We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive and stuffy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn Zanesville
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Zanesville
Tiffin, Ohio
1 review
“expensive and stuffy”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

It was clean. The breakfast was excellent. The hallways and breakfast areas are were very stuffy and the aid conditioner didn't seem to cool the room that well either. Way over priced at $159 per night! Staff was friendly. Was not impressed that the curtains did not completely close and that our view was a train track which consistently had traffic throughout our stay. Not the best place to build a motel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 857holly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    50
    34
    23
    3
See reviews for
53
25
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a very typical fairfield inn, a nice clean updated facility with a pool and really great breakfast. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. We stayed two nights on a recent trip to the Wilds in Cumberland Ohio and enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PrashantSrivastava76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temperance, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Being a Marriott Rewards member, I stay at many Marriott Hotels every year. This Fairfield Inn is what In would call "Typical", thats not a bad thing, but a good thing. The facility was clean, comfortable and the staff was efficient and friendly at check in. Again, what I've come to expect from Marriott. Its not a 5-star hotel, but with a corporate rate of $89, you would not expect it to be.

The pool area was clean, and looks to have been recently renovated. Like most Marriott's, the breakfast is complementary, which is a benefit and convenient when your in a hurry.

Overall, a nice hotel and I would recommend it.


Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We arrived about 7:00 PM after a 9 hour drive, just needing a place to sleep for one night on our way to Maryland.

I had booked an executive king room, which is larger with a sofa sleeper. Upon entering our room, I saw that it was a smaller room with 2 queen beds. As a Marriott Platinum, I have never had this happen (the other type is more expensive, but I wanted the space). I was told that the larger rooms weren't available (even though I booked it online?!). As a courtesy the front desk gentleman gave us $20 off. The queen beds did end up comfortable so it was okay, just not really acceptable to do this.

The room smelled like either someone was smoking in the hallway or had done so in the room. I always bring a travel candle, so that helped a bit. The beds didn't smell, just the room in general. I choose Marriott for, among other reasons, the fact that in the US all their properties are non smoking. By morning it didn't smell but still that was unpleasant.

Last negative, yes the walls are SUPER thin. I suppose that is typical of a smaller property of this type. I use a white noise app on my phone to help cut down on the sounds, and luckily I don't think they were busy at all that night.

The positive aspects of this property are that it's convenient to I-70. The bed was very comfortable. The staff seemed to be friendly. There are enough choices nearby for a quick dinner (we did Chinese carry out and ate in the breakfast area, as we were too tired to eat in the restaurant). They have coffee and juice all day. Breakfast looked fine, but we weren't very hungry so just grabbed a bagel and banana in the morning. Water bottles would be a nice touch though!! I did like the fridge and microwave in the room. The fridge actually has a separate freezer section, which was good as i had a couple of ice packs for our small travel cooler.

If we did stay in Zanesville again I would consider this place - I don't honestly think there is much better.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top (3rd) floor, as the walls are thin and you can hear the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlohafromMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Ohio, United States
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Wow there was some good and some bad things about this hotel. First off the staff was quite pleasant and brought us extra toilet paper. You could here the people above your room so get a top floor. Then the breakfast was good but the pool was just down right cold. Lastly our light in the bathroom made a lot of noise.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Manager at Fairfield Inn Zanesville, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback, Sorry about the noisy light in the bathroom it had a ballast that needed repaired. The engineer read your feedback and checked on it that same day. The staff was so happy to hear your wonderful comments about how pleasant they were and asked that you visit again so that they have a chance to give you a problem free stay. When you are ready call and ask for me, I'll be glad to make that reservation for you. Yours in hospitality, Paula C., Asst. General Manager and the Zanesville Fairfield Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Have stayed there twice in the last month. It's a Fairfield, so you know what you're getting, basic room and a decent breakfast. As a Marriott Gold Rewards member I always request an upgrade and they have demurred both times. Not a problem, I realize it's optional for them but the last time the hotel only seemed half full.

Room Tip: Request a room facing the front of the property. There are railroad tracks across the back and it c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthCostGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Manager at Fairfield Inn Zanesville, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Thank you for your feedback about the hotel and staff, I am sorry that an upgraded room style was not available at the time of your request. We only have a few of that style in the building and there is a high demand for them. I would love to know when your next stay is so that I could book the reservation for you so that you get a opportunity to enjoy the larger room. Please call me when you are preparing for your next trip to Zanesville. We look forward to seeing you again. Yours in hospitality, Paula Cendrowski, Asst. General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I stayed at the Fairfield Inn in Zanesville, OH for one night, as part of a block of rooms for the soccer team that I coach. Overall, the hotel was a quality Fairfield Inn. The hotel handled all of the reservations well and had all of the basic amenities needed. Breakfast was well stocked and the hotel was clean throughout. The lady that checked us all in was not very friendly, but the rest of the staff were. The AGM Paula was especially great to work with and I appreciated the follow up email she sent. As someone who used to work in the hotel industry, those extra things like that do make an impact.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula C, Manager at Fairfield Inn Zanesville, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Justin, Thank you for the feedback, the entire team loved having all of you visit and hope that next time you are here for a tournament you will visit us again. Thanks for making the weekend a wonderful one. Go! Mad River Lady Mustangs!! Yours in Hospitality, Paula Cendrowski, Asst. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanesville hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Zanesville North
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Zanesville
Hampton Inn Zanesville
#1 of 13 in Zanesville
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Zanesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 13 in Zanesville
91 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western B. R. Guest
Best Western B. R. Guest
#3 of 13 in Zanesville
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Zanesville
Red Roof Inn Zanesville
#8 of 13 in Zanesville
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn Zanesville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn Zanesville

Property: Fairfield Inn Zanesville
Address: 725 Zane St, Zanesville, OH 43701-3764
Region: United States > Ohio > Zanesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Zanesville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn Zanesville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 63 room hotel features flat screen TVs with premium channels, luxurious bedding and wireless internet. Relax with a dip in the heated pool and fill up with a complimentary hot breakfast. Group specials available. Staying is believing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn Zanesville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Zanesville
Zanesville Fairfield Inn
Fairfield Inn Zanesville Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing