We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Murphin Ridge Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Nights Inn(West Union)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brown's Motel(Aberdeen)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Greystone Motel(Hillsboro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Cedar Hill Motel(Hillsboro)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Quality Inn(Maysville)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
206
15
5
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
15
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfire pitguest houseserpent moundsouthern ohiosmoked sausageadams countyhiking trailspeace and quietother gueststennis courtsrocking chairs on the front porchamish bakeryhomemade granolajacuzzi tubremote controlnature preservegreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We have stayed at the Murphin Ridge Inn many times over the past 10+ years. Just 65 miles east of our home in Cincinnati, you can feel the stress and cares of the world leave your mind as you drive into the country. Everything about the Inn is wonderful! The Amish neighbors are especially friedly and add to the ambiance. Whether you choose to stay in one of the rooms in the guest house or choose a cabin in the woods, it is a serene place to stay. There is much to do - a swimming pool, tennis courts, shuffleboard, hiking trails, wifi, a flat screen TV in the great room, and a wonderful fire pit area to enjoy after dinner. The main building, built in the 1800's, houses the dining rooms, check in, and a gift shop. The food is excellent! Country breakfasts come with the room, box lunches are available, and dinners offer a wide range of cuisine. The owners of the Inn, Gerry and Paula, just purchased the property from the long time owners who finally decided to retire. The new owners hit the ground running, and add a friendly tone to your stay. Just a great place to leave the cares of the world!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinciBobKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

What a great find! We stayed at the Murphin Ridge Inn on our way back to Ohio from a vacation in Tennessee and could not have been happier. The inn is tucked away in the beautiful rolling farm country of southern Ohio. The grounds are so awesome. There are hiking trails, stunning gardens, and even a 19th century farmhouse! We arrived a little late, but innkeepers Paula and Jerry were super accommodating. We enjoyed a dinner that was out of this world. The inn offers many healthy, delicious, and unique dishes. My husband and I stayed in the "Celebration" (#8) cabin while my 13 year old daughter and her friend had the "Goldfinch" (#10) room. While being spacious, both were very clean and cozy. There were homemade gingerbread cookies awaiting us inside as well! A meteor shower was going on the night we stayed at Murphin Ridge. It was the perfect place to be. Everything is so dark and you can see a stunning blanket of millions of stars across the night sky. It is also really cool to listen to the bugs, owls and coyotes while sitting around the fire pit. There is so much to do here. Hiking, basketball, tennis, swimming, stargazing, you name it! The girls loved that the nice swimming pool was open all night. This is an excellent place with the perfect balance of fun and serenity. Totally recommend it for people of all ages!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMK220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

It was a great stay. Cabin was wonderful. Owners are great people. Very friendly. All the food was great but the ribs were awesome. The whole place was as clean as could be. Murphin ridge is in a great location where there is Amish people with all the stores.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jhan873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 6 nights in July and couldn't have been happier. We had planned to use the Inn as a home base from which to visit towns in a 4 county area, researching our ancestors from the early 1800's. We knew in advance that we would have to drive a couple hundred miles a day to get to the county seats along the Ohio River and thought we would grab something to eat when the county offices closed and basically just sleep and have breakfast at the Inn. But we found the country setting and the well-kept grounds and rooms so relaxing and the dinner menu so interesting that we were eager to get back at the end of the day. We had dinner on the patio and sat on the porch watching the fireflies. The owners are very nice and thoughtful and the staff is friendly and attentive. To top it off, the chef changes the breakfast menu every day, as well as the soup and salad each night and has a real gift for making familiar things, like a steak or ravioli, into unique experiences. We can't think of anything that could have been better. It's a truly wonderful place to stay.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ADGrantley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful night at the Murphin Ridge Inn along with a fantastic breakfast and dinner. If you are looking for a quiet place in a beautiful rural setting you couldn't go wrong with this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tami L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews