We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Work”
Review of Bel Lago Waterfront Dining - CLOSED

Bel Lago Waterfront Dining
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Italian, Mediterranean, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, View, Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: County Line Rd
Description: Bel Lago's mission is to bring Westerville and Greater Columbus the most fabulous waterfront dining experience in the area. The ambiance of the location on the pristine Hoover Reservoir is beautiful and relaxing -- the perfect backdrop for enjoying the creations of their exceptional kitchen team and a selection from the extensive wine list. Bel Lago's menu is designed with something for everyone -- from casual fare for enjoyment on the open terrace bar to high quality creative cuisine for a great dinner right here in your neighborhood.
Westerville, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs Work”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It's better then when it was the Hoover Grill, but that place was only two stars. The food is average and the last time we were there the service was terrible. We went there for Happy Hour and there was only another couple there. It took our bartender 10 minutes before she even took our order. Also, we had to ask about the Happy Hour deals and then only grudgendly did she provide any details. Also, the upstairs bar has limited selections and if you want something else YOU have to go to the inside bar and get it!. Great view, only wish the food anf service was better.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nach035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    42
    22
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westerville, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
363 reviews
220 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best View In Town”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

While this restaurant has probably the best view in town, the new menu was not the best. It just seemed like the chef was trying too hard to provide gourmet choices and took away some of our favorite dishes. It took me forever to find something I would eat. I had to settle for a salad and appetizer. My daughter who is admittedly picky, hated her chicken entree. My husband and son in law can eat anything but said theirs was okay. The only ones to not complain about their food were the grandkids who ate French fries and mac and cheese. Since there were six of us we could not get seating in the outside area, even at 5:45. It was sort of expensive which I don't mind for a great experience, but this was not one of them.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fabulous waterfront restaurant”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This is a fabulous restaurant on the Waterfront in Westerville, OH! The ambience is wonderful. I've been here for dinner and for lunch and each has its advantages. They have what is really a sun-room/covered patio which is lovely during the hot summer when the temperatures are a bit hot for eating outdoors.

The evening is a bit more formal, but not oppressively so. As in most Columbus area restaurants, casual (jeans/shirt) is fine, although, you'll see folks dressed up well.

The last time I was here, we had an antipasto that was simply superb, as was their beet salad. The seafood here is generally very good.

In fact all the food and the wines that we have tried have been excellent. Highly recommend as a romantic outing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ness S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
columbus
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food and Awesome view”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We recently had dinner at this restaurant and enjoyed every minute of it. Food was excellent, waterfront view was wonderful and we got very nice service.

While the menu is very good and creative, the restaurant would do well to add a few vegetarian and vegan options.

Helpful?
Thank GCV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galena ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most amazing restaurant ever”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I went to bel lago 2 days ago and the atmosphere was beautiful bye the Hoover reservoir and the food was amazing!!!love it

Helpful?
1 Thank Keyboard5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bel Lago Waterfront Dining also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing