We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Wilmington
Nearby Hotels
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
    Wilmington Inn(Wilmington)
    US$81
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$111
    US$101
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$112
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$87
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    hampton inn(Jeffersonville)
    US$123
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$66
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$96
    US$91
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$68
    Travelocity
    View Deal
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (76)
    Filter reviews
    76 results
    Traveller rating
    35
    26
    7
    4
    4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    35
    26
    7
    4
    4
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsroom was cleanhorse shownice stayfree breakfastequestriancerealsoappillows
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    59 - 64 of 76 reviews
    Reviewed 4 April 2012

    We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while attending the Southern Ohio Music Festival the last weekend in March, 2012. James at the front desk greeted us in a very professional and welcoming fashion upon our arrival. Our room was clean and quiet and exactly what we had reserved--even including our first-floor request. Our check-out was equally easy and friendly.

    The fire alarm went off twice on the second morning we were there, and it truly was an emergency situation, with "hot wires" somewhere, although no fire. Was glad to know that the alarm system was functioning properly, even though we were inconvenienced. Would rather be inconvenienced than not in such a situation. The only thing I'd suggest to the staff is that when the "all clear" is given that they send someone to the parking lots to let the guests know that it's okay to return to their rooms. We didn't get that message, but we sauntered back in and had to ask.

    Breakfast was good--eggs of some sort each day, a neat pancake-making machine, bread, muffins, bagels, bacon or some other meat, biscuits and gravy, variety of juices and milk, and coffee. Friendly breakfast room staff who kept the area cleaned up and the food trays filled and accommodating with the guests. There's 24-hour coffee in the lobby, too.

    Did not use the pool but did use the hot tub after a long day of sitting all day. It was useful, but very "energetic," with water splashing well over the tub area. The jets apparently are very powerful. Had to get out the tub to move my cellphone well away to avoid water damage to it. Not a big deal, but put your valuables well away from this hot tub!

    The exercise room has a recumbent bike, stepper, and treadmill, water cooler, and TV. It's small, but when I used it (about 9:00 a.m.), there was no one else in the room nor anyone waiting.

    There's a Dollar General store directly across the street from the hotel, as well as an Aldi's grocery store within walking distance. Walmart is about a mile away, as well as a Kroger's and general shopping within a short distance. The hotel is about 7 miles from the Roberts Convention Centre, which is right off I-71, and where many guests might be attending events while staying this hotel. It's an easy drive, with an apparently fairly new SR 73 that is a mini-superhighway that comprises much of the 7-mile trip. Takes about 10-12 minutes to get to the convention center, and there's not a lot of traffic, as the area is generally rural after leaving the hotel and Wilmington's city limits.

    Room Tip: We always like first floor rooms because we typically have large instruments to take into the room. This worked especially well in light of the fire alarm that went off during our stay; however, there is an elevator to serve the 3 floors of the hotel.
    • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Picngrn
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 December 2011

    We were a local family, whose house had damage so we stayed at this hotel for 20 days. We were only suppose to have a 4 day stay, so we extended our stay many times and the staff was wonderful with us. I think we seen every person that worked there and they were ALL great and very friendly! Rooms were very clean, and housekeeping did a great job! The breakfast was wonderful. Besides the normal, cereal, bagels, muffins, fruit, they did change other options daily between buscuits and gravy, buscuits eggs and bacon, omlets and ham slices. They also have a pancake maker. Couple of juices to choose from along with milk. Very happy with the breakfast items, considering I had 3 kids to get ready and drive them 20 mins to school one way every morning. They also offer a managers reception on Wednesday evenings. We didn't attend one, but they did have it. We also enjoyed the indoor pool for the first week. They did shut it down due to a remodel. I would def recommend this hotel. Great location too! Next to all the restuarants, Krogers and Walmart. Very close to getting to 71 now that the new road is open. 100% satisfied, no complaints at all!

    Room Tip: We had the suite on the 2 floor. So we were able to park in the back and the stairs were right next to our room. So we had quick access to the parking lot.
    • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank BCoffey1221
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Abby F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2011

    Thank you for letting us be your "home away from home" while your house was being repaired. We appreciate your compliments to our hotel staff and amenities, as we strive to make every guest experience a happy and comfortable one. It was certainly our pleasure to have you as our guest. Best wishes for the New Year to you and your family, and we gladly welcome you back anytime! Sincerest Regards, Abby Farkas - Assistant General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 21 August 2011

    We stayed here for two nights on August 19-20, 2011. The staff and other patrons were very nice and friendly. It wasn't a wild crowd. We were able to sleep and not have lots of noise from the hallway. We were beside the elevator, and knew it "dinged" when people got on/off, but we never heard it. The rooms are pretty quiet/silent. The hotel offers a nice breakfast and opens early at 5:30. The microwave and fridge in the room were very convenient. We traveled with our two dogs and had no issues.

    • Stayed: August 2011
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    6  Thank rlzirkle
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Abby F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Wilmington, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2011

    We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we certainly enjoyed having you as our guest! Thank you for the great review. We welcome you and your "furry friends" to stay with us anytime! - Abby Farkas, Assistant General Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 19 June 2011

    Had a flawless stay! The room was roomy, clean and comfortable. I just had a standard room, but it had a mini-fridge, nice TV, and couch. The desk staff was very friendly and assisted me with directions and restaurant recommendations. I was also suprised at the selection of foods on breakfast buffet. They had all sorts of hot items, and it was very tasty. Every single person working there that I encountered was incrediablly nice, and made you feel like you knew them. My only suggestion would be to maybe update the fitness room equipment, it seemed a little shabby, though it all worked okay. Will definately return if in the area again!

    • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    7  Thank scrappypappy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 October 2010

    Rooms were not as reserved. Booked 4 king size pull out sofa rooms with micro wave and refrigerator for 6 days all on ground level and close to each other sice we had handicap and small children with us. 2 rooms on groung floor 1 on second floor 1 on 3rd floor. 2 rooms did not have pull out sofas 2 rooms did not have microwave. one room was full of ants. Desk staff said they could not help us . We would have moved but all hotels in area booked full., First and last stay at a Holiday in Express.

    • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Barrelracersdaddy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews