We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to Marriott standards” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Cleveland Willoughby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Courtyard Cleveland Willoughby
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Willoughby
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not up to Marriott standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at the Courtyard in Willoughby because of it being close to the Cleveland Clinic. This was our first stay at this location and likely our last. The first room we were given had a non-operating toilet - which we didn't discover until we were mostly unpacked. We requested a new room instead of waiting for it to be fixed since we were so tired. We were promptly given a new room - which was clean and a decent size. Unfortunately, the decor is really bad - ugly wall paper and a loud, dusty A/C heating system. The mattresses are awful, lumpy and really hard. The pillows are so flat we had to stack them up. The pool and hot tub were so dirty and smelly we immediately left the area - although a quick look in the morning revealed it smelling a little better, but still a slimy looking film over the water. If they closed the pool for repair earlier in the month, they might want to look at doing it again! The only saving grace of this location is how close it is to restaurants, stores and shops. It's also easy access on and off the highway. Overpriced breakfast and staff that was "average" will not bring us back here any time soon.

Room Tip: There are only three floors and they all seem to face some sort of parking lot - we were on the thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    58
    27
    11
    6
See reviews for
42
26
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was "remodeled" but I couldn't really tell in the rooms. The furnishing were outdated and the rooms were not modern. The panel in the elevator was falling apart and the guest services rep was rude. However, the manager there did come and apologize for the staff and even cleaned my room because I left out after cleaning services because I was getting married that day.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Msandreab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Painesville Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Several family members stayed the night of my niece's wedding. The nice part was they offered a shuttle to the nearby reception which was basically why we decided to stay there. The room was nice and clean but nothing exceptional. The mattress was somewhat lumpy in our room. Bring your own pillow too because ours went totally flat.
The bad part was we all got emails two days before our stay saying the pool and spa was closed from Dec.1 through the 10th...mind you this was on the 5th of December....days after it closed. I was intending to swim on Sunday morning before checkout. Such a disappointment to something we had been looking forward to for months now. The only compensation was they offered all of us a continental breakfast which we found out Sunday morning consisted of a banana, a prepackaged danish and juice....which we later found out was only supposed to be one per room....really?? What a joke...come on. Thank God we are staying at a Hampton Inn next vacation....at least it comes with free hot breakfast and cookies in the evening. They know how to treat their guests!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladiedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed here for a family wedding locally. Think there were about 6 rooms. Everyone seemed very happy with their rooms. We had a very strong "freshener" smell in our room, very strong, but no one else had that issue. We opened the window for an hour and went to wedding and it was much better. I mentioned to staff member on the way out for the evening, and she gave us a breakfast coupon since we didn't want to move. Modern and clean.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyman454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

not worth the bother, no cpomplaint but forgot about the place when closed the door behind me....
staff is friendly enough, so is size room, quality bed etc. breakfast is an overprices low quality starbucks. pool is the size of a teacup. clean enough, located close to highway. nut much wrong but soooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo boring.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigham City, Utah
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights, while we toured nearby Kirtland, Ohio. Our room was ready for us upon our arrival in the afternoon. The clerks at the front counter were very nice and helpful. I don't know exactly why, but we were upgraded to a King room with a jacuzi. It may have been because there was some sort of youth group staying there, and they put us in a room on the opposite side from theirs. Even at that, they were a polite group. No complaints.

Our room was clean. The bed and pillows soft and comfortable. The bathroom and shower clean, as well. The jacuzi felt so good after a long day of walking around Kirtland.

There are several restaurants within walking distance, as well as a gas station with mini mart, on the corner. It is in a safe neighborhood just off of the freeway. We stay at Marriotts, because you know what you are getting with a Marriott - and this hotel lived up to that good reputation.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitt_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Fairfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This was a wonderful hotel! It was very clean, very comfortable, with an amazing staff! It just sparkled! The little cafe in the lobby was great (especially the kind ladies who work there) for a cup of tea, altho so many other hotels offer a free decent breakfast which makes it very convenient. There were many restaurants in the area, however. A super place to stay!!! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tempest461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willoughby
3.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
4.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Cleveland East / Mayfield Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
2.2 mi away
Stonehill Hotel & Suites Cleveland- Eastlake
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Cleveland Willoughby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Cleveland Willoughby

Property: Courtyard Cleveland Willoughby
Address: 35103 Maplegrove Rd, Willoughby, OH 44094-9698
Region: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Willoughby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Willoughby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Cleveland Willoughby 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Cleveland Willoughby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Cleveland Willoughby Hotel Willoughby
Courtyard Willoughby
Willoughby Marriott
Willoughby Courtyard
Courtyard Cleveland Willoughby Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing