We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shining brightly always !”
Review of The Moon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Moon Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Having just ate again at The Moon Inn last Thursday night ( steak night ) - we were aghast and saddened to read the previous review , hard to believe and definitely not in our opinion representative of this wonderful pub and its food..
We have eaten here several times since we re-discovered The Moon on New Years Eve - Michael has done a superb job in transforming both the ambience , the welcome , and the wonderful home cooked ever changing menu.
He is the perfect host , and his flair and attention to detail , coupled with friendly and efficient staff have made this a destination for us worth travelling to .
Full of plans for the pub , accommodation and the garden for the summer - Michael's enthusiasm is infectious !
We have been to one of his theme nights recently -Burn's Night ( which was excellent from both the food to the atmosphere in a packed pub of happy diners ) - and look forward to attending more.
Our steaks last week were delicious , and locally sourced - the dining room was warm and perfectly lit , and contrary to the previous reviewer , the photographs of Michael's previous career as a steward on a luxury liner are both interesting and a talking point for diners , other areas of the pub have local photographs .. and Michael is creating the perfect mix of area's to cater for all .
Having eaten and visited at other establishments in the locality , we have thoroughly enjoyed every visit - and cannot recommend The Moon highly enough ..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xintangmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackwidow72, other at The Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review. At the Moon we try our very best to make sure our customers leave our establishment happy and willing to come back again. We pride ourselves on giving excellent quality of food and just as important, a great service. We look forward to seeing you again at the Moon Kind Regards all at the Moon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2014

Literally just stumbled across this place one lunchtime and it was a nice surprise. Esp as it takes in dogs and muddy weary walkers

Really helpful staff and great home cook lunch at a reasonable price

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank ade74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackwidow72, other at The Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2014

Thank you for your kind review. At the Moon we try our very best to make sure our customers leave our establishment happy and willing to come back again. We pride ourselves on giving excellent quality of food and just as important, a great service. We look forward to seeing you again at the Moon Kind Regards all at the Moon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Went for an evening meal here. Perhaps we should have just popped in for drinks! The vibe was relaxed and friendly, though we weren't expecting the party dance music that for a short while accompanied our meals. The cosy restaurant area was well presented. We sat by the fireplace with the year "1606" engraved into the stone. Framed pictures of 1970's entertainers adorned the walls and we sensed the owners may have once been a cabaret act.

Starters were ok, though one ingredient was missed from our well presented antipasto dish. We pointed this out when our plates were cleared but nothing was said after. One of our group had the butternut squash soup of the day which had a strange aftertaste.

Mains were disappointing. Only the fish pie win a marginal vote of decency. The vegetarian lasagne was mediocre, stodgy and lacking any skill. The beef "bourguinon" was a disgrace and by far the worst meal I have ever had the misfortune of eating! The plate was drowning in hideous black gravy. The 8-10 chips dumped on the side looked like a tesco trolley lost in a river. There was no bacon, shallots, mushrooms, herbs, or wine in this dish. A far cry from a true beef bourguinon. At best this was some sort of a thoughtless beef stew throwback from 90's pub food cooking. The only saving grace was there was a lot of beef. A lot. One of the owners also kindly pointed out I had a spoon so I could drink up the gravy.

Gravy soup. Nice.

Promptly finished our drinks and left.

We walked into this place hoping for heart warming country cooking to fill us up after long walks around the Peaks. Sadly, the food was as memorable as the celebrities on the wall.



Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Foodfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackwidow72, other at The Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear customer,

Thank you for visiting The Moon inn and writing a review on trip advisor.
I am very sorry that on this occasion you were not 100%happy with your meals. It is very very rare that we get reviews in regards to the quality of the food given at The Moon. I can only promise that it was a one off and that we hope you try us again, where we will do our up most to make sure you leave The Moon happy and satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I visited The Moon Inn for some lunch with my family and two dogs. We received a really friendly welcome, enjoyed a fantastic pub lunch, and the dogs loved it too, although they were easily bought with a few treats! I will definitely call in again when I'm next in the area.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank KateN650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We popped in The Moon Inn for a drink after a long and muddy walk. We were made extremely welcome, and decided to stay for something to eat. Our food was absolutely delicious, and could not be faulted at all. Service was quick, and Michael and his staff were more than helpful. We even had an impromptu tour of the newly refurbished bedrooms, which looked very comfortable and tastefully decorated. We will definitely be returning soon.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bev003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We went out to find somewhere to eat last night..New Years Eve not the easiest of times, but popping into The Moon was a very lucky choice.
We had visited the pub years ago , but the transformation was immediately apparent once we walked through the door. Welcoming staff and beautifully and tastefully decorated bar and restaurant made the evening perfect.
We ate a lovely meal by candlelight , and the attentive and warm service by new landlord Michael and his staff will mean we return on a regular basis - and spread the word.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank David271056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

My partner and I visited the pub last night and would like to share our experience. The new landlord Michael and his staff were fantastic from the moment we walked in we were met with a friendly and welcoming atmosphere. The staff couldn't do enough for you and the food was out of this world!! We both had steak which was cooked to perfection and the desserts were to die for!! My partner used to be a chef and manage a bar so he is the ultimate critic and he loved it. We would recommend this pub to anyone and we will certainly be back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackwidow72, other at The Moon Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2013

Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us on Trip advisor. It is very much appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit,and we hope to see you again soon Kind Regards
All at The Moon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stoney Middleton
2.1 mi away
The Maynard
The Maynard
#1 of 1 in Grindleford
400 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
4.3 mi away
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Inn Bakewell
#3 of 45 in Bakewell
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Inn

Address: High Street, Stoney Middleton, Peak District National Park S32 4TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Stoney Middleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Stoney Middleton
Price Range: £106 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stoney Middleton c.1821 | Dine | Drink | Stay | Great Food | Local Produce | Real Ales | Beer Garden | Log Burner Dogs, Walkers, Families, Cavers, Climbers - All Welcome. The Moon Inn Freehouse is the last remaining public house in the historic and idyllic village of Stoney Middleton. Set in the heart of Derbyshire, nestled in the breath taking Hope valley. The Moon Inn is a traditional country pub, surrounded by the stunning countryside of the Peak District National Park. The pub has just undergone a comprehensive refurbishment, creating an interesting mix of rustic and modern interiors throughout, and will be offering luxury en-suite rooms in early 2016. We offer a comprehensive wine list, real ales and home cooked food using locally sourced produce. There is also a beer garden, log burning stove and private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Moon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing