We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I liked it for the price”
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worthington
Mebane, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“I liked it for the price”
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This place is nothing amazing, but for the price I thought it was good. The hotel is only about a block from the highway, and the rooms were clean. There is a basic breakfast, with cereal, toast, and muffins. There are a number of restaurants and a starbucks within walking distance. The workers were all pleasant and the room was clean.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WI_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    13
    9
    14
See reviews for
13
14
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

This isn't the best hotel at this exit, but if you're looking for cheap and clean, this really isn't a bad choice. I blind booked this hotel through Hotwire, and was expecting the worst. Hotwire labeled this a 2*, on par with a Baymont or Super 8. I was skeptical, because I have always had lousy experiences at Econo Lodges, but this place was a pleasant surprise.

The hotel is in an excellent location, within walking distance of many decent restaurants. The doors on the bottom floored rooms open to the outside, and the upstairs rooms have doors that open to an indoor hallway. At check-in, the clerk misunderstood that Hotwire is prepay, but we were able to clear things up.

The interior was well worn, but clean. I could tell that the walls had a fresh coat of paint, which perhaps was hiding the dirt and grime that previous reviewers had witnessed. However, the carpets. although old and worn, were clean.

The bed was comfortable, and the fridge was handy. Overall, I got a good night's sleep. This hotel is not for everyone. I would recommend this hotel to a person with very specific needs - cheap and clean. Otherwise, one could spend a few bucks more and feel a bit more comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Publius2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2009

Not that I was expecting a three-star place, but... what began as a fair price became too high when I asked for an extra set of towels so a family member could stop in and use the shower before a funeral. The clerk (Tina) was robotic and argumentative to the point of compulsiveness -- she insisted on charging me $10 more for an extra towel which they never did provide. Later, they gave family members of mine a key to the room without asking their names or checking i.d. -- a security risk. And there was not a proper ironing board with floor-length legs available, which I have come to expect as standard in every room at an Econo Lodge type place. One more thing -- my room was ice cold when I checked in at 7:00pm. They had not turned the heat on for me.

Aside from all that, the location was convenient to the highways and stores, and right adjacent to a tasty Italian restaurant. The room was clean,and that's saying something when you're going for a budget-friendly stay. And the clerk who checked me in was a nice guy -- though he said he was not a regular staff member there.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Modern_Art_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worthington hotels

Cincinnati Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2009

I stay here about 12 times a year. The place is old, needs a major renovation to the hallways; but is clean, and very inexpensive for a very nice neighborhhood. Free breakfast of coffee and muffins. Free Wi-fi. And all for around $40.

If you are the kind of person who can detect a pea under the mattress, don't bother. If you want the best hotel in Columbus for under $50 (with taxes) - this is it.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — condition of hallways
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nopenope123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
Reviewed 23 December 2008

The price is right for this property. Other than some mold in the shower and dust on the inside of the bedspread, the hotel room was adequate, had new paint, and had lots of TV channels. The heater works great on cold nights, and the bed is comfortable. Nice place to stay in the area for this price, although the hotel taxes are a bit high.

  • Liked — remodeled room
  • Disliked — moldy shower walls
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveler62307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Ile, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 20 October 2008

Priced right but needs alot of cleaning of walls and new paint. From the moment you enter the hallway you realize that there will be a problem with the room. Bathroom looked new, however the walls are very dirty.
Asked for a non smoking room in request, and did not get. Room smelled like an old ashtray.
Very nice community, with a little work and elbow grease the hotel could be pretty nice.
Management no help with complaints.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDevil75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twinsburg, OH
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2005

This is a very basic hotel. We stayed in a King bed room with an exterior entrance. The noise was terrible, both car traffic and a train. Bed and pillows were uncomfortable. On the plus side, the room was very clean, and the TV had lots of cable channels available, including Comedy Central, Travel Channel, and movie channels. Desk staff was very friendly.

Price was only $33 a night. So if you're a heavy sleeper and bring your own pillows, you'll probably be OK.

They do have rooms with interior entrances. Probably a better idea than exterior entrance rooms.

Helpful?
9 Thank TravelerDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthington
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Columbus N - I-270 Worthington
0.6 mi away
Motel 6 Columbus - Worthington I-270 High St
0.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Columbus North I - 270
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Columbus - Worthington
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Columbus/Worthington
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Columbus / Worthington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 50 E Wilson Bridge Rd, Worthington, OH 43085-2302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Worthington
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Worthington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Worthington, Ohio
Worthington Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing