We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cheap”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Willoughby
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Stayed here previously several months ago. The room with a king bed, is small, with a desk and chair. The room was clean, no issues with the sink or shower. Plenty of hot water. Great for the price, less than $50. The heater unit did not make any excessive noise. Remember, there is no breakfast, but several fast food chains nearby, one in front of the hotel. Front desk personnel were courteous.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Hi Etzella,,
Thank you for the nice review, your loyalty and recognizing our courteous front desk staff. Our housekeepers and Maintenance man appreciate your comments about your room being clean and everything functioning properly. I hope you enjoyed the expanded TV package with all HD channels. Next time you visit, please try our Superior King or even our new Premium King room. The rooms are bigger than the standard King room you stayed in and they each have microwave/mini-fridge units, iron/ironing board, hair dryer, coffee maker, large work desk area and the Premium room has all new furniture with welcome 'snack box' in the fridge. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 358 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2014

Red Roof Inns are my favorite inexpensive chain and this is one of the best of the best.

This hotel is as good or better than some business hotels I've stayed in. The room was very modern, clean, and quiet! Do upgrade to a premium room. Here are some things I appreciated:

Lots of amenities, including a snack at checkin.

A fridge, microwave, and a safe.

The HVAC fan runs continuously. This is a very good thing to have in inexpensive hotels when the clientele can be, shall we say, inconsiderate. This was not an issue for our recent stay however.

My wife liked the mattress. I thought it was just OK although I did sleep >9 hours the second night, which is unusual.

Free wi-fi worked well although it disconnected from my iPad pretty often. A minor annoyance.

Service was excellent, housekeepers were very friendly.

Very highly recommended!

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 127, a premium king on a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oldsnwbrdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Greetings Old Snowboarder!
Thank you for the great recommendation! Our new Premium rooms have been receiving a lot of attention and positive feedback from our guests. They like the modern look, new furniture, the amenities, the snack box and 'of course' the price.. I enjoyed reading your review, especially about our friendly staff and excellent service. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stay here every January for a weekend event nearby. this time, tried the new premium room. they had a 'black Friday' sale, so the rate was really unbeatable. the new room is really a change for RR. Much more modern. TV was mounted higher on the wall, had a vessel sink in the bathroom area, and the floor was a wood-look vinyl. also had a microwave and a fridge, with snack box(granola bars, trail mix, water,orange juice) I think RR listened to traverlers, as there were electical outlets added. some on the nightstand, a couple on the desk lamp base. plenty of places to recharge. overall, i think the premium room is a good value, and like the changes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thugsdaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Hello Russ,
We appreciate your wonderful review. It sounds like you really enjoyed our new Premium room and all the new amenities. You are correct in stating Red Roof listened to their customers with the extra electrical outlets, every room on property has extra outlets. We look forward to your next stay with us and appreciate your loyalty over the years.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times before and always come back. Great place. Very reasonably priced and even offers AAA discount on top of that. Clean, no odors of smoke in non smoking room, free (good working) wi-fi, very friendly staff, close to expressway and minutes from mall and just about any place you want to eat ( Burger King) shares parking lot with hotel. The one and only slight draw back is no breakfast provided, but with eateries so close that really isn't that big of a problem.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Timfalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Greetings Tim,
Thank you for the wonderful review of our property. Our staff appreciates your recognition of their efforts in housekeeping and friendliness. We enjoy seeing you with each visit and look forward to your next visit. We are conveniently located off Interstate 90 (just 20 miles east of downtown Cleveland) and there are plenty of nearby restaurants. Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have just come back from spending 4 days (Thanksgiving) at this location. The new Premium Room would have cost twice as much somewhere else. The room was well furnished and having a clean, good looking flooring instead of a questionable dirty carpet was a plus.

Jessica and CJ quickly checked us in and went out of the way to make sure we had everything we needed. Our housekeeper, Jamie, did a great job cleaning our room and keeping us in towels and toiletries.

We plan to make this our home for future trips to the Willoughby area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Hello Dale,
I was very happy to read your wonderful review and thank you so much! I'm glad you enjoyed your new Premium room with all new furnishings and upgrades. Your recognition of our staff members put a smile on everyone's face. We are fortunate to have employees like Jessica, CJ and Jamie. They take pride in their work and love being friendly and helpful to our guests. We look forward to seeing you for your class reunion next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We needed several rooms for a last-minute family trip and chose this hotel over another that would have been nearly twice the price. The Premium room appeared to be recently remodeled, with attractive, modern furniture and a laminate floor (no smelly carpeting). Beds were comfortable, and the room was quiet, clean, and safe. Shower was hot. Front desk staff were very pleasant. I'd have preferred queen-sized beds over full, but that was only a minor drawback for such a great value.

Room Tip: The Premium room is worth the small extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuntCheChe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Hello Aunt CheChe!
We are very pleased that enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful review and we are glad you appreciated the "new Premium" rooms and the value vs other hotels. The Premium rooms have two double beds or one King size bed plus all the other amenities; microwave-fridge unit, hair dryer, coffee maker, extra large work station, iron and ironing board. I think our Front desk staff is the friendliest in town and thank you for recognizing their efforts. We look forward to seeing you and your family in future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We regularly stay at this property when in Cleveland visiting our family. Okay- no breakfast but there is a wide selection within a mile for any meal you'd desire. There is a nice pet walk area adjacent to the motel.The rooms are very clean, up to date, and priced right for what you get.

Last year I made a reservation using the Nicest Price feature. This is usually a non-refundable rate. Hurricane Sandy was about to hit the east coast and possibly even Ohio. We chose not to drive into the hurricane zone, called the motel, and the decision was made to refund our money! We had the same reservations along the route from OH to FL. None of the others would grant a refund. Guess which motel we returned to? No- I don't work for Red Roof Inns.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 936steveh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken M, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Hi Steve,
The entire staff appreciates your review, especially the housekeepers. We have a great location and fantastic property. Our Red Roof company also thanks you for the kind words regarding your cancellation. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willoughby
4 mi away
Motel 6 Cleveland-Willoughby
3.9 mi away
Courtyard Cleveland Willoughby
6.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 5 in Painesville
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites
6.8 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Cleveland Mentor
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby

Address: 4166 State Route 306, Willoughby, OH 44094-9203
Region: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Willoughby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Willoughby
Price Range: £39 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby 2*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Willoughby Hotel Willoughby
Willoughby Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing