We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ONLY worthwhile option for seafood”

Youngstown Crab Company
Ranked #88 of 412 Restaurants in Youngstown
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“ONLY worthwhile option for seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Being in Youngstown, there isn't much choice for seafood besides Red Lobster which can't hold a candle to the Crab Co. Excellent seafood quality, crab legs are wonderful. Nautical theme, with live parrots for a little flavor. Bar is a cool setup with nice outside sitting area and outdoor fireplace. Expensive, but that's what you expect for decent seafood.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leximusprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    30
    11
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbiana, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have always enjoyed this restaurant. Seafood menu changes with the season to provide fresh fish and other seafood dishes that are in season. Service has always ranged from acceptable to excellent. I consider this a "treat" restaurant because the pricing is usually than its main competitor in town - Red Lobster. But I prefer the food at Youngstown Crab. Noise is not excessive in the dining room but this is not your quiet white tablecloth type of establishment. The last time I visited parrots were in residence in glass cages and are certainly enjoyable to watch.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kgeren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubbard, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Three of us went to dinner at the crab company. We had reservations and were seated quickly. We didn't like our booth (something was wrong with the bench seat) and they moved us to a table with no problems. Alina was our waitress. She made some reccomendations - the Valentina martini was very good. The salads were fresh but nothing really special. The warm rolls were crusty and delicious. The entrees we got- all seafood-shrimp, crab, haddock, and whitefish were very fresh and perfectly prepared. The potato side dishes were interesting and very good. Alina is a nice girl and she did a wonderful job. Really the only "bad" remark I could make is the the dishes are so large that it makes the table feel crowded. We will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LaurieCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hubbard, OH
Level Contributor
84 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great seafood - stay clear of the beef”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Take a fat wallet! Meals start at around $25 and go up from there. There were three of us for dinner and our bill was $125. The seafood was as good as a fresh- catch ocean-side restaurant. My husband and I both had a "land and sea" meal which included a lobster tail, grilled shrimp and scallops paired with filet of beef tips. The beef had a strong taste of game meat, like bad venison or something. The waitress was nice and helpful but claimed it was a seasoning they use and had new tips prepared with no seasoning. The second time the filet tips came out they were worse than the first! The manager never came to our table, despite the fact we asked to see one, and the waitress was only aloud to take $3 off each $35 dinner. I made sure I spoke to the manager before leaving. She didn't seem very concerned about the repulsive beef and could only take off the small amount because "considering everything on the plate, the beef was the least expensive item". We will not be returning to the Youngstown Crab Company, as they are not concerned about the safety of the customers, only the bottom line.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zlkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you are near Youngstown and like seafood- this is the place to go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I should start by saying that over a year ago there was a giant billboard near our house in Northeast Ohio for the Youngstown Crab Company. We couldn't figure out why the billboard was there, 50 miles away and not on a very busy road BUT we saw it and figured that if we were ever near Youngstown, we would stop in. So, last week we were passing within 5 miles of Youngstown and decided to try the Crab company. Our service was very friendly and we had good food. My husband had a fried shrimp appetizer that had shrimp dipped in cocktail sauce and then battered and fried and laid on a bed of onion straws, yummy. He also had the lobster mac and cheese. I had the Snow crab entrée with Sichuan green beans. Everything was very good and we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Youngstown Crab Company also viewed

 

Been to Youngstown Crab Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing