We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be aware of Sunday 2 nt. Discount” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hasseman House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hasseman House B&B
Ranked #2 of 3 Wilmot B&B and Inns
Benton Harbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Be aware of Sunday 2 nt. Discount”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Stayed at the Hasseman House this past Spring because they offered a discount for 2 nights with arrival on Sunday. Having stayed at more than 10 B&B, although Jason was very warm and friendly, the amenities and the fist morning breakfast were extremely below par compared to their competitors. The only available snack was 1 homebake cookie on a saucer wrapped in plastic wrap that was placed on the bed upon my arrival. The Monday breakfast was the most disappointing. Jason served what appeared to be 2 scrammbled eggs, supposedly fresh from the neighbor farm, but I could not tell, 1 medium slice of a low grade smoke susage, and store baught apple sauce. All of which is a normal breakfast that most people can cook at home. The best part of breakfast was the homemade bread, which probably came from the Amish Door Resturant. During Monday morning breakfast, Jason gave me a coupon for breakfast the next morning at the Amish Door Resturant. I had not planned to go off-site for breakfast, but after Monday morning breakfast, I was glad to do so. That breakfast was much better, they served off a menu or a buffet. I chose the buffet that was very delicious. I'm not certain if the lack or amenities and quality of breakfast was due to the discount, but just a word of caution, beaware. In addition, the hand held shower in the room did not have a curtain. As a result, very dificult not to get water all over the floor. Everything else was fine.

Room Tip: Avoid Boy's Room. No shower curtain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WWW41983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassemanHouseBnB, Manager at Hasseman House B&B, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
We try very hard to serve our Guests well as other reviews will show. I'm sorry you felt negative about the breakfast we served you. We have many guests who stay with us that enjoy the simple country cooking we offer and even come back because of it. The organic free range eggs would have been fresh from our farm, and the ham was turkey ham we get special from the Amish Door Market. Also, the cookies we had in your room were snicker-doodles made fresh at the Amish Door bakery that most people rave about. The apple sauce would be Musselman's which is high quality and I often have many people ask if we made it. We served you the same as we would anyone and did not lower our standards because of the discount we gave you which was half off of Sunday night. We've been innkeeping for almost 10 years and the majority of our guests are very satisfied with the service we offer, but we realize it is not possible to please everyone and again are sorry for your dissatisfaction. God bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brookville, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

My husband and I were visiting Ohio and were so blessed to be able to stay at the Hasseman House B & B. Jason, the innkeeper, and his sweet family were a joy to get to know. They were kind, gentle, warm and welcoming. The room we stayed in was absolutely beautiful and very well kept. We definitely hope to stay there again one day...when we take another trip to Ohio, this time with our children in tow! We had an absolutely lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassemanHouseBnB, Manager at Hasseman House B&B, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Thank you so much Katy. You and your husband were a real blessing to have and we look forward to meeting the rest of your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We had an excellent weekend away from the city at Hasseman House. It's right on US Route 62, but far enough out that we saw and heard Amish buggies going by all weekend.We watched the Amish farmer next door feeding his huge flock of chickens, took a walk on a trail that meanders through the woods on the property, and past fields of crops. Such a relaxing break for three couples getting away from city life for a weekend. The house is beautiful--with intricate woodwork, brasswork and period antiques (that you can actually sit in :-). And I can't say enough about the innkeeper, Jason, and his family. They really made us feel at home, giving us space but also very engaging, with great stories about his background, and full of suggestions for our weekend. We wanted to find some smaller, local-owned businesses to visit rather than the tourist factories that have sprouted up in so many parts of Amish country, and Jason had great suggestions (there's an Amish-owned antique store just up the road, BTW). He's also quite the musician, and treated us to performances on the mountain dulcimer, Davidic harp and piano one morning at breakfast. We are looking forward to returning, and highly recommend Jason and Hasseman House!

Room Tip: I'm 6'2" tall and usually hang over on beds, so we chose Rhea's Room because the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassemanHouseBnB, Manager at Hasseman House B&B, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Thanks Rick and Nancy for the very encouraging review and the awesome pictures!! Can't wait to have you back :)

God bless,

Jason & Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

Beautiful home in a serene setting. Friendly innkeeper in Jason and his family and an enjoyable all round experience. Pristine rooms and baths in a home preserved from a time gone by. Makes the experience in Amish Country more authentic! Really enjoyed my stay(on 2 different occasions). Had a great time spending time with Jason and his family in the evening and walking the grounds. Can't say enough about how peaceful this whole experience has been!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmiShy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassemanHouseBnB, Manager at Hasseman House B&B, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you so much Ami! Those are some great pictures and you and your husband are wonderful guests. Looking forward to having you stay with us again :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

Lovely old Victorian home. Only complaint was road in front of home very busy which made it more noisy. Than we would like. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BigElittleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HassemanHouseBnB, Manager at Hasseman House B&B, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Thank you for your kind review. We hope you come again :) God bless!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wilmot hotels
0.6 mi away
The Inn at Amish Door
Show Prices

Been to Hasseman House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hasseman House B&B

Property: Hasseman House B&B
Address: 925 US Route 62, Wilmot, OH 44689-9610
Region: United States > Ohio > Wilmot
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmot
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AT THE GATEWAY TO AMISH COUNTRY Experience warm hospitality at the Hasseman House. Stained Glass, Antique Furniture, Bed & Breakfast at its best. Relax and unwind in this charming Victorian house from the early 1900s. Imagine life in a bygone era, ensconced in original stained glass and elaborate woodwork. Savor the fresh-cooked full breakfasts. Outside, you are only a few steps away from the Amish Door Nature Trail. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing