We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Clean, Comfortable, and Affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western B. R. Guest
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Zanesville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This Best Western property is superior to all other Best Westerns I've lodged with. It is readily accessible from I-70 and there are two gas station choices on the exit. The desk staff is friendly and accommodating and can be easily reached for necessities. The rooms are nicely furnished and clean, ergonomic for business with desk and comfortable chair, and there are convenient beside outlets in the lamps for charging your laptop while surfing. The internet is free and very reliable with good speed. TV channel selection is good. The environmental controls are responsive and functional. There is a breakfast service provided and there are other dining choices within easy walking/driving distance. I would recommend this property for both business and leisure purposes.

Room Tip: Although the rooms are very quiet, try and get your room on the side facing away from I-70 to increa...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FedVetAPHIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Best Western B. R. Guest
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 370 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

Check in was quick, the wireless worked well, and there were healthy choices at the breakfast buffet. My only quibble was I thought the swimming pool was a bit cool, but other used it earlier, so maybe it was just me. The front desk folks are very pleasant and helpful. I have stayed here before; I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I have stayed here for business with and without family on several occasions. I have yet to be disappointed in the price, service, rooms, and sleeping quality. I will stay here as long as I am doing business in the area.

Room Tip: Stay away from the fire exits as the doors are loud when they shut.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brownsfan1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Although the location wasn't prime, the hotel itself was great. The beds were really comfortable, the room was clean, the breakfast was AMAZING, and the price was reasonable. I wasn't crazy about the staff, and the pool and hot tub didn't look clean, and they were located right by the lobby, which wasn't private enough for us. But the accommodations were great.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Do not bring anything of value into this hotel!!! I've had dirty hotels and bad service, but even in 1 star dumps, I have never been given a key to the room of someone else.

Not only is it way too expensive (over $80 for a 2 star hotel!), but this place has serious problems. Just look at the other reviews -- let me summarize them for you: Multiple reviews of rude staff and overbooking rooms so paid rooms are not available when you arrive, multiple reviews of rude front desk staff, worn furniture, placing people in smoking when they booked a non-smoking room, stinky rooms, and smoking smells when there shouldn't be. Previous reviews also provide reports of fraudulently double charging credit cards and refusing to refund the money, placing people in rooms with no working locks, and now, reports of handing out keys to your room to other guests.

Giving us the key to another guests room puts both the hotel and guest (myself) in a bad legal situation, as the hotel had no right to authorize access to another guest's room, which we had no right to enter. They could not explain why I should trust that someone else would not be given unauthorized access to my room. Of course, I decided I could not leave any valuables unattended in my room, so when we left for dinner I had to carry my laptop, bag, phone, and all valuables with me. When I returned, I triple locked my door from the inside. There's no trusting anything in this hotel!

As soon as we saw that there were already another guest's things in the room to which we were booked (including an expensive looking laptop on the counter), we quickly closed the door and then went down to tell the front desk. The front desk manager came up to the room to check. She opened the door and said "I wonder who is in this room", then told me that the morning desk person had checked out the guest because the guest was at the end of their reservation, but the guest overstayed their reservation, without notifying the front desk. OK, I thought, I guess that could happen (although wouldn't the maid tell you the room wasn't vacated? And wouldn't you be hounding them to leave or pay for another night?).

Then I run into the people whose room we had been given unauthorized access, and I tell them what happened and they tell me that they had -- last week -- prepaid for the next several days. Obviously I was also lied to about this problem by the manager. I went down to talk to the manager. She hummed and hawed, and basically admitted she lied, but said the other party was satisfied with new keys and were not bothered that we were given access to their room. I said I didn't care about them. I was put in an uncomfortable legal position, and, moreover, I could not be assured there would not be a repeat of the problem with my room. She was snotty and mean and just walked away from me while I was talking, and she told the front desk worker "don't give anyone else keys to room xxx (my room)." Really?! As if the front desk worker normally would do that, unless you told her. That's how you deal with a problem this serious?! I said, "gee thanks, that helps alot" and walked away, then she walks back out and yells across the lobby - "what do you want, it was just a mistake!" I just shook my head and kept walking.

I immediately called national best western thinking they would take this seriously. They offered the same thing -- I'm sorry, I don't know why that happened. I asked for some compensation. And they offered to give me the equivalent of $20 in points for the rewards program that I could use toward future stays. No thanks. I do travel a fair amount, but I won't ever return to any Best Western.

There are a lot of things to be concerned about in a hotel, but most of the little problems are overlooked when you can't even trust the security of your room. For example, because I was so bothered about what happened, I almost forgot that when we arrived to claim our prepaid king non smoking room, they said they had none left, because the system had already allocated the rooms to other guests that had not yet arrived. I also barely noticed the broken ice machine on the 3rd floor or the dried blood on the floor in front of the 3rd floor elevator.

The security of rooms should be the number one concern for guests and staff, and, based on past reviews, you can see for yourself that this place has a history of problems with this and other key issues.

It appears the staff have trouble with the most basic issues in the hospitality industry -- room security, customer service, and proper booking. If these are really mistakes, then why are they repeated so often, and the staff and corporate office so cavalier about the problems?

I stayed here on 6-11-13 with my family (we booked 3 rooms). Thankfully its just for one night. I can't wait to get out of here and to a place that feels safe.

Room Tip: make sure to get a room with a working lock that is not already occupied
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stay at this hotel whenever we visit my husband's family in Ohio (3 times so far). It's clean, comes with a free breakfast and the staff is friendly. There are no cribs available if you're travelling with infants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this Best Western which was on the interstate and easy to find. It is out east of Zanesville, OH. The first room we were given had a defective door lock and only after we were there several hours did we notice the door would not lock, nor the deadbolt.
Apparently the door and the door frame did not line up. I thought the housekeeping crew would have noticed as I'm sure it didn't happen overnight. We asked for another room and after being told they were sold out, they did find us another room. The rooms were spacious and clean...no problems. I was disappointed in the breakfast as it seemed things were slowly replenished. When we got there, many of the items were completely wiped out, including coffee. A lady was slowly putting items out but only 2 or 3 of an item at a time. I know they need to watch and not waste food but it was before 9am and they were to have breakfast until 10am. Glad Denny's was across the street. All in all, I would stay there again as it seemed like a safe place and was very quiet...no interstate traffic noise that we could hear.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OkieDokieIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zanesville hotels
5.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Zanesville
5.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Zanesville
Hampton Inn Zanesville
#1 of 13 in Zanesville
321 reviews
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Zanesville North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#5 of 13 in Zanesville
93 reviews
5.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Zanesville
Red Roof Inn Zanesville
#9 of 13 in Zanesville
129 reviews
5.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn Zanesville
Fairfield Inn Zanesville
#7 of 13 in Zanesville
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western B. R. Guest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western B. R. Guest

Address: 4929 East Pike, Zanesville, OH 43701-8429 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Zanesville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Zanesville
Price Range: £75 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western B. R. Guest 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western B. R. Guest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Zanesville
Zanesville Best Western
Best Western B. R. Guest Zanesville, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing