottages_house, Owner at Cottages at the Water's Edge, responded to this review, 13 February 2013
The Rose Cottage is one of our most popular cottages. Yes, it is 60 years old, but that is what gives it its character. The cottage IS made of plywood but what is wrong with that? It doesn't have a urine smell! The cushions were set up on the couch after vacuuming. We offered this couple another cottage and they did not even want to look. The pictures on the website show exactly what the cottage looks like. Our policy, made known upfront to all potential guests, is that we do not refund deposits. We are a small family business without access to a replacement party if someone decides not to come. We tell someone who must cancel that we will try to rent it and if so, I will return their deposit. In medical emergencies, we make additional exceptions. This party did have other options here which they refused to even consider. Two weeks after they left here, they called and asked again for a refund of their deposit and said if they didn't get it, they would write a poor review on our business. We have been in business for 29 years and this is the first time someone did not want to stay in the Rose Cottage! And that's the end of the story!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vermilion
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Vermillion
6.1 mi away
Comfort Inn River's Edge
23.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Port Clinton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
South Beach Resort Hotel
South Beach Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Marblehead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
3.5 mi away
Plantation Motel
Plantation Motel
#4 of 7 in Huron
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
14.7 mi away
Lighthouse Point
Lighthouse Point
#1 of 5 in Sandusky
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottages at the Water's Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at the Water's Edge

Property: Cottages at the Water's Edge
Address: 6419 W Lake Rd, Vermilion, OH 44089-2845
Region: United States > Ohio > Vermilion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Vermilion
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottages at the Water's Edge is 4 miles west of Vermilion, 40 miles west of Cleveland, with 400 feet of private sandy beach and 10 vintage cottages. The cottage by the lake is America's classic summer getaway...time is the precious commodity of a cottage at the water's edge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cottages At The Water`s Edge Hotel Vermilion
Cottages At The Water's Edge Vermilion, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing