We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful retreat, tops in hospitality, excellent food.”
Review of Murphin Ridge Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Union
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Murphin Ridge Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 West Union B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Peaceful retreat, tops in hospitality, excellent food.”
Reviewed 5 April 2010

My mother celebrated her 92nd birthday here with her three daughters and one granddaughter and this was a terrific choice for our "girls' weekend." The innkeepers and every single staff member welcomed us warmly and were friendly, funny, and gracious. The food was excellent -- imaginative menu with an emphasis on local food and always an option for vegetarians. This rustic inn is in a remote corner of southern Ohio, on a ridge that faces east -- therefore, amazing sunrises. Easy trails for hiking. Brimming with positive energy. Abundant antiquing opportunities in the vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheatreCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosie924, owner at Murphin Ridge Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2010
Thank you so much for the very kind words. It is your kindness that keeps us going and going. Maybe we will see you for the 93rd birthday. Fondly, Sherry, Darryl and a very happy staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
152
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cincinnati
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Stayed at Murphin Ridge Inn the end of Sept. Restaurant was excellent-enjoyed our breakfast as well as dinner Saturday night. When checking in on Friday, we found a flyer about an Amish auction and fundraiser that night which we attended. Had a great time and a good dinner. Explored the surrounding countyside and Serpent Mound as well as Amish businesses which was fun. Cabin was nice with comfy bed and lovely furniture. Was surprised to find significant mold in shower which was bad enough to ask person cleaning our cabin to please resolve. When we returned Saturday afternoon, shower tile was still very moldy. Did not expect this in an Inn with such a good reputation as well as price tag.
Really hope owners are able to resolve issue because it is otherwise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diadon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southeastern Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2009

This place was perfect from the initial reservation process until the minute we headed for home after a week's stay.

The innkeepers are a delight, and their passion for this beautiful place is apparent in every detail. The Murphin Ridge Inn is a wonderful place to go to relax. The grounds are extremely well-kept without looking contrived. Beautiful gardens and landscaping, trails through the woods, a pool, an awesome fire pit with the most relaxing, fantastic view of the sunrise, great porches and chairs for sitting, reflecting, reading, or finishing your morning or evening coffee.

We stayed in My Cabin. Great choice. It was quiet, felt very secluded, roomy, warm, and well-appointed with amazing reproduction furniture from David T. Smith ---you MUST stop by his workshops in Morrow, OH while you're in the area. The housekeeping staff did a fantastic job. A delicious homemade sweet treat was delivered to the room every afternoon. Plenty of fluffy towels and luxurious bedding. Loved it.

The food was beyond good. Foodies will love this place. I think between my husband and I, we tried nearly everything on the menu since we were there for a week. It was all delicious, creative, artfully presented, and perfectly seasoned. I never picked up the salt or pepper all week.....no need. We never had to ask for anything as the wait staff was fantastic. The staff all seemed to like working there very much.......which makes me like the place even more. Breakfasts were also amazing. Sherri's Foggy Bottom Pancakes are simply the best.

Darryl was extremely helpful in making suggestions and giving directions to things we might enjoy in the area. Both Darryl and Sherri were lots of fun to talk to and they really give the place a personality. We will most definitely be going back. I've never had a more relaxing vacation. It was worth every penny.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2009

Finding this place was a bit of a challenge, having never been there before, but once we arrived we totally got why it is hidden away. We opened the door to our personal cabin and all you could smell was clean linens and the cut pine used in the construction of our little oasis. Don't let the rustic look and feel of your cabin fool you. Every amenity is state of the art, from the huge two person shower and lovely jacuzzi hot tub to the oversized gas log fireplace. Matresses and linens are of the best quality. Climate was easily controlled using our own thermostat, or we could open any of the plentiful windows to allow the woodland breezes in and listen to the critters and night bugs chirping away. I never saw an insect or a speck of dust inside our cabin. This place has the whole concept of privacy and relaxation down to a science and owns it proudly. We could very easily transition to a more social vibe just by walking up around the restaurant and main lodge. The owners and staff make it their business to pay attention to the subtle hints of each guest as far as who wants attention, or to be left blissfully alone. Dining at the restaurant was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. The food and service are really amazing. Foods are local and fresh, and the menu is kept simple. When my love asked if there was honey for my coffee at breakfast, there immediately appeared a mini pitcher of honey that they had heated up for me. There were some children at the Inn, and they were having a blast with their families, but if you want to get away from it all for romance or peace and quiet, the cabins are geared for that with perfection. Each day, someone would leave a bag of ice and some homemade cookies for us...never intrusive. There are some nice hiking trails, and the grounds have great gardens and little places where you can relax and read or gaze quietly alone or with a loved one. The pool has a nice view over fields and woods. A nice fire circle had a good social vibe after dark for anyone wishing to venture there. We are already planning our next trip there. I won't go a year without returning.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peacegirl5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toledo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

The reason for our trip to Amish country was a visit to the Serpent Mound. The Murphin Ridge Inn turned out to be quite a destination on its own. The room was simple and beautiful and very clean, with a little porch that looked out over the pool and the hills beyond. The grounds were lovely and the trails perfect for casual walking. My twelve year old nephew loved Stone Hedge! We walked to it in the moonlight! We had some delightful diners and enjoyed all the homemade snacks and tea available all day long. We enjoyed ourselves so much, walking and hanging around the fire pit and shopping in the cute gift shop that we almost forgot to go to the mound!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToledoMisspeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2009

From the moment we walked into the little cottage "grove", I knew we would love our overnight at Murphin's Ridge. A dear friend gave us a gift-certificate, and we used it for a much needed getway. Our cabin was perfect: very clean, bright, lots of fresh air! I really think I could live in one with a little kitchen added! Reading on the porch, listening to and watching the birds, even hearing an owl in the evening-perfect.
Dinner was outstanding-delicious fresh corn chowder, local ribeyes; we had our dessert around the bonfire. Breakfast just as delighful! Host are warm and laid back. We will definitely be returning to Murphin's Ridge!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

WOW! What a getaway! Cabin was awesome - clean and bright! Dining was excellent - top notch! Inn Keepers were lively and fun! Everything is done with quality and the little special touches are all there. Can't wait to go back - planning two more trips this year!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vidpro23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Union
6.3 mi away
Comfort Inn - Seaman
Comfort Inn - Seaman
#1 of 1 in Seaman
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
17.3 mi away
Shawnee Lodge and Conference Center
22.3 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 4 in Maysville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Brown's Motel
Brown's Motel
#1 of 1 in Aberdeen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Murphin Ridge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphin Ridge Inn

Property: Murphin Ridge Inn
Address: 750 Murphin Ridge Rd, West Union, OH 45693-9734
Region: United States > Ohio > West Union
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in West Union
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Murphin Ridge Hotel West Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing