We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean rooms, dirty shared spaces”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Wauseon
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wauseon
Shawano, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
116 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, dirty shared spaces”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had a great room here with a great bed but the common areas are not clean. The elevator was dirty and also it was difficult to get an elevator. (Not enough elevators for the floors they had). We only stayed here because Toledo has a water boil order and so we had to driver farther than planned. The front desk gal was a total airhead. We're talkin' Valley Girl.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voltaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wauseon, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear Voltaco,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you liked our room accommodations. However, it is truly regrettable that you did not fully enjoy your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize if some areas of our facility, particularly the elevator, and the level of service you have received fell below your expectations. Your comments have been taken into serious account and will be used for review. I am confident that our management will take actions accordingly in order to improve our services.

Once again, thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you give us another chance to provide you with a better stay next time you visit the area.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    40
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
21
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naperville
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Nice room, pool, hot tub, common areas
Room was quiet
Excellent breakfast, selection & supply
Only issue was inadequate internet capacity, very slow at night
Nice friendly staff
Would stay there again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wv
Level Contributor
315 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights to attend the MWGB at the fairgrounds,the room was spacious and clean the breakfast was good with a few items to pick from.The staff was very friendly and helpful.I will most likely stay here for next years bash.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cainrcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington IL
Level Contributor
147 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nothing feels better after a long day than to arrive at a hotel and get all the you have come to expect. Holiday Inn Expresses around the country have reshaped the moderately-priced hotel chain environment and the HI Express in Wauseon delivered on all the promises. And right at the Wauseon Exit from the Ohio Turnpike. I arrived at midnight and was so happy to get into a big spacious room with a comfortable bed and everything working. Breakfast was fairly standard for HI Express with the pleasant addition of a pancake maker similar to waffle makers at other hotels. They appeared to execute well on everything except a couple minor annoyances. First, the room lighting appears to be first generation 60W equivalent CFLs. There are much better options available that other hotels are implementing. You don't need to leave us in the twilight. Secondly, because of my late night arrival, I wanted to sleep in. Unfortunately, they decided to do masonry repair with a loud drill right outside my room well before I had intended to get up. No one had bothered to see if my room was still occupied. I will return if in the area ... but hopefully they can update the lighting and be more considerate when and where they are doing maintenance. Also, note to business travelers, cell coverage is very poor despite proximity to the Turnpike.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nrstycz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I was on my way home from the Navy graduation in Illinois when I had to stop here to complete a project for work. I always like staying at a Holiday Inn because you always know what you are going to having waiting for you on the other side of the door. A clean room with a comfortable bed! I made the mistake of staying somewhere else for a night because it was convenient and it just didn't meet the standard of the Holiday Inn Express. Wauseon was a nice little town that you could relax in after being on the highway for hours. I would recommend this and any Holiday Inn when traveling because you won't feel more refreshed after a stop anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Stopped here on the way to DC...got in around midnight. Front desk girl was very friendly and checked us in quickly. Had a room on the second floor right next to the elevator. This made me nervous at first but I did not hear anything all night. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean, shower was great! The bathroom sink leaked a little. Sounds like they fixed the steam problems in the bathrooms because even when you don't have your exhaust fan on, there's still a fan pulling air out of the bathroom. All in all, great stay.

Room Tip: I like the top floor...always quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Ohio
Level Contributor
283 reviews
283 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I called the motel directly to reserve a room and ask for top floor and said I need govt rate( I have a govt ID) was told no problem I arrived I did not have the top floor or was I charged the govt rate but I will say the girl at check in (around 3:00PM) was very accommodating and took care of my issues quickly and apologized for the mix up..the hotel looked great from the outside and inside..the room was also great ,well lit,comfy bed,great water pressure ,hot water and clean as could be..I went to check out around 100AM which the girl was busy checking in another guest which seemed to take quite awhile then as she was checking me out ran into issues and said computer kept locking up after about 10 min I ask her if she could just give me a copy of my registration card because I needed the price and couldnt wait any longer total checkout time was about 20 min. which I hadnt planned on ..I was in a rush because of being on a tight schedule which I admit I should plan on things like this happening but I stay in motels 4 days a week and usually checkout goes very fast..I dont know if she needed more training or computer was locked up either way I feel it should be looked at..all in all its a great place to stay I just feel reservation and check out issues should be looked at ..I would have liked to gave a better review but I must call it like I see it I will prob be back here in the future and hope I can review again with a higher rating..

Room Tip: top floor was nice and quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teamster175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlmoon, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wauseon, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Teamster175,

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback of your recent stay here, as it truly does help us identify areas with opportunities for improvement. Please accept my apologies for issues encountered with your reservation and during the check-out process. I'm pleased that the desk clerk at check-in was able to resolve the reservation discrepancy in an efficient manner, and that you were able to enjoy the accommodations. We look forward to seeing you again!

Miki Moon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wauseon
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Del Mar
BEST WESTERN Del Mar
#1 of 3 in Wauseon
195 reviews
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Bryan-Montpelier
0.1 mi away
M-Star Hotel Wauseon
M-Star Hotel Wauseon
#3 of 3 in Wauseon
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Napoleon Inn & Suites
Napoleon Inn & Suites
#1 of 4 in Napoleon
87 reviews
23.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Toledo South Maumee
18.0 mi away
Days Inn Toledo Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Wauseon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Wauseon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Wauseon
Address: 8135 State Route 108, Wauseon, OH 43567-9663
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Wauseon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Wauseon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Wauseon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Wauseon is conveniently located off of I 80/90, at exit 34 (route 108). Our hotel features an elevator as well as guest rooms equipped with mini fridges and microwaves in all rooms. Hotel features include free local calls and complimentary hot breakfast, high-speed Internet access and a business center. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Wauseon is located near:Toledo Express Airport, North Star Bluescope Steel, Lear Corporation, Conaagra Foods, Plastech, Worthington Steel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Wauseon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Wauseon Hotel Wauseon
Holiday Inn Wauseon
Wauseon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing