We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very Scandinavian hotel in Amish country.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Wallhouse Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Certificate of Excellence
Piqua, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very Scandinavian hotel in Amish country.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel reminds us of similar decor in Sweden and Norway. One of the cleanest motels we have stayed at, and we have been all over the world. We like the 2 queen corner rooms. The breakfast was very good. As I mentioned, the decor is very modern, but warm. Some contemporary furnishings end up looking a bit cold, but this decor is clean and warm.

The fire pit outside was very enjoyable. Perfect weather and a perfect evening. We will be back some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    26
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
69
130
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

I simply cannot say enough good things about the Wallhouse Hotel. My husband were fortunate enough to stay four nights in the Wallhouse. When I first booked the hotel, I was only able to book for one night because they were full the other three nights. I emailed them to ask that they call me in case they had a vacancy to come available. I went ahead and booked the other three nights at the Berlin Grand Hotel (which, I am sure, is a nice hotel, too). After our first night at the Wallhouse, we received a call from the manager, Leon Troyer, saying that they had a cancellation. We were thrilled to be able to stay three more nights. This hotel is perfect from the people that work here to the décor. Let me start with the people. Leon Troyer is the best hotel manager that I have ever encountered. He is so personable and friendly, greeting people in the lobby and doing his best to make you feel special. All of the girls who work the desk are so friendly and helpful, ready to make suggestions on things to do in the area. We even had a chance meeting with one of the housekeepers, Josie. She was so sweet and suggested her favorite place for lunch, Rebecca's Café (which was wonderful). Now, I will tell you about the rooms. We stayed in a King Vista view room on the top floor. It was modern, looked new, and very clean. The décor of grays, black and a touch of lime green was beautiful. The room itself is large with a couch and a kitchenette area with a bar, barstools, microwave, refrigerator and bar sink. The bathroom is nice with a large walk-in shower. The free breakfast was a lot to choose from. I love that they had a big pot of hot oatmeal and toppings. I love oatmeal and most hotels just have the instant packets. They also had eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, cinnamon rolls, homemade bread, cereal and other things. To sum it up, I really couldn't find anything that I didn't like about this hotel. I would definitely stay here again if I am ever in the area! I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else! Loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 514. It had a beautiful view of the rolling hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lkbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen T, Director of Operations at The Wallhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Good Evening and thank you so much for your comprehensive review. We are so glad you were able to enjoy more time with us and experience everything from our friendly staff, the rooms with their superb amenities, and the extensive breakfast selections. Josie with her sweet spirit and the rest of the Wallhouse staff look forward to hosting you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olmsted Falls, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

This hotel is simply amazing...a real treat. The decor is so striking and the whole place is immaculate. All the staff is SUPER friendly..Hats off to the director Leon Troyer. He is excellent at his job and always went out of his way to make sure our stay was top notch.. I love this place and will come back as often as I can. i have stayed there 3 times so far and am looking forward to our next stay....hopefully real soon. Please keep the personal charm. It truly is a Home away from Home. Very nice, relaxing getaway!!!
Thanks to the WHOLE staff! We WILL be back! Save my room! :)))

Kathie Meland

Room Tip: I stayed in the same suite all three times and loved it.. I don't think there is a bad room or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

An experiance that I have never had before. Luxury in high grear. I could have dropped DEAD. when I walked into the hotel it was how I imagined parts of heaven would be. Oh and the floors glitter. I love glitter. When we walk into our suit to find all the pleasantries and quality you could want and the balcony view was a dead ringer. If you think that just because it sits in the wrong city you are so closed minded... this is the shock value. I loved the whole entire short visit, and that is just on the building. Now to review the Staff.. it would be hard to rate them individually becuase all of you took care of us better than a lot of mothers would. It was genuine too. Not forced make me smile thing but a labor of love. It was like they loved coming to work today. Everyone was gracious, generous, tender in mercy (husband has disability) and a heart of a servant. Let me tell you workers like that aren't trained to be like that that is who they are they honor God, themself and their employers by giving of themselves their very best. I had to check my heart and motives about my work ethics after seeing a team of people work as they did. I used to manage people and services and believe me this hotel brought high shining gem stones to their hotel... you don't have to worry about the type of service you get there. I got the top of the line and NY or LA needs to send their employees to see this phenominonal display of service. The room managers/maids, the clerks, the hotel manager, the night clerk you came up with an idea to help me with my aches and pains at 1 am by opening up the hot tub for me, the breakfast lady who was concerned that my husband did not make it down to breakfast and told me i could fixed him a plate to take up to him so he could eat when he got up. thank you all you made a difference each and everyone of you were seen for you tallents.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

A group of ladies from my church attended a retreat and the coordinator booked 11 rooms here since the other hotel in town was full. What a stroke of good luck for us! I was impressed with the spacious room, décor, cleanliness, and the comfortable bed. The large shower in the bathroom was exceptional. We even had a small balcony that overlooked the beautiful Ohio country side. The desk staff bent over backwards to accommodate each guest. The breakfast was good, there were snacks during the day and the lobby area was kept clean. There is a lot of attention to detail. The only minor complaint I had was the toilet tissue and tissues in the bathrooms were very rough. No complaints at all from our group; we loved this place and hope to stay there the next time.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back side of the hotel. no traffic noise and the view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank libby s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen T, Director of Operations at The Wallhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Good Afternoon and Thank You for your detailed review. We like to hear what you, our guest appreciated about your stay and if anything wasn't above expectations. As you mentioned an issue with our toilet and facial tissues, we wanted to let you know we changed our supplier and are now very happy with the new product. Our staff look forward to your next stay and hope to receive your full approval.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

When you walk in the Wallhouse Hotel, the first thing you will do is take a step back and say WOW... The hotel is like a breath of fresh modern air mixed with a warm casual country breeze, The whole staff is incredible. they handled everything with class and a smile. Try the fresh brewed coffee which is wallhouse brand and after one cup you will think you're Juan valdez..or sip on their fresh ice cold water with a splash of fruit very refreshing.the rooms are big with wonderful amenities as internet or cable , a bed that will gobble you with comfort till you fall asleep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jim l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,334 reviews
309 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 495 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I was seriously impressed with this hotel.

My Premium Corner Suite was stunning with a kitchenette, gorgeous bathroom, living room and bedroom alcove.

The service was efficient and friendly. The only issue was that someone else was checked into my room just after I'd moved in. When the door opened we all got a shock!

The bed and pillows were super comfortable. The TV is located so you can watch it from bed or from the lounge.

The shower was a fabulous walk-in with stonework tiles.

The kitchenette had a sink, fridge, microwave and coffee maker and an eating/working bench.

There free onsite parking and it's within walking distance to the famous Der Dutchman Restaurant.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePackedBag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen T, Director of Operations at The Wallhouse Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for choosing the Wallhouse Hotel as part of your US Experience. I'm glad you enjoyed the spacious suite and our wonderful amenities. I apologize for the inconvenience of the room mix-up and am grateful everything was taken care of in a timely manner. Even though we try our utmost to have everything run perfectly, we make mistakes sometimes. Thank you for understanding and giving us such a high recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Walnut Creek
3.9 mi away
Berlin Grande Hotel
5.0 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Zinck's Inn
Zinck's Inn
#2 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
12.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Dover
4.5 mi away
Holmes with a View
Holmes with a View
#4 of 4 in Millersburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wallhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wallhouse Hotel

Property: The Wallhouse Hotel
Address: 2870 Cove Lane, Walnut Creek, OH 44687
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Walnut Creek
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Walnut Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wallhouse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the picturesque backdrop of Ohio's Amish Country, The Wallhouse Hotel is a 2017 Travelers' Choice recipient and an upscale, modern-style hotel with a crisp, refreshing decor. Our commitment is to offer a hotel that you'll want to return to again and again by providing immaculate rooms, engaging spaces, and unmatched personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Wallhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wallhouse Hotel Walnut Creek, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing