We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Relaxing Weekend...”
Review of Murphin Ridge Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Murphin Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 West Union B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We went to the Inn as a little getaway treat for ourselves. I just wanted to go somewhere to relax, read, walk and generally do nothing! The Inn fit the bill. My husband and I stayed in a queen cabin. It was a very nice size and very clean (no television, but that was a plus for me). A hot breakfast comes with the price of the cabin. We also had a very good dinner at the restaurant on Friday and Saturday night. The owners are very friendly and take pride in their place. The countryside is beautiful and very quiet. We plan to go back in the fall.

Room Tip: We were in cabin 3 -- I think cabins 3 and 4 are most desirable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWilliams2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphininnkeeper, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your visit. You found the essence of Murphin. We are pleased you will come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2011

This is my husband and my 4th time at Murphin Ridge and our first time staying in the Guest House. We attended the Field to Farm dinner which was terrific. A large table was set up accomodating 40-50 people and they served food from the local fields and farms including their own. The Amish farmers joined the guest to talk about how they raised the chickens, etc. We hiked the trails at the Inn, took a dip in the pool and counted the number of deer grazing in the fields for dinner while sipping wine and rocking on the porch. The staff at the Inn and the Owners are the best - very friendly and quick to take care of any of your needs. Grab a good book, a nice bottle of wine and head to Murphin Ridge for a relaxing time to reconnect to friends, family and loved ones.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissGinaSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphininnkeeper, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Wow! Come back anytime and THANKS! May Murphin be with you a long time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

My husband and I have stayed at Murphin Ridge twice now. Both times on the heels of losing someone we loved. How perfect. A very nice quiet dinner with friends, followed by a time by the bonfire in the quiet Appalachian Hills....with wine and time to take a tearful breath ....could not have been more perfect. The accomodations are special and the service top shelf. Would recommed for a for any occasion.....single seclusion, couple or girlfriend get away....or group retreat. This place is special.

Room Tip: Cabins are special, Lodge is as well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0nnie033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphininnkeeper, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to tell us of your stay. We agree! It is heaven on earth! Come back to the Ridge when you need a little bit of heaven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

I stayed at Murphin Ridge on a business trip and cannot stop talking about it to everyone I meet! First of all, the cabins and home are surrounded by a beautiful setting, the accomodations are very comfortable and extremely clean. The food and company of the staff and hosts were even better! Breakfast and dinner entrees were exceptional - by far better taste and quality than many upscale places I frequent in Columbus. I will definitely return, but this time, for pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadow09Columbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphininnkeeper, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2011

Thanks so much for the very kind words. Your appreciation for Murphin is applause, no a standing ovation for our very hard working and very happy staff. Your kindness will be passed on to them. The best complement is a return visit. So we look forward to seeing you back on the Ridge. Sherry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

We loved being back at The Ridge. My wife and I are avid cyclers and Murphin Ridge is a perfect base of operation to explore. The accommodations, food and staff are just wonderful. We will be back with our bikes.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DSawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphininnkeeper, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

Stay connected! It is all that matters. Think quiet thoughts, but think them together. Thank you for your response and come back to the Ridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

Murphin Ridge Inn is brilliant! Well designed and appointed, attentive staff, excellent food and wine list (from Bordeaux to the Ohio River), high-interest location. Pity that we could not stay longer than a night. You know a place is good when plotting to return begins before you leave. We were in the comfort of the Lodge but hear the cabins are quite the ticket as well. Only objection was that they forgot to put on warm weather at the end of March. I'm sure they will fix that if we call ahead next time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoGene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphininnkeeper, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

The staff and Darryl and I are elated that you think so much of Murphin. Thank you! And do come back to the Ridge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We recently spent an evening at Murphin Ridge Inn for a getaway from work. We had a great evening there. We were able to hike on their trails, have dinner at the restaurant, and enjoy the inn. It was all incredibly relaxing and everyone there was very friendly! We stayed in "Celebration", one of the woodland cabins, and it was a great cabin with remote controlled fireplace and ceiling fan, 2 person whirlpool, and was immaculately clean. I would go back in an instant!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CincyParrotthead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murphininnkeeper, Owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2011

We hope your relaxing stay lingers with you a long time. When you need to...come back to the Ridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Murphin Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphin Ridge Inn

Address: 750 Murphin Ridge Rd, West Union, OH 45693-9734
Region: United States > Ohio > West Union
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Union
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Murphin Ridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphin Ridge Hotel West Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing