We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummiest Food!!”
Review of Market Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Market Street Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Wooster B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Yummiest Food!!”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My family booked a two night stay for my husband & me at the Market Street Inn for our 1st time trip to Ohio. My parents, sister & brother-in-law have all stayed here & raved of what an enjoyable experience they had. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this B & B...it's just as charming & quaint as you expect & want it to be. The owners, Jayne & Allan, are so friendly...accommodating to your needs & knowledgable about the history & "things to do" in Wooster. To top it off, the homemade food is absolutely amazing!! We've never tasted better scones...the caramelized bacon, granola & parfait were some of our favorites...but everything was of top notch quality & taste!! Thank you for a wonderful stay! We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jchurchmack, Owner at Market Street Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Alice, thank you for your review and for staying with us. We are so glad you enjoyed the food, and we're happy that your family are our frequent guests! We hope to see you again on your next trip to Wooster!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
60
134
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We had always intended to get to the Ohio Light Opera someday. Since it would be our 47th anniversary, I found the Market Street Inn had a terrific package of show tickets, B & B night, dinnner at the Bistro, and breakfast. We loved the Victorian house and it's original woodwork, the comfortable room, and the delicious scones that we only a small part of the breakfast. It all made for a lovely celebration.

Room Tip: The Bexley was lovely, and it was featured in the book we found in the parlor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sssssshure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jchurchmack, Owner at Market Street Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
We are so glad we could make your anniversary special! The Bed, Breakfast, Bistro and Bravo Package that features tickets to OLO and dinner at the South Market Bistro is a great deal, and we're glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We weren't able to arrive until late in the evening after my husband got off work, but the owners were willing to wait up to check us in. The house is beautiful and our room was very clean and quiet. Breakfast the next morning was excellent, they make sure to follow any dietary restrictions. I highly recommend this place for anyone staying in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishmae6210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jchurchmack, Owner at Market Street Inn, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We are always happy to accommodate late arrivals and dietary needs! We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

My wife and I stopped here for a visit with my son and his girlfriend who live in the area. We were lucky enough to get a room on short notice. Their website reservation system works well and presents the rooms accurately.
The Inn is located in a beautiful old house. If you are a fan of craftsman woodwork you'll love this place. The stained glass and little design quirks are a treat. Also the decor is very clean and spare without all the frippery that detracts from some B & B's. Be sure to check out the quarter-sawn white oak piano in the parlor. We stayed in the Gilmour room which has a detached bath. This was no problem as I am a fan of bathrooms with a window and a pretty view. Take time to sit on the front porch and watch the town go by before heading off for dinner.There is also a small private garden in the back. We did not get to eat at the Bistro associated with the Inn but heard good things about it from other guests.

The Inn is located next to a large market and is within easy walking distance of the college, shops, and many local eateries. The breakfast was very good and the hosts quite accommodating. Really a great deal in a charming small town. We certainly plan to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodie7415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jchurchmack, Owner at Market Street Inn, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to write your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the Inn and the city of Wooster. Please come back to visit us to enjoy the South Market Bistro and other attractions in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Van Wert, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

My daughter and her husband met us at the inn for their first B&B experience and they are hooked now too. We all loved the care shown in the beautiful woodwork and walls in keeping with the time period of the home. The warm scones and gourmet breakfast met with all our approvals and we enjoyed visiting with the hosts who recommended places to eat. We sat on the big porch in the evening and they told us the history of the home as we relaxed. We would recommend this for antique lovers as well as those who enjoy a really good breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobbev51077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jchurchmack, Owner at Market Street Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us! We are glad it was a positive experience for your daughter and son. We were happy to meet you and welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

What a beautiful place to spend an overnight in Wooster! The period nature of this grand Victorian has been restored to glory. For an antique enthusiast it is a real treat to look at the details, warm wood and period furniture. The Lincoln Room has a little balcony and even a turret! Host Allan and Jayne are delightful - and were truly interested in discussing the nature of each person's visit to the town of Wooster. My daughter was there for an overnight to see if it was the right school for her, and it was! We'll definitely be back to this lovely gem.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DDAloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jchurchmack, Owner at Market Street Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
We can't wait to welcome you back! Thank you for your stay and for your review. It is so nice when someone appreciates the beauty of the Inn. We sometimes forget how lucky we are to be surrounded by it everyday, but people like you remind us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2013

My first experience in a B&B puts pressure on any in the future. The Market Street Inn is an old Victorian in impeccable condition. The original woodwork gleams a rich mahagony. My room was gorgeous. The old bathtube has a shower with a waterfall showerhead. The home is warm and welcoming. The best feature of the house is without a doubt Allan and Jayne. They are incredible hosts. The gourmet breakfast tops anything I have had in years. I absolutely had the most wonderful time. Allan told the rich history of the house. Jayne is a most gracious host. I loved it.

Room Tip: The Lewis room has an air conditioner for the hot days or nights. The room also is spacious and so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jchurchmack, Owner at Market Street Inn, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Anne, thank you for your kind words and for staying with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed all the amenities, and we are happy to accommodate anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wooster hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Paul Hotel
St. Paul Hotel
#4 of 8 in Wooster
111 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Wooster Hotel
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Wooster
Days Inn Wooster
#6 of 8 in Wooster
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Wooster
Hampton Inn Wooster
#1 of 8 in Wooster
343 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Wooster
Rodeway Inn Wooster
#5 of 8 in Wooster
216 reviews
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#7 of 8 in Wooster
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Market Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Market Street Inn

Property: Market Street Inn
Address: 356 N Market St, Wooster, OH 44691-3514
Region: United States > Ohio > Wooster
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Wooster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Market Street Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Wooster, the 1897 historic Victorian landmark features original woodwork, hardwood floors and spectacular period stained-glass windows. The Inn has 5-guest rooms all with private baths (3 ensuite) and sumptuous linens and bedding. A full breakfast is served daily, featuring fresh baked pastries, fruit and granola, in addition to a feature gourmet entree of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Market Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Market Street Inn Wooster, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing