We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveller rating
211
15
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
211
15
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitguest houseserpent moundsouthern ohiosmoked sausageadams countypizza nightother guestsrocking chairs on the front porchwalking trailsjacuzzi tubamish countryremote controlperson showernature preserveoutdoor poolfoggy bottom
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 232 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I now know why there are so many excellent reviews. It's because The Murphin Ridge Inn is excellent. They leave nothing to chance. Very peaceful, great food, and just all around nice folks.

We spent a night in a guest room just passing thru, but it was a great experience. We booked dinner after check in and then spent from 8 to 10 pm around the fire pit swapping stories about our travels. A further treat was to watch several deer run across the meadow in front of us.

In the morning while my wife was getting ready for breakfast I took a walk on one of the easy hiking trails on the property only to be rewarded with seeing the same deer moving through the woods.

The only thing that would make this better is the next time we will stay longer and book a cabin.

Job well done Murphin Ridge.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkcraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We spent two nights at Murphin Ridge. Being there during the week, to celebrate our 25th anniversary, it was very quiet - perfect for us. We found the cabin to be just right. We loved the whirlpool bath after a grueling hike through the Edge of Appalachia preserve. The bed was huge and very comfortable. We loved how private it felt. Even if the other cabins had been filled, I think they're situated well enough that they feel very private.
The dinners were excellent. Being a small place, the menu is not extensive, but everything is well-planned to consider the fact that guests will be eating there for several days. The soup and salad courses are varied each day, as are the country breakfast offerings.
The surrounding area doesn't offer enough interest for us to want to spend more than a couple days at a time. Mostly, it's perfect for a complete wind-down. We splurged on massages in the cabin. How wonderful to have them come to us!
The service was excellent, very friendly and knowledgeable, there when we needed them, but not intrusive. Our first night, as we got ready for bed, we noticed that there was a fire lit in the communal firepit. But we were already on our way to bed. So the next night, we asked if they were going to have a fire that night, and Levi, our wonderful server said if we wanted a fire, he'd light one for us. The staff go to great lengths to make guests feel at home. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amd1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My husband and I spent a Saturday night at the Murphin Ridge Inn and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A fire pit with plenty of wood for guests to warm by on a chilly spring evening was a delightful way to chat with other guests and enjoy the sunset.
The dinner was exceptional. The squash and heirloom apple soup topped with pumpkin seeds and herb oil was one of the best cups of soup I've ever had.
The only suggestion I would make would be to offer more precise directions on the website.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Starlynn63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We had an adventure filled weekend. Always the food and accommodations we so very nice. BUT this time we had the added fun of learning about the Amish culture. Lecturer was very informative and the activities were engaging. We always leave the Ridge wanting to return again. Highest of recommendations from us.

Room Tip: Love any of the cabins but the Inn rooms with the small private porches afford the best views of the sunrise and deer in the valley.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthellen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We were all set for a quiet weekend in the country with some downtime, great food, and some Amish environment. In addition we were invited (along with all other guests) to be part of an Amish weekend. It was a great experience and one that we will plan on repeating next year. The food on Friday was 4 star. Saturday's meal was shared with a local Amish family who added to the total experience. Our guest experts were Joe and Diana Donnermeyer and the hosts with the most were Sherrie and Darryl McKenney. Ther overall experience 5* minimum. We'll be back

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbw45140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosie924, Jack-of-many-trades at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2013

Another successful Amish Weekend at Murphin Ridge Inn!
Prof. Donnermeyer is a true expert on Amish culture and we are very fortunate to have him share his knowledge with our guests. We are very glad that you enjoyed the Amish Weekend activites and look forward to seeing you again. Please let us know if you have any suggestions for next year!
-- Levi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews